Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Opinions, ideas and thoughts about Nekochan Net.
Y888099
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Y888099 » Fri May 12, 2017 3:36 am

Raion-Fox wrote:Windows sucks at localization


It's English, but this version of Windows(1) appears of having been modified when the previous owner installed Altium-R14, which is known to be invasive. Might be the same reason for Xilinx ISE, OrCAD, TinaDesign ... all the software I installed after the purchase. All of these applications required additional packages and RegBin modification. I set them English, but Altium came already installed when I bought the workstation, the previous owner is French. Perhaps it's a clue.

I need to try from a different PC.

(1) System Properties says "Windows XP, manufactured by IBM, supported by Altium Limited", never opened this panel, never noticed before. WTF? :shock:
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
Hakimoto
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 4:29 am
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Hakimoto » Sat May 13, 2017 1:58 am

OK, I think then we can all agree that the bug is not with the forum software...
The Bandito wrote:In a few years, no doubt, you'll be able to buy a computer,
software and operating system that will match the capabilities
of your current Amiga at about the price you paid for the
Amiga way back when. But you can smile to yourself, knowing
that you were touching the future years before the rest of
the world. And that other computers and operating systems
will do with brute force what the Amiga did years before with
grace, elegance and style.


Eroteme.ch - my end of the internet...

Y888099
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Y888099 » Sat May 13, 2017 4:23 am

Hakimoto wrote:OK, I think then we can all agree that the bug is not with the forum software...


Not sure, it doesn't happen on other forums, e.g. on EEvBlogs where I have never experimented strange behaviors when put things between [ code ] ... [ / code ]. Including bash and C code, which happens to have a lot of arrows.

btw, to cut the story short with Nekochan, I have already set up a "filter script" (based on 'sed') removing all the poisoned patterns from my edit-board. In case of need I will use the attach function to attach a file.
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby josehill » Sat May 13, 2017 12:01 pm

Y888099 wrote:
Hakimoto wrote:OK, I think then we can all agree that the bug is not with the forum software...


Not sure, it doesn't happen on other forums


Are you using a "code=php" tag instead of a simple "code" tag?

Y888099
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Y888099 » Sat May 13, 2017 12:11 pm

josehill wrote:Are you using a "code=php" tag instead of a simple "code" tag?


Simple "code" tag.
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby josehill » Sat May 13, 2017 12:44 pm

Y888099 wrote:Simple "code" tag.


Since nobody else here has been able to duplicate your issue, I suggest that you go to the phpBB website to see if anyone has filed a bug report that matches your issue. https://tracker.phpbb.com

If there are no such reports, then consider filing your own bug report, providing detailed information about your local posting environment and the explicit steps you take when you experience your problem.

For example, here is a report that seems similar to your issue, but it appears when using the "php" qualifier in the "code" tag and does not appear when the qualifier is not used. https://tracker.phpbb.com/browse/PHPBB3-9105


Return to “Nekochan Net”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest