Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Opinions, ideas and thoughts about Nekochan Net.
Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Y888099 » Mon May 08, 2017 2:44 am

Hakimoto

Do not double post.

The only difference between this post and the other, that I can see, is that this one here is unfinished.

You do have the possibility of editing posts, so why create a second new post instead?

Locking.



This forum has a bug: if you put arrows inside a [ code ] ... [ /code ] session, bad things happen!
In first place, post gets corrupted.

User avatar
Hakimoto
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2591
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 4:29 am
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Forum bug

Unread postby Hakimoto » Mon May 08, 2017 2:51 am

What kind of "arrows" are you referring to? Please post an example outside of a code tag here, so we can investigate this further. Thanks.

Changed topic title to be more informative.
The Bandito wrote:In a few years, no doubt, you'll be able to buy a computer,
software and operating system that will match the capabilities
of your current Amiga at about the price you paid for the
Amiga way back when. But you can smile to yourself, knowing
that you were touching the future years before the rest of
the world. And that other computers and operating systems
will do with brute force what the Amiga did years before with
grace, elegance and style.


Eroteme.ch - my end of the internet...

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: Forum bug

Unread postby Y888099 » Mon May 08, 2017 3:06 am

Hakimoto wrote:What kind of "arrows"


Ones used on UNIX's shell to redirect the stdout/stdin, usually also used to indicate if something is greater, or less than.
It seems this forum reacts in bad way, which is odd if we consider that code /code should consider the text as *text*.

I happen to have PHP3 forum, it doesn't happen on my pages.
May be an hidden BBCode? A problem with the PHP parser?

Image

This was the point, in my previous message, where things went wrong.
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3318
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby josehill » Mon May 08, 2017 7:18 am

This looks okay on my system:

Code: Select all

Memory <- <0x0 0x40000000> (64MB)
CPU clock-frequency <- 0xfe49a80 (267MHz)
CPU timebase-frequencv <- 0xfe49a80 (267MHz)

/plb/opb: clock-frequency <- 1fc9350 (33MHz)

Could it be a problem with the UTF encoding of what you are entering or perhaps an issue with your browser's encoding settings?

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Y888099 » Mon May 08, 2017 7:53 am

Good questions ...

Tried exactly the same, here it destroyed the post :shock: :shock: :shock:

I got:

[ code ]
Memory


I am on Chrome Version 49.0.2623.112
Windows XP/32bit
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

tingo
Donor
Donor
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby tingo » Mon May 08, 2017 4:51 pm

It could be because the forum software allows (some) html tags (you know, words in '<' and '>' brackets, I've seen that problem on other forums before.
Torfinn

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby vishnu » Mon May 08, 2017 8:07 pm

Testing:

Code: Select all

 This is a greater than arrow: > This is a less than arrow: <


So, works for me, using Linux & firefox 51.0.1 :mrgreen:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Dodoid » Wed May 10, 2017 7:43 am

vishnu's worked above, but they were ><. I'm guessing it has to do with HTML, so I would try <>

Code: Select all

<text>
< text >
<text></text>

<-text->
<- text ->
<- text -> <-/text->


Working OK here, Firefox ESR 45.9.0 on Linux (Qubes OS Debian AppVM).
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3318
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby josehill » Wed May 10, 2017 9:07 am

Y888099 - what are you using to post to the forum? Firefox? Safari? Lynx? Edge? IE? Something else? What version? What character encoding are you using?

I repeat my suspicion that your posting mechanism is using a UTF encoding that the forum software is not expecting, since others have been able to enter your problematic strings without trouble.

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Y888099 » Thu May 11, 2017 11:58 am

josehill wrote:what are you using to post to the forum?


Chrome Version 49.0.2623.112
Windows XP/32bit

josehill wrote:What character encoding are you using?


UTF-8
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Y888099 » Thu May 11, 2017 12:05 pm

Firefox v52.1.0 is also affected :shock:

[code]
Memory
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby spiroyster » Thu May 11, 2017 1:16 pm

< > <- -> <= >= >< <>

Code: Select all

< > <- -> <= >= >< <>

< > <- -> <= >= >< <>

LGTM

Win10 Firefox 53.0.2 32bit

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1384
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Thu May 11, 2017 3:24 pm

PEBKAC is evident.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3318
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby josehill » Thu May 11, 2017 11:28 pm

Code: Select all

Memory <- <0x0 0x40000000> (64MB)
CPU clock-frequency <- 0xfe49a80 (267MHz)
CPU timebase-frequencv <- 0xfe49a80 (267MHz)

/plb/opb: clock-frequency <- 1fc9350 (33MHz)


I just fired up a VM running 32 bit XP SP3 and loaded Chrome Version 49.0.2623.112, and that is what I am posting this message from. As the code above demonstrates, I am not able to duplicate the problem.

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1384
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Forum bug (arrows in code tags break posts)

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Thu May 11, 2017 11:48 pm

The only thing I can think of is if your locale is not set to english. On Windows that can cause codepage issues because Windows sucks at localization.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

Owner and operator of http://irix.pw


Return to “Nekochan Net”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest