Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 5:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9442
Was outside several days last week, tried to use the Assist's Macbook. Could go to nekochan and login. Then as soon as I tried anything it looped me right back to the login screen. This is an Intel Macbook, about 13." Whichever OS X came on it a year ago, using Safari.

Anyone else have this happen ? No trouble with Fireflop on either Windows or irix. Cookies on, Javascript on, nothing I can think of that would do this ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 6:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:11 am
Posts: 892
hamei wrote:
Was outside several days last week, tried to use the Assist's Macbook. Could go to nekochan and login. Then as soon as I tried anything it looped me right back to the login screen. This is an Intel Macbook, about 13." Whichever OS X came on it a year ago, using Safari.

Anyone else have this happen ? No trouble with Fireflop on either Windows or irix. Cookies on, Javascript on, nothing I can think of that would do this ?


You should turn on console or the Safari developer tools and see what they say. Also, what version or OSX / Safari? 2.x and 3.x aren't nearly as web compliant 4.x.

_________________
Stuff.


Last edited by zmttoxics on Sun Oct 25, 2009 6:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 6:36 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 2877
Location: USA
Anything suspicious in /var/log/system.log ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 6:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9442
How to get to a terminal in OS X ? It's in chinese as well, so life is not so easy :(

We'll be off to luoyangang wednesday, will try again there. Thanks for the hints.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 6:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:11 am
Posts: 892
Terminal.ap is in: Applications -> Utilities (so is Console, which you can use to view system.log etc).

_________________
Stuff.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:01 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 2877
Location: USA
One quick thing to try -- it won't solve the problem on your existing account, but it might get you back on the web faster if you're pressed for time. If you have admin access, try creating a fresh account and seeing if the new account has the same problem. If the new account works, your old account probably has corrupted prefs or caches somewhere.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 8:07 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:09 pm
Posts: 783
Location: Europe
josehill wrote:
If the new account works, your old account probably has corrupted prefs or caches somewhere.


You could also try resetting Safari with the "Reset Safari..." option from the Safari menu.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 2877
Location: USA
ShadeOfBlue wrote:
You could also try resetting Safari with the "Reset Safari..." option from the Safari menu.

Cool. I never noticed that before.

I must be getting old. I remember the days when I would try every menu item on a program, just to see what each one did. A long time ago, it seems.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9442
ShadeOfBlue wrote:
You could also try resetting Safari with the "Reset Safari..." option from the Safari menu.

What does that look like in chinese ? :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:46 pm
Posts: 725
Location: Overmere, Belgium
Hamei: you could also install firefox for OSX. :P

Now, all kidding aside, I think I've seen similar issues on my linux box, long ago. Can't remember offhand which sites or browsers. There has to be a rather trivial fix, if it had been hard to fix I'd remember...

_________________
while (!asleep()) sheep++;


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:11 am
Posts: 892
hamei wrote:
ShadeOfBlue wrote:
You could also try resetting Safari with the "Reset Safari..." option from the Safari menu.

What does that look like in chinese ? :D

Im not sure what it looks like in chinese, but here is a screen shot of the english location...


Attachments:
Screen shot 2009-10-26 at 10.56.16 AM.png
Screen shot 2009-10-26 at 10.56.16 AM.png [ 27.87 KiB | Viewed 322 times ]

_________________
Stuff.
Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:47 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5190
Location: NC - USA
hamei wrote:
What does that look like in chinese ? :D
Was the assistant on strike <or just worried you'd fubar her Mac Book>? :D

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9442
recondas wrote:
Was the assistant on strike <or just worried you'd fubar her Mac Book>? :D

The latter. If she's anywhere near when I touch the precious MacBook it looks like the Rumble in the Jungle. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:24 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 2877
Location: USA
Is the problem that you get bounced back to the Nekochan login screen or the Mac OS X login screen? I thought you meant the latter, but now I'm thinking that you meant the former. If so, the Safari reset option mentioned earlier looks like a good one. You might also check to see if there are any plug-ins installed that might be causing a problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 12:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:37 am
Posts: 26
Location: France
Hi all,

Having the same problem on my iMac running 10.5.8 and safari 4.0.3. Keeps looping me back to the login screen.
i.e. I get the successful login screen, then 2 secs later re-directed to the login screen again.

I've tried the Safari reset and no luck so far.

Typing this on my Mini 9, 10.5.6 and Safari 3.2.1.

[edit] Firefox 3.5.3 works !

_________________
:O3x0: :O200: :Fuel: :540: :320: :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: (3) :Indy: (4) :Indy: CS(2)
Mac: iMac 2.16, G3 B&W, Quadra 700, SE/30
Sun: U20, W2100z, E420R, U60, AC200, U5, SunRay1
NeXTStation Color & Mono


Last edited by kforbz on Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group