IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby ibmfiles » Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:44 am

MrBill wrote:Quite irritating come right down to it. Ive seen thermostats with better interfaces than the three buttons on the front of this machine.

Those System i/p operator panels are pretty standard across the board; perhaps they're not as irritating once you're familiar with the "IBM cake". The only thing that changes is some functions differ from machine to machine. For instance, function 10 on the IntelliStation POWER 185 will cycle between CPU and ambient temperatures; which was handy for me to compare temperatures against my Pentium 4.

When you're booting--I mean!~ Intial Program Loading OS recovery media, you need to change it to diagnostics mode (with a specific subset). It's been a long time since I've had to do that, but the notes are out there. A little convoluted as nobody has gone through and made a good summary of it all.

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby Shiunbird » Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:23 am

ibmfiles wrote:For instance, function 10 on the IntelliStation POWER 185 will cycle between CPU and ambient temperatures; which was handy for me to compare temperatures against my Pentium 4.

When you're booting--I mean!~ Intial Program Loading OS recovery media, you need to change it to diagnostics mode (with a specific subset). It's been a long time since I've had to do that, but the notes are out there. A little convoluted as nobody has gone through and made a good summary of it all.


So THAT'S WHAT IT DOES!

Indeed there's no summary. Do you keep a list yourself? All I can do is switch between temporary and permanent config set and confirm if it has got correct IPs.
ImageImage

MrBill
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:50 pm
Location: Vero Beach, Florida

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby MrBill » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:42 pm

Well, it is a big change from anything else i have ever worked on, what is for sure. Probally the least user friendly thing i have worked on.
It is quite interesting. It does have a valid os licence, as well as licences for a few other things. I ordered a ibm branded tape drive and some tapes, gonna do a complete system backup tonight.
:Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: :Indigo2: :Crimson:Image :Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2: :Onyx2: :Onyx: :OnyxR: :BA213:

MrBill
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:50 pm
Location: Vero Beach, Florida

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby MrBill » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:46 pm

My main irritation is those wonky terminals with the screw in connectors. With my sgi gear i can theow a couple of vt100's on it and have a nice multi user system. on this... aside from submitting batch jobs, i do not see much that can be done. it does have file sharing and webserver etc, but idk what to do with it all.
:Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: :Indigo2: :Crimson:Image :Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2: :Onyx2: :Onyx: :OnyxR: :BA213:

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4741
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby pentium » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:32 pm

There is some form of a webserver you can run however as you might of already noticed the licensing tiers on just about anything in the machine will drive you wild.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4916
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby jan-jaap » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:25 am

pentium wrote:the licensing tiers on just about anything in the machine will drive you wild.

Is it the same licensing scheme (LUM) they use for e.g. the xLC compiler on AIX? That has it's roots in NetLS, and I happen to have reverse engineered and keygen-ed that :) (NetLS on IRIX, not LUM on AIX). It's fairly straight forward oldskool crypto using DES. Fun fact about DES: it's symmetical, not ECC, so the vendor encryption keys are buried in every binary.

It's just a data point: for one thing there's no telling what IBM did to LUM over the years.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby ibmfiles » Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:05 am

jan-jaap wrote:Is it the same licensing scheme (LUM) they use for e.g. the xLC compiler on AIX? That has it's roots in NetLS, and I happen to have reverse engineered and keygen-ed that :)


Not sure... this is what the license instructions the vendor sent me say:
iSeries Software License Key
To install the license key, run the CL command shown below. The ADDLICKEY command is shipped with public *EXCLUDE authority which requires *ALLOBJ authority to use the command. Normally, the security officer has this authority.


Does "ADDLICKEY" use LUM? I've never went through the whole process of actually doing it so it's not familiar to me.

seanwg
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby seanwg » Sun May 07, 2017 7:17 pm

The licensing system on it can't be that hard. I have a box at home (Blade) that for years I've been trying to break.... :)

There is some info here

http://www.leif.org/as400/

From what I have been able to determine; there must be a table on the system which stores the package and expiry date. Thing is, is finding that table...

Leif had a memory explorer to poke around however it doesn't seem to work on new systems... I doubt IBM changed anything :)

In his docs he actually shows how to change the serial # of the box....

User avatar
uridium
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:05 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby uridium » Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:24 pm

I've got almost exactly the same machine and have installed the O/S a few times (took a long time to figure out how to get the console cable with the iSeries Access and win2000 laptop). Yep the disks are indeed 520bytes because as I understand how the Primary/Secondary storage works is it's a flat memory space for RAM and DISK ..the extra 8 bytes was used for memory block addressing. Address space basically.

Really interesting machines. Hopefully we get more knowledge on them in the hobbyist space. Took me >3 years to get enough parts (once I figure which parts) then get mine up and running. Here's my journey: http://ns4.reboot.net.au/as400/
Al Boyanich
adb -w -P "world> " -k /dev/meta/galaxy/ksyms /dev/god/brain

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4916
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby jan-jaap » Mon Jul 24, 2017 1:02 am

'baboon' is an appropriate name for that thing :mrgreen:
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
uridium
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:05 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby uridium » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:33 am

Yeah I know. It's got a red a**s. But yeah.. glad someone got the joke. :> I've got a -250 also but it's not used. Baboon when I first started installing would take a few days of disc juggling. Upgraded it to 868mb primary store and then it's all over and done with in 45mins. The -250 I think only has 384mb primary store (but a faster processor). It's also black and less pretty.

Baboon's plenty for hobbyist stuff.
Al Boyanich
adb -w -P "world> " -k /dev/meta/galaxy/ksyms /dev/god/brain

astouffer
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby astouffer » Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:36 pm

Here is a collection of installation notes for getting the OS on these beasts. There is a 70 day timeout if you don't have a license.

Code: Select all

####
AS/400 SCSI DASD format:

IBM formats those drives with 520 or 522 bytes per sector, depending
on whether or not a RAID-5 controller is in use (the extra 2 bytes are
for a checksum used by the RAID card)
The format is:
  first 8 bytes = virtual segment ID   (the segment part of the virtual address in single-level storage)
  next 512 bytes = the actual data for that 512 byte page
  last 2 bytes = optional check-sum for RAID card
####
IPL procedure:

Connect a twinax terminal configured as address 0 to directly to the
left twinax port on the back of the D04, as viewed from the rear.
Once plugged in, you should see "01 B" in the little LCD display
window, and the key should be in the "Normal" position.

Then press the green Power On button, and it should start the IPL
process.  On these little machines, I think it should take 10-30
minutes to complete on the older machines.  The IPL process is
complete when the little LCD display once again shows "01 B" and you
see a sign-on screen on the console.

Sign-on using "QSECOFR" as the userid.  Depending on how security is
set up on the system, there may or may not be a password field on the
sign-on display.  If a password is required, try "QSECOFR".

If prompted for "Edit Build of Access Paths" etc, just F3/F12/etc to skip.
####
PL types and modes:

A M       Performs a Manual IPL from the A side of the disk.  This mode may be
          used when applying or removing LIC PTFs.  It can also be
          used to power off the system.  Use this type and mode only
          under the direction of your support representative.

A N       Performs a Normal IPL from the A side of the disk.  This
          mode should only be used when B N does not work and you are
          told to do so by your support representative.

B M       Performs a Manual IPL from the B side of the disk.  This mode should
          only be used when an attended IPL must be performed or you need to
          power off the system.  This type of IPL is used when you need to change
          the system date and time permanently.

B N       Performs a normal IPL from the B side of the disk.  This is the type
          and mode used most of the time.  It is also the mode the system must
          be in if you want to do an unattended IPL.

C M       Allows service representatives to perform a special IPL.  This mode
          is for use only by service representatives.  Never IPL in this type
          and mode.

C N       Allows service representatives to perform a special IPL.  This mode
          is for use only by service representatives.  Never IPL in this type
          and mode.

D M       Performs a manual IPL from either CD-ROM or tape.  This mode is used
          to install LIC and OS/400 in attended mode.  This is the most often
     used IPL type and mode for installation.

D N       Performs a normal IPL from either CD-ROM or tape.  This mode is used
          to install LIC and OS/400 in unattended mode.

Manual    When the mode is set to Manual (M), the system allows you to do all
          manual IPLs, such as an operator-attended IPL from disk, CD-ROM or tape.
          Manual mode also allows you to do some manual control functions, such
          as selecting an IPL type and mode or displaying the kind of IPL that
          the system is set to run. However, in manual mode, you cannot do a
          remote IPL, an IPL by date and time, or an IPL after a power failure.
          Note:  You should set the mode to Manual only when it is necessary.
          This ensures that no one accidentally presses the Power pushbutton
          and causes the system to stop.

Normal    The Normal mode allows you to turn the power on and then automatically
          start the system in any of the following ways:

            - IPL remotely
            - IPL by date and time
            - IPL after a power failure
####
Users:

When signed on as QSECOFR you have *ALLOBJ authority, which means you
can do anything, including deleting critical objects that will crash
the system.

You might want to enable QUSER or QPGMR and give them a password.
Then you can sign on as QUSER for a normal user, or QPGMR for a
"programmer".
####
WRKSYSVAL *SEC and then 5=Display next to QSECURITY to see how security is set up
####
A common problem on the 9402-E04 is the 0000-0006 error.  To fix it,
unplug the power from the AS400 and remove the power panel.
Disconnect and re-connect the wires going to the power switch (these
connections cause the 0000-0006 SRC code. Try powering the AS400 on
again.  If the fan inside the AS400 does not power on a few seconds
after plugging the power, then the switch could be bad.  Bad switches
as well as bad contacts from the wires to the switches appear to cause
the problem.
####
Entering the System/38 environment:

CHGSYSLIBL QSYS38 *ADD
CALL QCL
####
Board IDs:

2723 PCI Ethernet IOA 10Mbps
2838 PCI 100/10Mbps Ethernet IOA
2760 PCI 1Gbps 100/10 Mbps Ethernet IOA
6181 SPD Ethernet 802.3 IOA 10Mbps
2743 PCI 1Gbps Ethernet IOA (Fiber)
2849 PCI 100/10Mbps Ethernet IOA
5701 PCI 1000/100/10Mbps Ethernet IOA (copper)
5700 (1000M Ethernet Fiber)
####
To reset QSECOFR password:
  - manual IPL
  - use DST
  - option 5, Work with DST Environment
  - option 6, Service Tools Security Data
  - option 1, Reset operating system default password

  QSECOFR default password is QSECOFR
  QSRV default password is QSRV
####
To enter DST while system is running:
  - set system IPL mode (2) to manual (A M)
  - select function 21 on front panel
  - DST sign on screen appears (takes over console temporarily)
####
Waiting for reply to message queue QSYSOPR:
  - Shift-Attn (brings up a line of underscores)
  - press enter (takes you to the System Request menu)
  - select option 6, Display system operator messages
  - answer message
####
DSPSYSVAL QTIME      display system value
CHGSYSVAL SYSVAL(<name>) VALUE('<val>')     change system value
WRKSYSVAL       work with system values
WRKSHRPOOL      show how much RAM is installed
DSPIPLA         show IPL attributes (what's started at IPL, etc)
PWRDWNSYS *IMMED   shut down system
WRKOBJLCK OPT01 *DEVD   find out what job has a device (say, opt01) locked
WRKHDWRSC *CMN      work with hardware resources (communications)
STRTCP           start up IP
ENDTCP         shut down IP
CHGNTPA   RMTSYS(fqdn)   change NTP server attributes
CHGNTPA<f4>      change NTP server attributes
ENDTCPSVR SERVER(*NTP)   stop NTP
STRTCPSVR SERVER(*NTP)   start NTP
WRKTCPSTS *CNN      view TCP connections (a-la netstat)
DSPNETA           display network attributes
CHGSNMPA        change SNMP attributes
WRKUSRJOB JOBTYPE(*INTERACT)         work with interactive users
DSPLOG           display system log
DSPMSG QSYSOPR      display error messages to QSYSOPR
STRQSH           start QSHELL
CALL QP2TERM      start PASE
STRSST         start SST
CHGDSTPWD *DEFAULT   set SST/DST password back to default
WRKDSKSTS       work with disk status
DSPTAP         display contents of a tape
DSPPTF         display installed PTFs
DSPSFWRSC      display software resources
CHKTAP DEV(TC) ENDOPT(*REWIND)  explicitly rewind tape
####
System values:

display example: DSPSYSVAL QTIME
change example:  CHGSYSVAL SYSVAL(QTIME) VALUE('083000')

QTIME         system time
QDATE         system date
QPRCFEAT      processor feature code
QDEVNAMING    device naming convention (S/36, etc)
QLMTSECOFR    prevent QSECOFR from logging on via telnet, 1=yes, 0=no
QPWRRSTIPL    automatic IPL upon restoration of line power, 1=yes, 0=no
QAUTOVRT      automatic creation of virtual devices (count, 50 is typical)
####
When there's an error message in bold at the bottom of the screen, one
can move the cursor down to it and press PF1 to get help about the
error.  From the resulting screen, you can press PF10 to display the
Job Log, which may contain additional relevant information.
####
SNMP OIDs:
.1.3.6.1.2.1.25.1.5.0 (hrSystemNumUsers)   logged in users
.1.3.6.1.2.1.25.1.6.0 (hrSystemProcesses)   running processes
.1.3.6.1.4.1.2.6.4.5.1.0         CPU usage
.1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.2.0 (hrMemorySize)      memory size
####
Creating, editing, and compiling a file in C/400:

crtsrcpf file(mcsrc/c)         create a source physical file called "c" in library "mcsrc"
wrkmbrpdm file(mcsrc/c)
[hit F6 to create a new member, enter the member name, type, description, etc]
crtbndc pgm(mcobj/hello) srcfile(mcsrc/c) srcmbr(hello)
call mcobj/hello
####
Setting up IP:

Sign on as QSECOFR and perform the following tasks.

1. enter the command WRKHDWRSC *CMN on the resulting screen,
    look for the hardware "resource name" for your Ethernet card, CMN*.
2. enter WRKCFGSTS *LIN ETH* (in this example, I assume the Ethernet card
    has a name such as "ETHLIN"... but that may not be the case yet) --
    Do you see it? If so, you may be able to skip the next step...

3. enter CRTLINETH and press F4=Prompt
    a) for Line description, give it a name such as (suggested) ETHLIN
    b) for Resource name, enter the name you wrote down from step 1 above
    c) press Enter and more parameters appear; you can take the defaults
   and press Enter again

4. type "GO CFGTCP" and press enter
5. take option 1, "work with TCP/IP interfaces"

6. on the screen shown, you can type a "1" in the first option field and
tab over to the IP address, and type in the IP address you want for this
AS/400, and press Enter.

7. on the "Add TCP/IP Interface" (ADDTCPIFC) prompt display, fill in as follows:
    a) Internet address, should be filled in from the prior screen
    b) Line description - use the name you created in step 3 above, e.g. "ETHLIN"
    c) subnet mask, should probably be 255.255.255.0
    Press Enter to take the defaults for the rest of the fields

8. take menu option 2, "work with TCP/IP routes" and fill in the blanks as follows:
           Route          Subnet      Next
    Opt    Destination    Mask        Hop
      1    *DFTROUTE      *NONE       ip-address-of-router

    press Enter

9. from the menu, take option 10 "work with host table entries"
Type a "1" under Opt and the IP address of your AS/400, and press Enter;
tab down to give it a name, e.g.:

    mordor.ecu.edu  or some such

You can also type in the little "+" under Name to add a second (shorter)
name, e,g.:

    MORDOR

Then press Enter.

10. from the menu, take option 12, Change TCP/IP Domain information.
    Fill in the blanks as follows: (based on above recommendations)

    Host name:                          MORDOR
    Domain name:                        ecu.edu
    Host name search priority:       *LOCAL
    Internet address:                   *NONE

Press Enter.

12. enter the command "WRKCFGSTS *LIN ETH*"
    You should see your ETHLIN, but it may not be varied on yet... if
    "VARIED OFF" type a "1" next to it and press Enter to vary it on

14. from a command line, type "STRTCP" and press F4=Prompt -- ensure both
parameters are set to *YES and press Enter ... this command may take 5
minutes or so.

15. go back to the "Configure TCP/IP" menu and take option 1 again ...
        next to your IP address, type option "9" (for 9=Start) and press Enter
        This may take a little while ...

15.1 CHGSYSVAL SYSVAL(QAUTOVRT) VALUE('50')

16. Test via ping and tn5250.
####
Running a full-system save (backup):

Initialize a set of tapes using the INZTAP command, selecting the
proper density for the media and drive.  Label them 000001, 000002,
etc., and then "GO SAVE", and select option 21 (Full System Save).
This will make a back-up of the entire system.
####
Installing LPPs (in at least V5R2) requires restricted mode:

chgmsgq qsysopr *break sev(60)
endsbs *all *immed
chgmsgq qsysopr sev(95)
go licpgm...
####
Model OS support (for models I have):

270    V4R5..V5R4
600    V4R1..V5R2
620    V4R1..V5R2
520    V5R3..V7R1
####
FTP file access modes:

Object File System syntax: quote site namefmt 0
Root file system syntax:   quote site namefmt 1
####
Accessing files via Object File System vs. Root:

OFS:  /qsys.lib/jaxsource.lib/mycprogs.file/hello.mbr
Root: JAXSOURCE/MYCPROGS.HELLO
####
Remote workstation controllers: 5294 and 5394
5494 is the one that looks like it might be based on a PS/2 (MCA slots, etc)
####
Identifying OS release media, from Mark Waterbury:

If the name contains "5722" it is V5R4
If the name contains "5761" it is V6R1
If the name contains "5770" it is V7R1 or V7R2...further scrutiny is required.
####
Creating a new user: Run WRKUSRPRF as QSECOFR (or another *SECOFR user)
####
Console deactivation/reactivation: (unsure if this applies to twinax):

On the control panel, select function 25, press enter, function 26,
press enter (this allows access to the upper range of function
numbers), function 65, press enter to deactivate the line, wait 15
seconds, function 66, press enter to activate the line.
####
To vary on a device: vrycfg dsp01 *dev *on
####
To vary on a device (or do something else) via ftp:

ftp <ip address of AS/400>
<user>
<password>
quote rcmd vrycfg dsp01 *dev *on
bye

If <user> has *jobctl it will work.
####
SCSI backplane for 520: 03N5997 L320 4-Pack Disk Drive Backplane SCSI
####
Turning off the "attention" LED:

 - Start SST (STRSST)
 - Start a service tool
 - Hardware service manager
 - Work with service action log
 - Pick a date/time range and enter
 - Press PF6 to acknowledge the errors (this turns off the LED)
####
To start BASIC: STRBAS
####
9405-520 (or some other partitionable systems) doesn't use all memory:

If SST shows all the DIMMs present and operational, enter SST, option
5, Work with system partitions.  Even if the system isn't partitioned,
IBM treats this machine like a single-partition system.  In option #5
you can set how much CPU and Memory the system can use.  It's likely
the MAX and/or desired limts are too small.
####
*M36 virtual machines are supported from OS/400 V3R6 to V4R4.
####
Matt's black external 8" floppy drive: 9331-011 (-001 is rackmount white)
####
PCB #6146 is a diskette controller that will handle both 9331-11 8"
drives and 9331-012 5.25" drives.
####
OS/400 distribution media volume naming:

Bxxxx  OS and non-keyed license programs
Dxxxx  OS and no charge options
Lxxxx  keyed license programs

xxxx is the language code (English is "2924")
####
Default *M36 SSP logon: SSPUSER or SYSSSP
####
Swap screens on multi-session 5250 terminals: Alt-PF8
####
Networking an *M36 VM:

M36:    CHGSYSVL CTLPOINT,S102A72M
M36:    ENABLE ILANSBS,#CNFGLIB,15
OS400:  VRYCFG QILANM3601 *CTL *ON
####
Connecting to an *M36 VM from OS/400:
STRPASTHR RMTLOCNAME(IBMM3601)  ("IBMM3601" is the first M36 machine)
####

astouffer
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby astouffer » Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:40 pm

uridium wrote:Really interesting machines. Hopefully we get more knowledge on them in the hobbyist space. Took me >3 years to get enough parts (once I figure which parts) then get mine up and running. Here's my journey: http://ns4.reboot.net.au/as400/


What kind of PC hardware are you using to connect via twinax? I picked up a PCI card but it doesn't seem to play nice on newer hardware. IBM has DOS drivers and a DOS 5250 eumlator program I'd like to get running.

User avatar
uridium
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:05 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby uridium » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:15 pm

I've got one of the horrible systems that connects over PPP. There's a twinax to RS232 cable I have, but .. the twinax cable is fed into a small embedded computer/chip that talks tcpip and enough smarts for iSeries Access software on the PC to talk to it.

http://ns4.reboot.net.au/as400/os400.jpeg

The background window is iSeries Access. There is a linux version but I had all manner of problems connecting to it.

The trick is to get an older version of wintendo. XP will do it but the software randomly craps out. Win2000 and win98SE work a treat so an old laptop is ideal as a console. On-topic..I was told once that some models of these systems came with a pre-configured stinkpad.

You have to:
1) Create a dialup PPP adapter for the serial port.
2) Connect the twinax <-> RS232 PPP cable to it.
3) Set IP's to dhcp or hardwire them to a 192.168.0.255 range (which is annoying for me on a different subnet)
4) Point iSeries Access at the PPP connection. When it's pinging, I get "Baboon connected!" down the bottom.. "baboon" is the name of the TCP/IP PPP connection. You need old-schol RAS to get iSeries Access to talk happily. the magic combo I have is win2000. NT4 worked just fine also as did 98SE.

Al.
Al Boyanich
adb -w -P "world> " -k /dev/meta/galaxy/ksyms /dev/god/brain


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest