IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby ibmfiles » Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:44 am

MrBill wrote:Quite irritating come right down to it. Ive seen thermostats with better interfaces than the three buttons on the front of this machine.

Those System i/p operator panels are pretty standard across the board; perhaps they're not as irritating once you're familiar with the "IBM cake". The only thing that changes is some functions differ from machine to machine. For instance, function 10 on the IntelliStation POWER 185 will cycle between CPU and ambient temperatures; which was handy for me to compare temperatures against my Pentium 4.

When you're booting--I mean!~ Intial Program Loading OS recovery media, you need to change it to diagnostics mode (with a specific subset). It's been a long time since I've had to do that, but the notes are out there. A little convoluted as nobody has gone through and made a good summary of it all.

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby Shiunbird » Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:23 am

ibmfiles wrote:For instance, function 10 on the IntelliStation POWER 185 will cycle between CPU and ambient temperatures; which was handy for me to compare temperatures against my Pentium 4.

When you're booting--I mean!~ Intial Program Loading OS recovery media, you need to change it to diagnostics mode (with a specific subset). It's been a long time since I've had to do that, but the notes are out there. A little convoluted as nobody has gone through and made a good summary of it all.


So THAT'S WHAT IT DOES!

Indeed there's no summary. Do you keep a list yourself? All I can do is switch between temporary and permanent config set and confirm if it has got correct IPs.

MrBill
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:50 pm
Location: Vero Beach, Florida

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby MrBill » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:42 pm

Well, it is a big change from anything else i have ever worked on, what is for sure. Probally the least user friendly thing i have worked on.
It is quite interesting. It does have a valid os licence, as well as licences for a few other things. I ordered a ibm branded tape drive and some tapes, gonna do a complete system backup tonight.
:Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: :Indigo2: :Crimson:Image :Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2: :Onyx2: :Crimson:

MrBill
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:50 pm
Location: Vero Beach, Florida

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby MrBill » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:46 pm

My main irritation is those wonky terminals with the screw in connectors. With my sgi gear i can theow a couple of vt100's on it and have a nice multi user system. on this... aside from submitting batch jobs, i do not see much that can be done. it does have file sharing and webserver etc, but idk what to do with it all.
:Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: :Indigo2: :Crimson:Image :Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2: :Onyx2: :Crimson:

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4709
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby pentium » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:32 pm

There is some form of a webserver you can run however as you might of already noticed the licensing tiers on just about anything in the machine will drive you wild.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4766
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby jan-jaap » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:25 am

pentium wrote:the licensing tiers on just about anything in the machine will drive you wild.

Is it the same licensing scheme (LUM) they use for e.g. the xLC compiler on AIX? That has it's roots in NetLS, and I happen to have reverse engineered and keygen-ed that :) (NetLS on IRIX, not LUM on AIX). It's fairly straight forward oldskool crypto using DES. Fun fact about DES: it's symmetical, not ECC, so the vendor encryption keys are buried in every binary.

It's just a data point: for one thing there's no telling what IBM did to LUM over the years.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby ibmfiles » Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:05 am

jan-jaap wrote:Is it the same licensing scheme (LUM) they use for e.g. the xLC compiler on AIX? That has it's roots in NetLS, and I happen to have reverse engineered and keygen-ed that :)


Not sure... this is what the license instructions the vendor sent me say:
iSeries Software License Key
To install the license key, run the CL command shown below. The ADDLICKEY command is shipped with public *EXCLUDE authority which requires *ALLOBJ authority to use the command. Normally, the security officer has this authority.


Does "ADDLICKEY" use LUM? I've never went through the whole process of actually doing it so it's not familiar to me.

seanwg
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: IBM AS/400 OS/400 questions

Unread postby seanwg » Sun May 07, 2017 7:17 pm

The licensing system on it can't be that hard. I have a box at home (Blade) that for years I've been trying to break.... :)

There is some info here

http://www.leif.org/as400/

From what I have been able to determine; there must be a table on the system which stores the package and expiry date. Thing is, is finding that table...

Leif had a memory explorer to poke around however it doesn't seem to work on new systems... I doubt IBM changed anything :)

In his docs he actually shows how to change the serial # of the box....


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest