Games on AIX

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby Shiunbird » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:29 am

ClassicHasClass wrote:20fps on a POWER5?? Something's really wrong. My Quad G5 in software mode runs Quake at a ripping pace, so CPU rendering should not be the limiting factor. What does xdpyinfo say? Is the MIT-SHM extension installed? Is this xquake or quake.sw?


So, I get fluid gameplay, but only at 320x200 (that's the standard resolution), anything up from there slows down REALLY fast. At 640x400 it's a slideshow. I can see the frames redrawing from top down.
Resizing is interesting, though. Resizing is content-aware. The health bar on the bottom remains the same size (it's probably a bitmap) whilst the rest of the render area increases.

Answering your questions:
- According to X Display Info, I have MIT-SHM installed and more other 16 extensions: BIG-REQUESTS, DAMAGE, LBX, RECORD, SCREEN-SAVER, SECURITY, SHAPE, XC-APPGROUP, XC-MISC, XFILES, XInputExtension, XTEST, XTestExtension1, aixCursorExtension, xColormapExtension, xDirectAccessExtension.
- I'm running quake.sw.wimp. Quake.sw exits with the error we discussed previously: UMSobj.dll could not be loaded.
ImageImage

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:45 am

I wonder if it's some difference between AIX 4 and AIX 5.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby Shiunbird » Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:40 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:I wonder if it's some difference between AIX 4 and AIX 5.


It's possible, since it doesn't run at all under AIX 7.1. But hey, the multiplayer TCP/IP stack seems to work, so I still think we should play. :mrgreen:

I'm keeping an eye on the Interwebs for a better graphics card to try Quake 2.
ImageImage

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby Shiunbird » Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:58 pm



Hey guys, this gentleman just posted Quake II on a IntelliStation 275.
ImageImage

User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ibmfiles » Thu Apr 13, 2017 7:57 pm

Shiunbird wrote:We could still play! Come on!
Don't worry, Quake runs horribly on my POWER5 as well. I get 20ish fps at 320x240 and if I make the screen bigger it runs at 1 fps and the mouse cursor freezes. It's more of a science experiment than anything else. =) And that's on 5L. On 7 it doesn't run.

But it would be a world's first for sure. =)))


Well I know immediately three other guys who have ThinkPad 850s. It would be hilarious if we all banded together for some AIX multiplayer gaming; although not sure how permissible that is with time zones and the fact not all the 'TP 850 guys' would be interested.

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby Shiunbird » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:59 am

I'm still in.
ImageImage

User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ibmfiles » Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:21 pm

Shiunbird wrote:I'm still in.

I just remembered... getting Ethernet (or even Token Ring) working on a ThinkPad 850 requires a *specific* PCMCIA card which I don't have.

Doubt a parallel to ethernet adapter would work either.

Hmmmmm. Well guess it's time to see if I can find any of those uncommon PCMCIA adapters. My best chance is probably with the token ring one, so I'll also need a token ring bridge. :lol:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun Apr 16, 2017 10:47 pm

I actually have both the token ring and the Ethernet card. They're not actually that hard to find on ePay. The Ethernet card worked pretty much out of the box once I had the right smit sets installed.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun Jul 23, 2017 4:41 pm

It's here! It's queer! It doesn't want any more bears!

http://www.floodgap.com/iv/3426

Yes, this is Quake running on an Apple Network Server 500 with AIX 4.1.5. I dug out a new drive since this is going to be a demo unit at VCF and put a vanilla install of Harpoon AIX on, and here we are.

Allegedly the later releases of AIXquake include a binary which will run without UMS (Harpoon AIX does not have UMS), but fortunately the UMS smit packages that I installed on my ThinkPad 800 also work on the ANS. This game run is using UMS, with the original 0.92 build. A couple of the file sets failed to install but if you have the CD I used (LCD4-0254-02) it should just work if you install everything and let it fail the filesets it doesn't want.

With a 200MHz 604e in 640x480 with pixel doubling, game performance is acceptable, certainly much better than the poor 66MHz 603 in the TP800.

Unfortunately audio doesn't work. There is no /dev/baud0 and lsdev -C and lsdev -P don't display any audio devices. The failed sets don't seem to have had anything to do with sound.

I'll try the subsequent AIXquake builds later. Gotta try Abuse next.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:23 pm

Let's have some Abuse.

http://www.floodgap.com/iv/3427

Oddly, go_abuse does not work, but running xabuse manually does. It does not need the UMS runner, but it does use UMS, and that all works fine (except no sound, of course).
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun Jul 23, 2017 7:04 pm

Last but not least, I tried the later AIXquake versions. These require replacing the libXext.a that comes with Harpoon with the one in the package, which to my relief didn't cause any problems. quake.sw.wimp is just a teensy bit faster than quake.sw, but both run at a pretty decent pace and certainly faster than the 0.92 AIXquake. I had to keep the PAKs separate though: the later quake.sw binaries won't run with the pak0.pak from 0.92.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest