Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
necron2600
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 10:38 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby necron2600 » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:43 am

Could AmigaOS or MorphOS (runs on PPC macs) run on this?

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2091
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Fri Apr 08, 2016 11:54 am

necron2600 wrote:Could AmigaOS or MorphOS (runs on PPC macs) run on this?


Potentially in big-endian mode, but you'd still need to have platform support for what's on board, and I don't know if the motherboard supports anything but little-endian POWER8 (given that all the supported Linuces are all little-endian).

It's possible they could run in virtualization, though for me Mac OS X would be more useful, since in my case this unit is supposed to be a follow-on from my faithful Quad G5.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
commodorejohn
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby commodorejohn » Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:04 pm

If only they'd keep SheepShaver's virtualization support on PPC Linux up-to-date...
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/HS-80/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/M1, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Emax HD/Proteus-2, Casio CZ-5000, Moog Satellite, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600

User avatar
Sacrifist
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:42 am
Location: Campbelltown NSW, Australia
Contact:

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby Sacrifist » Tue Jul 18, 2017 4:36 pm

It's baaaaaaaaack! The sequel: http://raptorcs.com/TALOSII/prerelease.php?target=0

EDIT: Sorry, wrong link.

User avatar
tomvos
Donor
Donor
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:08 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany, Europe
Contact:

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby tomvos » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:20 pm

Looks like they plan to build a less expensive board, too.

https://www.raptorcs.com/TALOSII/prerelease.php
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy:
Where subtlety fails us we must simply make do with cream pies.

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2091
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:45 pm

Yup, I'm in line for one. It will be the scale-out POWER9 variant, per my discussion with Raptor.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby Y888099 » Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:02 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:If the desire is a more modern POWER-based (or even just non-x86) workstation, then I think it does


bah ... KiCAD on it? It might make sense, but the reason I am supporting gEDA on linux/HPPA is the PCI bus! Where I can attach my PCI-FPGA boards as accelerators, testing a lot of DSP functionalities, and it makes sense since -1- a C3600 is not so expensive, -2- it's damn more productive than on a shitty PeeeeCeeee whose PCI's BIOS is so plenty loaded with legacy code (aiming for supporting hardware which was designed on XT machine :lol: ) that you go nuts when you have to put your hands on PCI at the low level.

HPPA don't have such a ridiculous legacy. So, I prefer them, and that is the specific reason I need to stay away from a PeeeeCeeee.

Now, I want a C3750 because it's faster and more stable than a C8K, especially for the PCI subsystem. But it's not strickly a need, it's more a desire, I mean the faster CPU (850MHz vs 550Mhz) takes almost the half of time when you have to compile things like gEDA. The cost is double: 800 euro asked for a C3750, while the C3600 was 300 euro.

btw, it's more a test banquet than a real workstation, I mean I wouldn't put 3K euro in a non-x86 machine since up to 90% of the software I need won't work on it. With 3K euro I bought a XEON machine, loaded with OrCAD, which is 40 light years ahead to KiCAD :D

Dual POWER9
For all your EDA requirements


LOL, they say it on their page, but they miss on which software?
And which is the final cost?!?

Classical marketing bullshit :lol: :lol: :lol:
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby ibmfiles » Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:10 pm

I was going to get one of the boards, but... because they're limited to POWER Linux with x.org, I'm going to have to pass. Until recently when I got to use Linux, I didn't realize what a steaming pile x.org is. In fact, Linux only works well (at least for me) at the console. Anything outside of that and I want to bang my head until my brains fall out.

AIX does not suffer from all of the issues present in x.org, so... it has to be AIX capable. :p

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby Shiunbird » Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:54 am

ibmfiles wrote:AIX does not suffer from all of the issues present in x.org, so... it has to be AIX capable. :p


Does IBM still manufacture tower POWER boxes?
The cheapest IBM server box should do the job, no? And should be quieter than 1U and 2U units. Do they come with any graphics card that could load X?

I guess you could always get a newer graphics card installed, but that would be Linux-only and not server your purposes.
Last edited by dexter1 on Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fixed quote typo
ImageImage

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2091
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:21 pm

They don't come with it out of the box, but getting a compatible card is not hard. I have a 135P in my POWER6 and X comes up with that. I can't imagine that it wouldn't still work on a POWER8 or 9 or any of the other graphics card FRUs.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby Shiunbird » Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:49 am

ClassicHasClass wrote:They don't come with it out of the box, but getting a compatible card is not hard. I have a 135P in my POWER6 and X comes up with that. I can't imagine that it wouldn't still work on a POWER8 or 9 or any of the other graphics card FRUs.


I'm assuming that the Talos will come with at least one legacy PCI slot.

Does any of you know of any GXT135p-compatible-or-equivalent card with PCI-Express interface?
ImageImage

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2091
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Aug 29, 2017 7:59 am

I meant for the IBM POWER systems, since those would probably be the only ones AIX would boot on. The Talos II is all PCIe, near as I can tell.

The GXT145 (FC 5748) is PCIe.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby ibmfiles » Fri Sep 01, 2017 4:46 am

Shiunbird wrote:I'm assuming that the Talos will come with at least one legacy PCI slot.

Does any of you know of any GXT135p-compatible-or-equivalent card with PCI-Express interface?


Nah, you don't need native PCI, as you can convert PCI to PCI-e:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCIe-PCI-Expres ... Sw4CFYvk5D
(although I haven't seen any PCI-X to PCI-e)

ClassicHasClass wrote:I meant for the IBM POWER systems, since those would probably be the only ones AIX would boot on. The Talos II is all PCIe, near as I can tell.

The GXT145 (FC 5748) is PCIe.

IBM sometimes includes a legacy PCI-X subsystem as a separate option (it's a special risercard with logic on it), although not on all models.

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby Shiunbird » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:19 am

ibmfiles wrote:Nah, you don't need native PCI, as you can convert PCI to PCI-e:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCIe-PCI-Expres ... Sw4CFYvk5D
(although I haven't seen any PCI-X to PCI-e)


This sounds hard to fit in honestly. I wonder whether it would work on the PCIe G5. It would be incredibly useful.

Edit: fixing quote.
ImageImage

User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: Raptor Talos POWER8 Workstation

Unread postby ibmfiles » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:19 am

Shiunbird wrote:This sounds hard to fit in honestly. I wonder whether it would work on the PCIe G5. It would be incredibly useful.


Assuming the chassis has enough width it would be fine; if the G5 can process the card in question, it should be fine over PCI-e. I don't know much about the Asmedia 1083 conversion IC.


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest