7028-6E1 display

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
bgalakazam
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:47 am
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Contact:

7028-6E1 display

Unread postby bgalakazam » Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:01 am

As I mentioned in my other topic, I just acquired an IBM pSeries 610 type 7028-6e1 with AIX 5.1 installation disks, but no HDD. I will find a SCSI disk easily, but my concern is that I don't have a serial console.

Will I be able to put in a PCI graphics card so I can hook a monitor via VGA cable? If not, what are my choices at getting some sort of display?
thrown out: (IBM pSeries 610 | type: 7028-6E1)

bradbobak
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 11:11 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario,Canada

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby bradbobak » Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:35 am

If you have a pc with a serial port, you can connect to the ibm's serial port with a null-modem cable and use your favourite terminal emulator.
:Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :Octane:

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby kjaer » Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:49 am

bradbobak wrote:If you have a pc with a serial port, you can connect to the ibm's serial port with a null-modem cable and use your favourite terminal emulator.


If the null modem cable has RTS/CTS wired, you can.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

bgalakazam
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:47 am
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Contact:

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby bgalakazam » Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:42 pm

OK, so I was able to boot, I get to the installer, at that point I lose control over input from minicom. Pressing any key doesn't do anything. I have to hard reset. Minicom is responsive prior to that point.

Code: Select all

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                Welcome to AIX.
                       boot image timestamp: 23:39 04/15
                 The current time and date: 19:42:25 10/17/2011
                number of processors: 1    size of memory: 512Mb
boot device: /pci@fef00000/ide@b,1/disk@0:\ppc\chrp\bootfile.exe
closing stdin and stdout...
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AIX Version 5.1


 ******* Please define the System Console. *******

Type a 1 and press Enter to use this terminal as the
  system console.
Pour definir ce terminal comme console systeme, appuyez
  sur 1 puis sur Entree.
Taste 1 und anschliessend die Eingabetaste druecken, um
  diese Datenstation als Systemkonsole zu verwenden.
Premere il tasto 1 ed Invio per usare questo terminal
  come console.
Escriba 1 y pulse Intro para utilizar esta terminal como
  consola del sistema.
Escriviu 1 1 i premeu Intro per utilitzar aquest
  terminal com a consola del sistema.
Digite um 1 e pressione Enter para utilizar este terminal
  como console do sistema.


Also worth noting, it is listed as Offline, despite that I have access to the server:

Code: Select all

 CTRL-A Z for help |  9600 8N1 | NOR | Minicom 2.5    | VT102 |      Offline


Disconnecting and reconnecting doesn't work. Can you suggest what I can try? Perhaps another terminal emulator?
Last edited by bgalakazam on Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
thrown out: (IBM pSeries 610 | type: 7028-6E1)

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby porter » Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:53 pm

I have a NULL modem that loops back all the DTR/DTS RTS/CTS so that each side never gets hung up over handshake signals. A hardware solution that could be solved in software of course but for me it removes the ambiguities.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

bgalakazam
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:47 am
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Contact:

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby bgalakazam » Mon Oct 17, 2011 4:22 pm

Issue was with minicom. I run Hyperterminal in XP and it didn't freeze. I am just waiting on my SCSI drive now so I can install.
thrown out: (IBM pSeries 610 | type: 7028-6E1)

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby kjaer » Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:02 pm

bgalakazam wrote:Issue was with minicom not being configured to use RTS/CTS.


fixed that for you.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

bgalakazam
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:47 am
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Contact:

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby bgalakazam » Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:37 pm

Hardware Flow Control was set to Yes. Connection is still listed as offline.

Code: Select all

+-----------------------------------------------------------------------+   
    | A -    Serial Device      : /dev/cuau0                                |   
    | B - Lockfile Location     : /var/spool/lock                           |   
    | C -   Callin Program      :                                           |   
    | D -  Callout Program      :                                           |   
    | E -    Bps/Par/Bits       : 9600 8N1                                  |   
    | F - Hardware Flow Control : Yes                                       |   
    | G - Software Flow Control : No                                        |   
    |                                                                       |   
    |    Change which setting?                                              |   
    +-----------------------------------------------------------------------+   
            | Screen and keyboard      |                                       
            | Save setup as dfl        |                                       
            | Save setup as..          |                                       
            | Exit                     |                                       
            | Exit from Minicom        |                                       
            +--------------------------+                                       
                                                                             
thrown out: (IBM pSeries 610 | type: 7028-6E1)

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby kjaer » Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:12 pm

It's possible it also needs software flow control. I never turn it off so I never noticed how it affects console selection on an RS/6000.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

bgalakazam
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:47 am
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Contact:

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby bgalakazam » Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:09 pm

Well I ended up struggling with OpenSSH installation and finally got it working. No more need for VT and serial cable.
thrown out: (IBM pSeries 610 | type: 7028-6E1)

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby porter » Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:42 pm

As it should be.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

SAQ
Posts: 5769
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby SAQ » Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:06 pm

You two seem very certain.

Isn't there a reason that a null modem cable is the first hardware purchase we recommend to new SGI owners?
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

Living proof that you can't keep a blithering idiot down.

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

bgalakazam
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:47 am
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Contact:

Re: 7028-6E1 display

Unread postby bgalakazam » Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:26 am

SAQ wrote:You two seem very certain.
Isn't there a reason that a null modem cable is the first hardware purchase we recommend to new SGI owners?

Well the cable proved vital as I spent about a week installing AIX 5.1 and configuring it to use RPMs and installing OpenSSH. But now the server is in a remote location and I can just use SSH when I need it :)
thrown out: (IBM pSeries 610 | type: 7028-6E1)


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests