when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
anysystem
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:49 am

when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby anysystem » Fri Jun 24, 2011 6:17 am

Hi,

I have a RS6000 (model 7026-B80) which is no display (system working) and LED message STBY, If i power on the system getting STBY.


but if i connect the rs6000 to ASCII serial port consol i am getting Service Processor Fireware MAIN menu, but i do not know what to do , how to get graphic????? ....

Thanks in advance.

Regards:VELU
INDIA

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby porter » Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:53 am

So is the unit fully powered up and running, ie properly booted.

My 6C1 unit prints "OK" in the LCD screen when in standby, then hitting the white button on front panel launches it into IPL (boot). If you are talking to the service processor then there should be a menu option for powering on the machine.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

anysystem
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:49 am

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby anysystem » Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:20 am

Please help me out to get dispaly.

My AIX RS6000 unit prints "OK" in the LCD screen when in standby, then hitting the white button on front panel launches it E051,E054 after that "STBY" but i did not getting display in the rs6000 mechine......and connect to ASCII serial port (whan "STBY" display in the LCD panel) then pressed white botten.....then system lcd print "OK" and i am getting Service Processor Firmware MAIN MENU.


Service Processor Firmware
Firmware Leavel : sc000908
Copyright 2000. IBM Corporation

MAIN MENU

1. Service Processor Setup Menu
2. System Power Control Menu
3. System Information Menu
4. Language Selection Menu
5. Call-In/Call-Out Setup Menu
6. Set System Name
99.Exit from Menu

1>

anysystem
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:49 am

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby anysystem » Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:26 am

Anybody able to solve this, I always on TeamViewer........

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby porter » Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:42 am

Have you gone through the power control menu?
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

anysystem
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:49 am

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby anysystem » Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:54 am

in the power control menu 7 topic following

SYSTEM POWER CONTROL MENU

1. Enable/Disable Unattended Start Mode:
Currently Enabled

2. Ring Indicate Power-On Menu
3. Reboot/Restart Policy Setup Menu
4. Power-On System
5. Power-Off System
6. Enable/Disable Fast System Boot:
Currently Enabled

7. Boot Mode Menu
98. Return to Previous Menu
99. Exit from Menus

anysystem
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:49 am

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby anysystem » Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:55 am

SYSTEM INFORMATION MENU

1. Read VPD Image from Last System Boot
2. Read Progress Indicators from Last System Boot
3. Read Service Processor Error Logs
4. Read System POST Errors
5. Read NVRAM
6. Read Service Processor Configuration
7. View System Environmental Conditions
8. Processor Configuration/Deconfiguration Menu
9. Memory Configuration/Deconfiguration Menu
10. Enable/Disable CPU Repeat Guard
Currently Enable

11. Enable/Disable MEM Repeat Guard
Currently Enable

12. Query/Modify Attention Indicator
98. Return to Previous Menu
99. Exit from Menus

anysystem
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:49 am

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby anysystem » Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:56 am

SERVICE PROCESSOR SETUP MENU

1. Change Privileged Access Password
2. Change General Access Password
3. Enable/Disable Console Mirroring:
Currently Disabled

4. Start Talk Mode
5. OS Surveillance Setup Menu
6. Reset Service Processor
7. Serial Port Snoop Setup Menu
98. Return to Previous Menu
99. Exit from Menus

1>

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5278
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby recondas » Sat Jun 25, 2011 3:20 am

anysystem - please do not create more than one forum topic to ask identical questions. I deleted the duplicate "when power on RS6000 system getting STBY" topic, the contents (and title) were nearly word-for-word identical to one of your posts in this topic.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 343
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby kjaer » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:52 am

anysystem wrote:hitting the white button on front panel launches it E051,E054 after that "STBY"


E051 indicates a problem reading the processor vital product data. The solution is to replace the processor card. Not sure about E054, it's not listed in the 7026-B80 service guide. In any case, you have a serious hardware fault that needs to be repaired before anything else can happen.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

anysystem
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:49 am

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby anysystem » Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:00 pm

Hi,

i have got one not working ibm 7026-b80 system, which is already "STBY" ....so i removed working systems processor and fix to "STBY machine, after tested both machines no graphic, only "STBY"

MDBenson
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:47 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: when power on RS6000 system getting STBY.

Unread postby MDBenson » Sun Jun 26, 2011 11:45 pm

Read the fine manual sir :)

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/systems/h ... 380581.pdf

Looking at that the STBY function shows it is sitting waiting to be started via the system processor. If there is a fault, it should be in the system processor logs. Might want to go diving through the system processor menus and see if you can dig that up. Generally, with the LED status codes if they come up and go away the test passes and it moves on, it's when they STOP on a code and display that you may have a fault.

E051 states it is "Reading processor VPD." If it STOPPED there it would indicate a problem but it is passing that test and moving to STBY mode waiting to start, as far as I can see. I have no idea what E054 is, it's not listed anywhere. Could you have read that off wrong?

It is then moving to STBY:

STBY - Service processor ready. System was shut down by the operating system and is still powered on. - This condition can be requested by a privileged system user with no faults. See service processor error log for possible operating system fault indications.

I think you just need to select ' System Power Control Menu > Power-On System' from the service processor console and it'll fire.


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest