What IBM hardware do we have..?

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
jirka
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby jirka » Sun Nov 22, 2009 3:51 am

IBM Intellistation Pro E with Debian GNU/Linux (stable version):

Code: Select all

processor   : 0
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 6
model      : 5
model name   : Pentium II (Deschutes)
stepping   : 2
cpu MHz      : 398.272
cache size   : 512 KB
fdiv_bug   : no
hlt_bug      : no
f00f_bug   : no
coma_bug   : no
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 2
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr up
bogomips   : 798.18
clflush size   : 32
power management:


Code: Select all

0000-001f : dma1
0020-0021 : pic1
0040-0043 : timer0
0050-0053 : timer1
0060-0060 : keyboard
0064-0064 : keyboard
0070-0073 : rtc0
0080-008f : dma page reg
00a0-00a1 : pic2
00c0-00df : dma2
00f0-00ff : fpu
0120-0127 : CS4232 Control
0170-0177 : 0000:00:02.1
  0170-0177 : PIIX4
01f0-01f7 : 0000:00:02.1
  01f0-01f7 : PIIX4
0213-0213 : ISAPnP
0220-022f : CS4232 SB
0290-0297 : pnp 00:0e
02f8-02ff : serial
0376-0376 : 0000:00:02.1
  0376-0376 : PIIX4
0378-037a : parport0
0388-0389 : OPL2/3 (left)
038a-038b : OPL2/3 (right)
03c0-03df : vga+
03f2-03f5 : floppy
03f6-03f6 : 0000:00:02.1
  03f6-03f6 : PIIX4
03f7-03f7 : floppy DIR
03f8-03ff : serial
04d0-04d1 : pnp 00:0f
0534-0537 : CS4231
0a79-0a79 : isapnp write
0cf8-0cff : PCI conf1
7800-78ff : 0000:00:12.0
7c20-7c3f : 0000:00:03.0
  7c20-7c3f : e100
7c40-7c5f : 0000:00:14.0
  7c40-7c5f : uhci_hcd
7c60-7c7f : 0000:00:14.1
  7c60-7c7f : uhci_hcd
fd00-fd3f : 0000:00:02.3
  fd00-fd3f : pnp 00:10
    fd00-fd03 : ACPI PM1a_EVT_BLK
    fd04-fd05 : ACPI PM1a_CNT_BLK
    fd08-fd0b : ACPI PM_TMR
    fd0c-fd0f : ACPI GPE0_BLK
    fd10-fd15 : ACPI CPU throttle
fe00-fe0f : 0000:00:02.3
  fe00-fe0f : pnp 00:10
ff00-ff1f : 0000:00:02.2
  ff00-ff1f : uhci_hcd
fff0-ffff : 0000:00:02.1
  fff0-ffff : PIIX4


Intellistation POWER 265:

It's 450 MHz box (single POWER3-II processor) with some 2 GB of RAM (if I remember correctly) and with decent gfx board. But it's off for now (because of its noise).
:O2: :Indy: :Indy:

kev009
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:02 pm
Location: Tempe, Arizona
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby kev009 » Sat Dec 05, 2009 1:03 pm

Check sig for my RS/6000 collection. I also had a 7043-140 (43p) and 7044-270 (44p) since passed on. MCA RS/6k are the only boxes I actively search for.

At one point I had a ton of PS/2s: 11 8595 and 9595, a 9576 Lacuna, PC Server 720 (6x Pentium SMP microchannel/PCI), and all sorts of accessories for them. They are now in the hands of another Comp.Sys.Ibm.Ps2.Hardware member, though I do wish I kept the P/390 to throw in an RS/6000.

I use various System x/xSeries at home and work for different purposes.
SGI Fuel, Indy R5k
IBM RS/6000 7006-42T, 7011-250, 7012-397, 7012-G40 (upgraded to 4x 200MHz PPC), ThinkPad 710TE vintage tablet, ThinkPad T400, various System X, NetVista 2800
Sun Ultra 27 Xeon Quad Core 3.20GHz, Sunblade 2500 Silver, SunFire V445
HP c8000

http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/ - IBM Retro
http://www.kev009.com/ - Blog
Free Usenet access for comp.* heirarchy. Send me a message for posting access.

User avatar
ppcaddon
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 3:40 am
Location: Roma Caput Mundi
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby ppcaddon » Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:01 pm

9114-275 2-way POWER4+ running GNU/Linux (CRUX PPC -64bit).
My Blog: linuxpowerpc.blogspot.com
***
GNU/Linux CRUX PPC (64bit) on IBM 9114-275

User avatar
Henry Dorsett Case
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:59 am
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby Henry Dorsett Case » Fri Apr 30, 2010 2:12 pm

9114-275 Power4+ Single CPU, 3 GB RAM, AIX 6.1.3.0

7249-860 RS/6000 860 Risc Laptop, 166MHz PowerPC 603e, AIX 4.1.5
[found it in a hidden corner at work, machine runs but I don't have the root pw. If any fellow nekochan member has an idea where to get an AIX 4.1.5 CD to boot from and get rid of the old pw, let me know ;) ]
:ChallengeL: :O2000: :O200: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Indigo: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :Indy: :rx2600:

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 343
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby kjaer » Sat May 01, 2010 2:25 am

Henry Dorsett Case wrote:7249-860 RS/6000 860 Risc Laptop, 166MHz PowerPC 603e, AIX 4.1.5
[found it in a hidden corner at work, machine runs but I don't have the root pw. If any fellow nekochan member has an idea where to get an AIX 4.1.5 CD to boot from and get rid of the old pw, let me know ;) ]


FWIW you can use any AIX 4.1.4 or 4.1.5 CD. There isn't a special version for the ThinkPad.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
Henry Dorsett Case
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:59 am
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby Henry Dorsett Case » Sat May 01, 2010 9:51 am

Thank you for the hint. I think you're right, booting the machine will also work with 4.1.4, so getting rid of the root pw will most probably be possible.

In case that one needs to reinstall the OS, 4.1.5 will be the only AIX Version which was fully supported for these boxes. There are posts from other forums indicating that using other versions keeps you stuck to the command line, no X.

Anyway, my problem is that my AIX archive at home goes back only down to AIX 5.1 - I tried to boot the machine with 5.1 but, of course, with no success. So any help in getting my hands on a 4.1.4 CD 1 or, better, 4.1.5 CD 1 is highly welcome.
I hope that I'm not breaking any forum rules with this request. AFAIK an AIX 4 CD was bundeled with the systems, so I think that the use of a medium from another source won't break any EULA's.

BTW, I found an interesting information about using backup copies here: http://www-aix.gsi.de/~kraemer/COLLECTION/IBM/rs6k860.html. It seems that these machines are picky regarding CD copies which for sure will make the recovery more difficult.
Next week I'll start a safari through our AIX archives at work but with little hope to find some original 4.1.5 CD's.
Again, I would be really thankful if someone helps me with getting this fine little piece of IBM gear back to a fully operational status.
:ChallengeL: :O2000: :O200: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Indigo: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :Indy: :rx2600:

User avatar
ilukeberry
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 1:57 am

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby ilukeberry » Wed May 26, 2010 2:01 am

i have:

POWER IntelliStation 9111-285

specs:
2-way POWER5+ 1.9Ghz L3 36MB cache,
12GB of DDR2,
4 x 73GB SCSI 10.000rpm,
GXT6500p

here is the video of it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9K6CviWnGA
its powered on and it's quite quiet workstation...

running AIX 6.1 on it :)

HP Visualize C3600 - PA-8600 552Mhz, 2.5 GB SDRAM, HP FireGL-UX, 74GB SCSI, HP-UX 11i v1

paulfred
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 5:01 am

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby paulfred » Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:08 am

Intellistation 275:

1GHz Power4
4GB DDR2
36GB HD + 72 GB HD (broken)
GXT4500P

Intellistation 285: got it really cheap and the description on ebay was a bit of understatement :)

1,9 GHz Power 5+
8GB DDR2 (The description said only 4)
72GB HD (mentioned in description) + 3x36GB HD (not mentioned :DDD)
GXT6500P

The 285 is really quiet in comparison to the 275 and faster at booting.
I found it awesome that the guy I bought it from also packed three more HDs in the workstation.

Quite interesting: The 72 and one of the 36 disks are quiet....with only those turned on the 285 isn't louder than an average desktop.
But...switch in the other two 36 disks (same IBM OEM) and they go LOUD...they're even louder than the Seagate Cheetah in my SGI Fuel, although the noise is not as high pitched.

Any idea why those 36 GB disks have that different noise levels?
:Fuel: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW:
Apple iMac, IBM p275, IBM p285, IBM 43p140, HP 2133, Sun Fire 280R, Sun Ultra1 clone (300Mhz), Sun Ultra2 (2x400 MHz), HP C8000, Fujitsu Primepower 250, HP rx4640

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby zmttoxics » Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:13 am

Probably just age.
Stuff.

User avatar
MisterDNA
Posts: 1087
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 2:23 am
Location: Brigham City, UT

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby MisterDNA » Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:32 pm

Oh what the heck.

Intellistation A Pro 6217 - my dev machine - Dual Opteron 290, 6GB DDR333, Ubuntu 10.04
Intellistation A Pro 6217 - wife's main desktop - Dual Opteron 285, 6GB DDR333, Win 7 Pro
Thinkpad T60 - mine - C2D T7200, 2GB, Win XP Pro
Thinkpad T60 - wife's - C2D T7200, 2GB, Win XP Pro
Thinkpad X41T - mine - P-M 1.5GHz, 1.5GB, Win XP Tablet
-- I'm a PeeCee and I can kick your ass. --
Slow PeeCee - i7 940 OC 4.1GHz, 20GB DDR3 OC 1.8GHz, 2x1TB WD RAID0, ATI 5870 1GB, 3008WFP
Dev PeeCee - IBM Intellistation A Pro - Dual Opteron 290 2.8GHz, 8GB ECC DDR, 500GB SATA, 8400GS, 2x1800FP
Slow PeeCee Cluster - 30x Opteron 275, 60.5GB RAM, 2.2TB, 2x1.5TB
Octane 2xR12K-300, 1.5GB, 36GB 10K, 73GB 10K, V8
Indigo2 195MHz, 1GB, 36GB, SI

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand Ternary. Those who don't. Those who could give a shit less.

User avatar
smj
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby smj » Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:12 pm

Hrm - sure, why not. I don't generally have a lot of interest in IBM hardware, but I have a healthy respect for POWER and much love for Thinkpads. In odd corners I've got:

1 x Thinkpad 600X (PII @ 500MHz, 1024x768 panel)
2 x Thinkpad T23 (P3 @ 1.13GHz, P3 @ 1.2GHz; both with 1400x1050 14" panels)
1 x Thinkpad R52 (latest acquisition, Centrino @ 2GHz, 15" 1400x1050 panel)
1 x Thinkpad T61p (Penryn Core 2 Duo @ 2.4GHz)

Oh yeah, and one 5170 PC/AT that I saved from being recycled, state unknown.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
Mr. Loser
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby Mr. Loser » Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:35 am

I don't have any fancy server or mainframe IBM stuff, but I do own a PS/2 Model 25 (8086) and a ThinkPad T21.

User avatar
tgc99
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:21 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby tgc99 » Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:22 am

Thinkpad 365X (Pentium 120, 24Mb RAM, 810Mb HD, 10.4" TFT 800x600 panel)
For network access it has a 3Com 3c589 PCMCIA card fitted.

This was my first laptop and actually the only one I've ever spent my own money on.
Even though I bought it used it was a not insignificant investment for me at the time (1998) but well worth it.

-tgc
:PI: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane:

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:04 pm

An update to mine I now I have a Thinkpad 720 which is an MCA one...it's pretty interesting but the screen is awful.
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Octane2: :hpserv: :hpserv: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy: system info on my website

User avatar
Indyboy
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 9:05 am
Location: Somewhere in Hungary

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby Indyboy » Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:37 am

IBM PS/2 model 25SX and ThinkPad A21e - both saved right from the dumpster in really bad shape :(
:Indigo: || Apple PowerMacintosh G4 MDD || Sun Ultra 20 || Sun Ultra 10 || Sun Ultra 5 || Sun SparcStation IPX || INMOS B004 Transputer board


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest