Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Posts: 2916
Location: NZ
The title says it all.

I have a 7028-6C1 with an empty hot swap drive bay, I have some 80pin SCSI disks waiting to be used, but I don't know the part number of the hot swap tray to use.

Can anyone shed any light?

By empty I mean E M P T Y, just the backplane with 80pin connectors waiting to be fed.

edit: critical typo

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Last edited by porter on Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 162
Location: South of Germany
You'd better search for 7028-6C1. ;)

According to this
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 5772006494
and that
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0238419721

you should need FRU 00N7281.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Posts: 2916
Location: NZ
Thanks, that "looks" right, but I can't cross reference those two, eg the first one says

Quote:
For Models : 7028-6C1 , 7028-6E1 , 9112-265
and doesn't actually say it includes a 00N7281.

and the second says

Quote:
IBM Netfinity 3500, 4500R, 5100, 5600, 6000R, 7100, 7600, 8500, IBM xSeries x205, x220, x230, x225, x232, x235, x240, x250, x300, x320, x330, x335, x340, x345, und Erweiterungen EXP200 und EXP300


or did I miss something?

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 2:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 162
Location: South of Germany
porter wrote:
or did I miss something?

Oops, sorry.
What you miss is that I have a 9112-265 at home, equipped with 6x 00N7281. ;)

Problem is that the mounting frames contain a part number, but are not available as a separate replacement, as the whole disk including frame is exchanged.

Just be careful: the 00N7281 is the frame for U160 drives (U320 drives also fit and work). But the U320 frame does not fit in machines which require the U160 frame. There is a nose which prevents it from pushing it completely into the slot and I never tried to remove this nose.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 2:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Posts: 2916
Location: NZ
I've searched the IBM docs for the 7028-6C1 and there is no reference to U320 or U160.

Many thanks indeed, time to acquire some...

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 162
Location: South of Germany
porter wrote:
I've searched the IBM docs for the 7028-6C1 and there is no reference to U320 or U160.

Page 2 of the User Guide SA38-0598.pdf says: Ultra3 160 SCSI ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 5:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Posts: 2916
Location: NZ
Ebbi wrote:
Page 2 of the User Guide SA38-0598.pdf says: Ultra3 160 SCSI ;)


Oops, I was looking for "U160" and "U320".

Cool. Thanks.

Mystery solved. :D

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:21 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Speak of the devil ! I just acquired one of these systems myself!

Mine came with the drives pulled, and four of the six drive slots populated with blanks. Any slots you don't populate with drives you will want to use these blanks with, otherwise you risk overheating your server.

FRU number is 00N7259 for these blanks.

Good luck, and keep me appraised on your progress on this system. I'm not sure whether or not I'm going to put AIX or LinuxPPC on this server yet. Depending on what happens with it, I may even participate in OpenSolaris development for the PPC platform.

_________________
End of line.
:Octane: (SGI Octane, 175MHz R10000, 512MB RAM, hard disk pulled, will be working on further)
:O2: (SGI O2, 195MHz R10000, 384MB RAM, 4GB SCSI disk with IRIX 6.5)
:Indy: (SGI Indy, 150MHz R5000SC, 16MB RAM, two 4GB disks running IRIX 5.3)
:Indigo2IMP: (SGI Indigo2 Extreme, 200MHz R4400SC, 128MB RAM, 9GB disk with IRIX 6.5, will upgrade RAM, processor and graphics to MaximumIMPACT)

HP ProLiant DL360 G3 - dual Intel Xeon 2.8GHz, 2.5GB RAM, Ultra320 SCSI
Looking at obtaining more SGI hardware again!
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Posts: 2916
Location: NZ
Talk about timing!

I've acquired two 00N7281 and already have four blanks, so I have now installed two 9gig IBM drives.

I've installed AIX 5.3, and updated to ML8 by....

(a) installing 5300-08-00-0818

(b) removing "xlfrte.aix51" as this conflicts with the update

(c) installing "ICU4C.rte 5.3.0.0" from 5300-05-CSP

(d) reinstalling 5300-08-00-0818 to update the conflicts

(e) installing 5300-08-03-0831

(f) installed openssl 0.9.8.600

(g) installed openssh 4.7.0.5301

(h) installed bash 3.0 rpm from IBM

(i) installed gcc 3.4.3 for AIX 5.3 from TWW as the IBM one is broken with g++.

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:40 pm
Posts: 50
Location: San Francisco Bay Area Peninsula
Do either of you still have your 7028-6C1's? I've got mine powered on, but it does not have VGA and does not seem to want to communicate with me over the tty at 9600n81. The installation guide says it should be connected to serial port one, but does not mention whether or not it's VT100. I suspect it is not, since it referrs to IBM 3151 "ASCII" on page 115.

The top line of the LCD on the front of the machine shows what appears to be some sort of serial number, and the line below it says: "P1-C1"

The "alert" LED is lit, but that's not surprising since there's no disk in the chassis (I don't have a caddy, and don't want to even buy one until I know this machine is minimally working, eg. I can speak with it serially.

Anybody have any pointers?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:40 pm
Posts: 50
Location: San Francisco Bay Area Peninsula
So, after re-seating the RAM and CPU modules, the fault lights went away.

Now, the machine iterates through the "checkpoints" which are documented on page 30 (PDF page 48) of the service guide, and beeps, apparently trying to boot. When it fails, the whole process starts over again. It takes several minutes, but I'm confident the machine is with the living.

However, I still don't have any serial console access, using a known-good cable on serial port one on the rear of the unit.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Posts: 2916
Location: NZ
aperezbios wrote:
However, I still don't have any serial console access, using a known-good cable on serial port one on the rear of the unit.


Have you tried a null modem? My serial console goes through a remote management interface so you have to go through some options before it becomes a true console onto the machine itself.

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Null modem
Unread postPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:40 pm
Posts: 50
Location: San Francisco Bay Area Peninsula
yep, of course I've tried a null modem cable.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group