Looking for supported memory for POWER6 8203-E4A

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
aperezbios
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area Peninsula
Contact:

Looking for supported memory for POWER6 8203-E4A

Unread postby aperezbios » Thu Sep 11, 2014 10:42 pm

Hey folks,

I've obtained an 8203-E4A without any DDR2 memory. Can anyone supply any model numbers? Ideally, I'd like to get 32GB RAM in it. Does this thing use/require FB-DIMMs or not?

It's got two 46K7790/46K7791 4.2GHZ 4MB 4-CORE POWER6) according to the Advanced System Management Interface.

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Looking for supported memory for POWER6 8203-E4A

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Fri Sep 12, 2014 12:39 pm

Hah, this is the exact model I have (a two-way 4.2GHz Power6). Note that you may not be able to get more than 16GB in it if you do not have a CUoD code. Mine has 8GB. This is the IBM spec.

When I had the server disassembled to replace the system backplane, I took pictures of the RAM sticks, which are both 4GB Samsung 2Rx4 PC2 5300P 555 12 LO. This is an 667MHz ECC DDR2 RDIMM.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

aperezbios
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area Peninsula
Contact:

Re: Looking for supported memory for POWER6 8203-E4A

Unread postby aperezbios » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:43 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:Hah, this is the exact model I have (a two-way 4.2GHz Power6). Note that you may not be able to get more than 16GB in it if you do not have a CUoD code. Mine has 8GB. This is the IBM spec.

When I had the server disassembled to replace the system backplane, I took pictures of the RAM sticks, which are both 4GB Samsung 2Rx4 PC2 5300P 555 12 LO. This is an 667MHz ECC DDR2 RDIMM.


Thanks a bunch. Do you have the actual model number off the sticks? Feel free to just send me a copy of the image. I managed to get it up with 8x 1GB DDR2 ECC DIMMs I pulled out of a T2000 I had collecting dust. I am not familiar with what a CUoD is, but this server apparently came from someone who worked for IBM at one point, so they may have had free access to such enablement keys. Do you know how to tell what the machine is authorized for? Is there even a way?

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Looking for supported memory for POWER6 8203-E4A

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:13 pm

The code on the stick is M393T5160QZA-CE6 (1030).

ASMI can tell you what entitlement codes are enabled. Assuming the CUoD codes are entered and not messed up (which believe me can happen), and no one has removed or mucked with the VPD, they should still be valid. In ASMI (on my EL350 firmware), look under On Demand Utilities, CoD Processor Information and CoD Memory Information.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

tingo
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Looking for supported memory for POWER6 8203-E4A

Unread postby tingo » Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:42 am

CoD = Cash (to IBM) On Demand :-D
Torfinn

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Looking for supported memory for POWER6 8203-E4A

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Thu Sep 18, 2014 9:00 am

Unfortunately, yes. :evil:
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest