Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:01 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: My new toy
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:03 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Mons, Belgium
This one arrived today. I didn't have any AIX machine so when I saw one on Ebay I thought, let's get it. I also saw some cheap HP Visualize boxes last week but then I remembered how much I dislike Hockey Pucks :D

The machine has a 375MHz 604e, 512MiB of RAM, 1 9GB + 1 15k rpm 36GB HDs. It came with AIX 5.2 but I'll a do clean 5.3 install soon.

Image

_________________
SGI: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :O2: :Octane2:
Sun: Ultra2, Ultra60, Sun Fire 4800
Apple: G3, Powermac G4 MDD, PowerMac G5, Mac Mini, iBook G4 12", MBP
Dec 3000
IBM RS/6000
AMD64 FreeBSD box


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:54 pm
Posts: 402
Location: Germany/NRW/Bonn
Nice one...

Do you have some screenshots AIX running?

I have never seen AIX... :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:03 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Mons, Belgium
If you've ever seen Solaris running CDE, that's what an AIX desktop looks like. Nothing really special about that.

The text console is green text on black background. Must be a nostalgia thing :)

_________________
SGI: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :O2: :Octane2:
Sun: Ultra2, Ultra60, Sun Fire 4800
Apple: G3, Powermac G4 MDD, PowerMac G5, Mac Mini, iBook G4 12", MBP
Dec 3000
IBM RS/6000
AMD64 FreeBSD box


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 915
Location: IRL
Is it the way you have taken the photo or is it really only just a little taller than an Octane. I've only ever seen these in photos, and had the impression they were much taller.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:03 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Mons, Belgium
No, the 43p is pretty small. I was surprised myself when I've opened the box because I originally intended to put my O2 on top of the 43p, expecting it to be bigger than it is. The Octane2 is about 40 cm tall and the 43p is 45.

_________________
SGI: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :O2: :Octane2:
Sun: Ultra2, Ultra60, Sun Fire 4800
Apple: G3, Powermac G4 MDD, PowerMac G5, Mac Mini, iBook G4 12", MBP
Dec 3000
IBM RS/6000
AMD64 FreeBSD box


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: NZ
I was under the impression that a 43P could only run up to AIX 5.1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 43p
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5735
Location: Renton, WA
There are multiple 43p models (just like IBM, isn't it?)

7043 43p-140 is a PReP architecture PPC RS/6000 and isn't supported after 5.1
7043 43p-150 is a CHRP RS/6000 and is still supported.

Isn't IBM straightforward in naming machines?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 43p
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9315
SAQ wrote:
Isn't IBM straightforward in naming machines?

IBM reminds me of the girls in high school who would speak pig latin. I was never sure what the point was but they were really good at it. Listen to an old-line IBM-er some day ... it's just a "wow" experience.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:03 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Mons, Belgium
That's not really different from HP naming all their machines 9000, from the single CPU workstations up to the Superdome :)

_________________
SGI: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :O2: :Octane2:
Sun: Ultra2, Ultra60, Sun Fire 4800
Apple: G3, Powermac G4 MDD, PowerMac G5, Mac Mini, iBook G4 12", MBP
Dec 3000
IBM RS/6000
AMD64 FreeBSD box


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:20 am
Posts: 162
Location: South of Germany
AIX 5.1 is the last AIX supporting MCA architecture.
AIX 5.3 does still have a 32-bit kernel.
But for workstation usage at home there is no significant difference between 5.1 and 5.3, unless you have an LPAR system. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:34 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 4:29 am
Posts: 2470
Location: Kabul, Afghanistan, Asia
Nice looking kit! :)

_________________
...only chemist in .af?
Eroteme.ch - eternally unfinished and never started


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5735
Location: Renton, WA
mmendez wrote:
That's not really different from HP naming all their machines 9000, from the single CPU workstations up to the Superdome :)


Slightly more confusing than that- the 9000 series encompasses at least 3 incompatible processor families (68k (300&400), FOCUS(500), PA-RISC(700&800)) and different targets (the 800s were servers, the 700s were workstations in the PA line, the 300s were HP-only workstations while the 400s were hybrid HP-Apollo in the 68K line). Still, there is a certain system there. I haven't been able to quite figure out the system of IBM (which doesn't mean that there isn't one) FI the type 7012 and the type 7030 are almost identical, while the 7043 has completely different reference plaforms (PReP for some, CHRP for others).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: Kamloops, BC
Powermac towers look sooo much better with the top floppy bezel (I misplaced mine)
I always thought the octane was tiny. It's just as tall as the powermac!

Nice IBM find.

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:36 pm
Posts: 1837
Location: Nor Cal
SAQ wrote:
Slightly more confusing than that- the 9000 series encompasses at least 3 incompatible processor families (68k (300&400), FOCUS(500), PA-RISC(700&800)) and different targets (the 800s were servers, the 700s were workstations in the PA line, the 300s were HP-only workstations while the 400s were hybrid HP-Apollo in the 68K line). Still, there is a certain system there. I haven't been able to quite figure out the system of IBM (which doesn't mean that there isn't one) FI the type 7012 and the type 7030 are almost identical, while the 7043 has completely different reference plaforms (PReP for some, CHRP for others).


Ironically HP still uses 9000 families for even some of the recent products (visualizes and Itaniums still have an internal 9000-7xx 9000-8xx and 9000-9xx branding).

From what I can gather, 43P is/was the minitower/desktop AIX line, and the 44P is/was the deskside AIX workstation. There are 3 types of 43p, all use a similar chasis, two use a PPC (604s) and the -170 and up use Power3 of some sort. 44s are all POWER I believe. I only know this because I was given a 44 machine and I had to track down a copy of AIX (and even when doing unix, IBM has AIX as a bit of an odd thing) and there were some point versions of AIX that did not support specific machines.

At least in the old days, it made more sense with the POWERStations/servers (7013/7012/7011) series. And then after the mid 90s everything went kookoo in IBMland. Their processors are even more confusing... After POWER2, it went P2SC, POWER64 (I-II-II), POWER3 (I-II), etc. Going to an IBM technical conference is also a trip, they have their own definitions for things that 90% of the industry uses different names, so one has to have a sort of IBM-to-rest of industry dictionary. Heck in some odd systems they still have their own digit encoding other than ASCII, and their own FP representation. IBM was so huge that they could afford to basically give the middle finger to the rest of the field and follow their own definitions.

Same happened with SGI, at some point you knew exactly the family, number and speed of processors and graphics capabilities of the system (ie. 4D330VGXT). Simple and somewhat techno sexy name, but noooooo... at some point someone decided: "lets give'em colour names" and then you end up with an Indigo2 which is actually teal or purple and you have no idea whats inside :-) Marketing... go figure!

_________________
"Was it a dream where you see yourself standing in sort of sun-god robes on a
pyramid with thousand naked women screaming and throwing little pickles at you?"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: AIX
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5735
Location: Renton, WA
Quote:
(and even when doing unix, IBM has AIX as a bit of an odd thing)


Understatement. . . back in the days of AIX v3 it was described as being "somewhat UNIX-compatible". V4+ are substantially improved, but SMIT is your friend, since IBM has their own config file setups. Post what you think of AIX since you don't like HP-UX :) .

Just came up against one of the HP-UX oddities :x Have a 11i machine that's been offline for quite a while, and I forgot the password. No prob, I'll just boot single-user and change it, right? Wrong- as superuser it still asks for the original password to change passwords-for anyone. Of course, as root you can write any file, so you can go over to /tcb/yadda/yadda and zero the password, but still. :evil:

Say, has anyone here successfully de-differentialed the SCSI on HPs? I'm looking at the tiny 4GB+2GB drives in my C180 and the 18GB FW/SE drive sitting unused on the windowsill and dreaming... I have the soldering iron and jumper wires :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group