Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 12:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 6:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 7:06 am
Posts: 128
Location: Germany
What is known of the Power6 specs today?

Models?
Speed (MHz)
Benchmarks?
Double and single precision performance?
Features?
Cache?
2 cores?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 9:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 11:21 am
Posts: 112
Location: Queens, NY
didn't yet read the articles through, but:
http://news.zdnet.com/2100-9584_22-6039293.html
is an interview with chief chip architect,
http://www.itjungle.com/breaking/bn020706-story01.html
is an article about the chip.

_________________
Ninety-nine percent of who you are is invisible and untouchable.
-R. Buckminster Fuller


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 12:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 8:49 am
Posts: 1157
Location: Poznan, Poland
2 cores? lol, IBM's been doing multicore for years. Now Intel wants to make a huge deal and call their chip "Core" like they invented the concept.

Anyway, I saw that IBM had in the labs ran on of these with 6 cores at 6 ghz each.

Power6 is going to rock the cock. I've got Linux\PPC on a system at home, works rather well, so I think it'd be fun to make a Power6 workstation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 7:06 am
Posts: 128
Location: Germany
so we have:
4 to 5 GHz
13 stage pipeline
large on die L2 cache, not shared
on die L3 memory controller
more than 36MB L3cache
maybe L4 cache
750million transistors
dual-core

A Power-6 workstation would be fun, indeed.
quad Power6, quad 1GB Nvidia Quadro, 256GB FBdimm, Infiniband, SAS storage, Linux or AIX OS. 8)

-----
Greetings from Germany


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 1:15 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5140
there were quite a few rumors about high ghz but i doubt the production version will run that high. anyway it doesn't matter what they have in the labs as long as it's not released.

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 1:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 8:49 am
Posts: 1157
Location: Poznan, Poland
Well none of it's released. We're discussing a future product.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 4:04 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5140
Frapazoid wrote:
Well none of it's released. We're discussing a future product.


likewise, as i said.

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 2:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:38 am
Posts: 189
Location: Sydney, Australia
foetz wrote:
there were quite a few rumors about high ghz but i doubt the production version will run that high. anyway it doesn't matter what they have in the labs as long as it's not released.


I remember initial estimates for the P4 going up to something like 10Ghz in their presentation slides, so it is very wise to take estimated operating speeds with a large grain of salt.

_________________
Apple Unibody MBP 2.66Ghz, 8Gb OSX 10.6
Apple MacMini 1.83Ghz, 1Gb OSX 10.5
Apple Power Mac Cube 450Mhz, 256Mb, OSX 10.3 Sweet!
Sun Ultra10 440Mhz 1Gb, SunOS 5.10

http://gothmog.homeunix.net/blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 2:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 8:49 am
Posts: 1157
Location: Poznan, Poland
Whatever the case, I want one.

_________________
Maverick 3: Athlon X2 7750, 2gb, Windows Vista
Frank Dux: SGI Octane2 R12k 400mhz 1.5gb

"Chief, look! I learned to make fire! Who knows what we could do with this... We should learn to control it!"

"Ridiculous. How can you justify wasting time and effort on this so-called 'fire' when our children are freezing to death at night?"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 4:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9644
Frapazoid wrote:
Whatever the case, I want one.

A p-iv ? I can get you one at a good price .....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 6:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 8:49 am
Posts: 1157
Location: Poznan, Poland
Noooo, a P-VI.

I've got a Power4 "eMac" with Linux on it.

_________________
Maverick 3: Athlon X2 7750, 2gb, Windows Vista
Frank Dux: SGI Octane2 R12k 400mhz 1.5gb

"Chief, look! I learned to make fire! Who knows what we could do with this... We should learn to control it!"

"Ridiculous. How can you justify wasting time and effort on this so-called 'fire' when our children are freezing to death at night?"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 12:35 am
Posts: 92
Location: Sydney, Australia
DaSeitz wrote:
so we have:
4 to 5 GHz
13 stage pipeline
large on die L2 cache, not shared
on die L3 memory controller
more than 36MB L3cache
maybe L4 cache
750million transistors
dual-core

A Power-6 workstation would be fun, indeed.
quad Power6, quad 1GB Nvidia Quadro, 256GB FBdimm, Infiniband, SAS storage, Linux or AIX OS. 8)

-----
Greetings from Germany


It is confirmed that POWER6 has:
- Single-instruction-latency FXU
- Higher dispatch bandwith of 7 for SMT compared to Power5's 5.
- 64kb L1D cache (up from 32kb)
- 4MB private L2 cache per core (up from 1.9MB shared)
- Dual memory controllers (instead of 1).
- Pipeline depth of 13 (shorter than Power5's 15)
- Dual thread SMT, with the second thread providing ~40% extra performance for integer and 55% for OLTP benchmarks. (POWER5 was ~20-35%)
- IBM seems to be using different channel length transistors for different frequency points.
- Rumored: No more grouping of instructions
http://www.realworldtech.com/forums/ind ... &roomid=11

Here is IBM's Presentation at FPF:
http://www2.hursley.ibm.com/decimal/IBM ... Credie.pdf

And an abstract from next week's ISSCC:

"The POWER6TM microprocessor combines ultra-high frequency operation, aggressive power reduction, a highly scalable memory subsystem, and mainframe-like reliability, availability, and serviceability. The 341mm2 700M transistor dual-core microprocessor is fabricated in a 65nm SOI process with 10 levels of low-k copper interconnect. It operates at clock frequencies over 5GHz in high-performance applications, and consumes under 100W in power-sensitive applications."

We also know that Power6 will be used in Blade servers as well:
http://news.zdnet.com/2100-9584_22-6141435.html

We will know more next week when IBM makes their presentation.

_________________
My Systems:
Apple MacBookPro, 2.66Ghz Dual Core i7, Nvidia 330M GT, 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD + 750GB (optibay)
AMD Phenom II X4 3.4Ghz, Nvidia 9800GT, 8Gb RAM, 2TB + 1.5TB
Apple iBook G4, 1.2ghz G4, ATI 9200, 768MB RAM, 80GB.
HP c8000, 1.1Ghz Dual Core PA-8900, ATI FireGL X3, 6GB RAM, 2x73GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:16 am
Posts: 779
Location: Bláth Cliath, Éire
Realworldtech had a good enough article about it awhile ago.
http://realworldtech.com/page.cfm?ArticleID=RWT101606194731

_________________
"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 12:35 am
Posts: 92
Location: Sydney, Australia
Dubhthach wrote:
Realworldtech had a good enough article about it awhile ago.
http://realworldtech.com/page.cfm?ArticleID=RWT101606194731


A bit more info here:

http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20070212-8823.html

Looks like they have exceeded 5Ghz and will be shipping in systems in ~4 months.

_________________
My Systems:
Apple MacBookPro, 2.66Ghz Dual Core i7, Nvidia 330M GT, 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD + 750GB (optibay)
AMD Phenom II X4 3.4Ghz, Nvidia 9800GT, 8Gb RAM, 2TB + 1.5TB
Apple iBook G4, 1.2ghz G4, ATI 9200, 768MB RAM, 80GB.
HP c8000, 1.1Ghz Dual Core PA-8900, ATI FireGL X3, 6GB RAM, 2x73GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:36 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Nor Cal
thunng8 wrote:

Looks like they have exceeded 5Ghz and will be shipping in systems in ~4 months.


Yeah, they had systems running stable at 6Ghz, they are using some weird process where they are inducing some germanium doping. Pretty kwel!

_________________
"Was it a dream where you see yourself standing in sort of sun-god robes on a
pyramid with thousand naked women screaming and throwing little pickles at you?"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group