Games on AIX

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby Shiunbird » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:29 am

ClassicHasClass wrote:20fps on a POWER5?? Something's really wrong. My Quad G5 in software mode runs Quake at a ripping pace, so CPU rendering should not be the limiting factor. What does xdpyinfo say? Is the MIT-SHM extension installed? Is this xquake or quake.sw?


So, I get fluid gameplay, but only at 320x200 (that's the standard resolution), anything up from there slows down REALLY fast. At 640x400 it's a slideshow. I can see the frames redrawing from top down.
Resizing is interesting, though. Resizing is content-aware. The health bar on the bottom remains the same size (it's probably a bitmap) whilst the rest of the render area increases.

Answering your questions:
- According to X Display Info, I have MIT-SHM installed and more other 16 extensions: BIG-REQUESTS, DAMAGE, LBX, RECORD, SCREEN-SAVER, SECURITY, SHAPE, XC-APPGROUP, XC-MISC, XFILES, XInputExtension, XTEST, XTestExtension1, aixCursorExtension, xColormapExtension, xDirectAccessExtension.
- I'm running quake.sw.wimp. Quake.sw exits with the error we discussed previously: UMSobj.dll could not be loaded.

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1904
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:45 am

I wonder if it's some difference between AIX 4 and AIX 5.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby Shiunbird » Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:40 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:I wonder if it's some difference between AIX 4 and AIX 5.


It's possible, since it doesn't run at all under AIX 7.1. But hey, the multiplayer TCP/IP stack seems to work, so I still think we should play. :mrgreen:

I'm keeping an eye on the Interwebs for a better graphics card to try Quake 2.

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby Shiunbird » Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:58 pm



Hey guys, this gentleman just posted Quake II on a IntelliStation 275.

User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ibmfiles » Thu Apr 13, 2017 7:57 pm

Shiunbird wrote:We could still play! Come on!
Don't worry, Quake runs horribly on my POWER5 as well. I get 20ish fps at 320x240 and if I make the screen bigger it runs at 1 fps and the mouse cursor freezes. It's more of a science experiment than anything else. =) And that's on 5L. On 7 it doesn't run.

But it would be a world's first for sure. =)))


Well I know immediately three other guys who have ThinkPad 850s. It would be hilarious if we all banded together for some AIX multiplayer gaming; although not sure how permissible that is with time zones and the fact not all the 'TP 850 guys' would be interested.

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby Shiunbird » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:59 am

I'm still in.

User avatar
ibmfiles
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ibmfiles » Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:21 pm

Shiunbird wrote:I'm still in.

I just remembered... getting Ethernet (or even Token Ring) working on a ThinkPad 850 requires a *specific* PCMCIA card which I don't have.

Doubt a parallel to ethernet adapter would work either.

Hmmmmm. Well guess it's time to see if I can find any of those uncommon PCMCIA adapters. My best chance is probably with the token ring one, so I'll also need a token ring bridge. :lol:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1904
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Games on AIX

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun Apr 16, 2017 10:47 pm

I actually have both the token ring and the Ethernet card. They're not actually that hard to find on ePay. The Ethernet card worked pretty much out of the box once I had the right smit sets installed.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest