Installing tru64

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:14 pm

Nope. I have a 20 pin block. That one has a 24 pin block. Hell, that's a half height drive. 5.2gb drive. This is full height 650mb.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6592
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby foetz » Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:40 pm

pentium wrote:Suspecting the SCSI cable for the hard drive I swapped it out and put a terminator on the end in case there was no internal termination. No dice. Perhaps it's trying to mount a partition that isn't even created/formatted yet? The drive was good when I DBAN'd it years ago.

which scsi controller do you have in there? the 164 series is picky in that regard

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:54 pm

Qlogic PC2010401-01. The card came with the system if I recall. Identifies as pka0 at the prompt.
As a sanity check on those CD read errors I mentioned before I attached an external Yamaha CD drive and tried that. We still hung up later on on the install but I didn't get any read errors so it's just the nakamichi being fiddly.

Edited: Actually now I remember. I got the system from SAQ. IF you still vaguely remember the machine do you remember if there was anything weird about the hardware when you moved it my way?
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:18 pm

Tried two other hard drives with no luck, then borrowed a copy of Tru64 4.0f. This time I got some verbose errors that seem to stem from the SCSI card not wanting to behave.

CGS_1192.JPG

CGS_1193.JPG


I'm starting to get suspicious. Do I NEED to use this card because it has a specific firmware, or can I throw in an Adaptec AHA-2940UW? I'm swimming in those.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2108
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:48 pm

I've got some AlphaPowered stickers left from the AlphaCat if you have some Symbolics stickers left over ...

Like foetz said, only a subset of SCSI controllers work. I'm not at the unit right now, but I'm pretty sure I have the same card in mine (but it's DKA0, IIRC).
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6592
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby foetz » Wed Apr 13, 2016 6:01 pm

exactly, the official ones are dka and no, the good old 2940 doesn't work unfortunately. what does work is listed there http://moon.hanya-n.org/comp/alpha/hct/scsi.html
that aside, did you try different scsi cables?

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:39 pm

That was one of the first things I did. Yes, I also tried with just the hard drive attached to the controller, with a new cable...and the end of the cable physically terminated.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:11 am

I'm running out of options here.
I'm going through my stash of cards and I don't have any of the listed supported SCSI cards. Just this one. The only other thing I can think of is put the hard drive on the IDE bus but dayum that will slow the system right down.

SAQ!

ClassicHasClass wrote:I've got some AlphaPowered stickers left from the AlphaCat if you have some Symbolics stickers left over ...

It's not a sticker. It's just photo paper glued to the recess for a case badge.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Sat Apr 23, 2016 11:18 pm

I've purchased two more scan cards. Both dec branded and with Qlogic chipsets. Once I'm back from Seattle one of them will do the trick.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Mon Apr 25, 2016 9:10 pm

So as I mentioned I picked up two Qlogic PC2010403's for $2 each. There's no reason these shouldn't work. Now that I'm back at the machine I can can tell that one even after a small soldering repair is still super, super dead and the other works....kinda.

Also, for my sanity right now I've unplugged all the other SCSI devices from the controller so it's just the controller, the SCSI cable, the hard drive and a terminator at the end of the ribbon cable.
So I already knew from the old card that the drive, cabling and termination was good but the card was not. Now it's the opposite. You start the machine up and the SRM now mentions a "sense key" on pka0.0.0.9.0 (which I believe is the hard drive on the SCSI controller), but now the drive doesn't show up with a SHOW DEV. There's no dka0 at all.

CGS_1262.JPG


You CD boot however and things seem to go fine and the drive responds to multiple bus probes, then the installer freaks out because the drive no longer has a name or model and eventually it gives up and panics.

CGS_1263.JPG

CGS_1264.JPG

CGS_1265.JPG


I could try the other SCSI disks again in case something about it being an Avid OEM disk is pissing it off, or 0b refers to the SCSI check condition which indicates a medium error.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6592
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby foetz » Mon Apr 25, 2016 10:11 pm

pentium wrote:So as I mentioned I picked up two Qlogic PC2010403

i don't see that on the list. as mentioned before the 164 models are very picky. i remember of some controllers only a specific revision worked despite being the same basic model.
i had 2 controllers in mine: first a stock 53c810, no dec branding but a specific revision i don't remember anymore and later until today i'm using an original dec KZPBA-CX. any other controller i ever tried failed one way or another :P

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:00 pm

My bad. The DEC part number is on the back of the card. :P
It's a KZPBA-CX. It's on the list. Fifth and fourth from the bottom. Aside from the Multia it's apparently fully supported, though it only lists version 5.0. Tried 4.0 instead and same thing. :?
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
miod
Posts: 522
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Clermont-Ferrand (France)
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby miod » Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:45 pm

pentium wrote:You start the machine up and the SRM now mentions a "sense key" on pka0.0.0.9.0 (which I believe is the hard drive on the SCSI controller), but now the drive doesn't show up with a SHOW DEV.

That sense key information reads as `command sent to target 0 has aborted, because of a phase mismatch during the data exchange'.

Which, in mundane terms, means that either your disk is bad, or your controller is bad, or your cable is fawlty, or there are multiple devices answering to id #0 (which is very unlikely if you've only connected one disk).
:Indigo:R3000 (alas, dead) :Indigo:R4000 x4 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 x2 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4400SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 x3 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:57 am

Yaaay! wildcard problems!
Alright, I'll dig out some other drives.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Apr 27, 2016 8:08 pm

Just double checking that you aren't using the IDE - it doesn't play well with Tru64 or OpenVMS.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest