Installing tru64

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4728
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:28 pm

So for almost a decade now I've had what if I recall was the guts of an AlphaPC 164 languishing in the corner of my storage room. Spec wise it wasn't a naked board when I got it. PSU, 128mb ram, 24-bit stereo video, ethernet, SCSI and an install CD for Tru64 5.1. I've thrown it into a case with a DDS tape drive and a 9gb SCSI disk. The machine seems to get into ARCS fine but I have not yet started the install. I don't have any more Toshiba CD drives. Will I require a 512 block compatible drive like the sun/SGI stuff or can I get away with a generic CD drive attached to the IDE bus?
Also, I can't recall if this machine was last used with Windows NT or not. I've been told that if it has, I need to reflash the firmware to use Tru64 again. Were you able to do that from the install media or did you have to boot a floppy with an image and a flashing utility like you would do on a PC?
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6543
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby foetz » Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:53 pm

mine works with an ide drive but i have no idea which brand or model it is :P
and ide in general as far as the 164 series goes is extremely slow. it's really only meant for a cdrom.

whether it had windows or not you can see immediately. you either get a pc-like bios or just a blue terminal (srm console). the latter is what you need for osf and vms.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4728
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:06 pm

Awesome, then we have the SRM firmware still. I'll dig through my pile of IDE CD drives and see what I can pull out. I wonder if I can use something exotic like my Nakamichi 4-disc CD changers....

Actually, how is Tru64 for sound support? I know that OSS was available for Tru64 but it seems to only support PCI. I got two useless ISA slots. Think an SB16 or an AWE card will work?
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6543
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby foetz » Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:55 pm

pentium wrote:Actually, how is Tru64 for sound support?

no clue :P
i don't think i ever used sound with an alpha but even if it should work the number of available programs in that regard is veeery low. assuming you don't wanna use something custom of course.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4728
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:28 pm

A CD player is fine enough while futzing on OpenGenera. ;)
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2072
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:30 pm

I put a DECchip tga card (a ZLXp-E3) in it so I could have accelerated video. It really makes a big difference in X.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6543
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby foetz » Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:57 pm

nice but has there been any decent video software for tru64 at all?

robespierre
Posts: 1552
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby robespierre » Mon Apr 11, 2016 8:03 pm

I don't think so. DEC made AV options but they weren't well supported.
Last edited by robespierre on Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4728
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:26 pm

I found a PBXGB-CA board years ago and squirreled it away as originally I only had some nastier 8-bit version of the board. Anyways if getting ISA sound isn't easy I won't bother with it.
Anyways, the machine is built up and branded for the occasion.

59DA0079.JPG
59DA0080.JPG


Now my next issue. I don't know how to boot from the CD.
I settled on the Nakamichi CD changer because it turned out it was both SCSI and it supports 512 byte sectors. It's attached to the only SCSI card in the machine and set to ID 4. The boot command is a bit foreign to me. Does it list by controller.ID.LUN or is there extra syntax for CD installation? I'm following theGIAC installation guide for Tru64 so I've completed the initial steps of doing set boot_osflags "" and set auto_action halt but that's about it.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

robespierre
Posts: 1552
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby robespierre » Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:19 pm

type "show devs" to get the device name of the CDROM, it's probably "RDA400" or something.

Is that a Maxoptix drive? Does it work?
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
urbancamo
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: Windermere, UK
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby urbancamo » Tue Apr 12, 2016 3:21 am

Lol at the case sticker :lol: I have yet to get open genera working under tru64.
Image, VAXstation 4000/90 x2, VAXstation 4000/VLC x2, AlphaServer 1000A, DEC AXP 3000/600 (desktop), DEC AXP 3000/600 x2 (rackmount), DEC AXP 3000/800 (rackmount), AlphaServer 300 4/266, Sun Ultra 5, LA75, PP404, Juki 6100, Brother HR10

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2072
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Apr 12, 2016 8:17 am

Yeah, where'd you get the Symbolics sticker from?? I'd love to stick one on the MacLisp machine and the AlphaCat.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
urbancamo
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: Windermere, UK
Contact:

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby urbancamo » Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:16 pm

I think it's home grown...
Image, VAXstation 4000/90 x2, VAXstation 4000/VLC x2, AlphaServer 1000A, DEC AXP 3000/600 (desktop), DEC AXP 3000/600 x2 (rackmount), DEC AXP 3000/800 (rackmount), AlphaServer 300 4/266, Sun Ultra 5, LA75, PP404, Juki 6100, Brother HR10

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4728
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby pentium » Tue Apr 12, 2016 1:08 pm

robespierre wrote:type "show devs" to get the device name of the CDROM, it's probably "RDA400" or something.

Is that a Maxoptix drive? Does it work?

Aha, so that's how you list them!
CGS_1188.JPG


It's actually a Sony SMO-E501. I have a few of them and they all work but I can't for the life of me find the jumper settings for it. All google shows is people selling them for ridiculous amounts.
I managed to blindly get it into ID 3 but I have no idea how to toggle parity, termination or SCSI-1/SCSI-2 mode. Anyone have the jumper settings?

Yeah, where'd you get the Symbolics sticker from?? I'd love to stick one on the MacLisp machine and the AlphaCat.

Made it. Took a few minutes in GIMP to draw the logo and copy over the text and saved it as a little 1" square image at 400DPI. Does anyone know where I can find an appropriate Alpha logo or tag I can put on the front?

Symbolics_PC_TAG.png
Symbolics_PC_TAG.png (31.81 KiB) Viewed 865 times


Anyways, so I figured out how to start booting from the CD. Initially I was having issues with the bus resetting constantly and disabled that from the PROM and tried again. It continued to give suspicious read errors so screw it, I grabbed an IDE cd drive and tried directly booting from that.

CGS_1189.JPG


That worked even better and it seemed to go on its way, then started timing out on something before eventually panicking. Suspecting the SCSI cable for the hard drive I swapped it out and put a terminator on the end in case there was no internal termination. No dice. Perhaps it's trying to mount a partition that isn't even created/formatted yet? The drive was good when I DBAN'd it years ago.

CGS_1191.JPG

CGS_1190.JPG


It's also complaining about the battery still. I did check it and the cell was not only dead but leaking (I don't think I've ever seen a coin cell leak!). I've since swapped in a new one but I don't know if the PROM variables need to be reset or anything.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

robespierre
Posts: 1552
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Installing tru64

Unread postby robespierre » Tue Apr 12, 2016 1:31 pm

Are these the same jumpers as on your Sony drive?
http://www.plasmontech.com/downloads2/pdf/520user.pdf - see App. B
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fatalhalt and 1 guest