HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
55cancri
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:57 am
Location: Germany

HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby 55cancri » Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:49 am

Hello :-)

I got an Apollo 715/50 and try to get access to it through a serial cable. I startet the console-session with my Octane and just plugged the serial-cable out of my AlphaStation 200 right into the Apollo 715 and startet it. But nothing happens. Serial access to my AS200 always worked flawless.

The error-LEDs of my Apollo just shows that everything seems to be ok and it trys to boot from serveral things (disk, network and so on ...). But there is no disk yet and my two LED-monitors show nothing at all, no matter how I switch the DIPs of the internal graphicscard.

Question : What can I do? ^^

robespierre
Posts: 1555
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby robespierre » Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:49 am

are you using a null-modem cable?
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
55cancri
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby 55cancri » Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:28 am

Hmmm, yes. I used it for serial access to my AlphaStation last time.

User avatar
55cancri
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby 55cancri » Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:27 am

Now I have a CRT-Monitor here. Its an 15inch IBM from the Netvista-Desktop-late-90's age, but still no picture. Does it not display anything until a Keyboard is plugged in? Oh, man ...

It looks like I have buy one of those crazy HIL Keyboards.

User avatar
55cancri
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby 55cancri » Thu Sep 10, 2015 1:07 am

Yes, I forgot that this IBM-PC Monitor is not sync-on-green capable. I also tried my Fujitsu Siemens B19-5 TFT, which I use for my SGI Workstations through a 13w3 adapter, so that means that it is sync-on-green-capable, but no picture with my Apollo :?

The Apollo 715/50 has an internal graphics card with a DIP-switch to chance resolutions ... like 1024x768-72Hz. That shouldn't be a problem for my TFT-Monitor, i guess. And the error LED indicate that the computer tries to boot from Disk. I think, it wouldn't do that if there is something wrong with the CPU or RAM.

Hmm, now I will just wait for my HIL Keyboard. :oops:

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby Trippynet » Thu Sep 10, 2015 3:25 am

Don't forget that a lot of TFTs have trouble with refresh rates above 60Hz. I'd try it with that first of all if possible.
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
55cancri
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby 55cancri » Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:59 am

I did it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes!!!!

The HIL Keyboard was delivered this morning and since I still have no output on the screen, I had to stop the boot process, navigate through the menu and chance the console output blindly! It took two hours! My nerves are wrecked, but i'm happy 8-)

ivelegacy wrote:ups, I have an 715-EISA expansion for sale, it's here collecting dust, so you can have it for just 1 euro + shipping.


I already have two of those, but thanks :-)

User avatar
miod
Posts: 508
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Clermont-Ferrand (France)
Contact:

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby miod » Sun Sep 13, 2015 8:58 am

55cancri wrote:The HIL Keyboard was delivered this morning and since I still have no output on the screen, I had to stop the boot process, navigate through the menu and chance the console output blindly!

Didn't you know you could press the tab key repeatedly during PROM initialization to have it cycle through video modes, until you'd find one your screen would display? :mrgreen:
:Indigo:R3000 (alas, dead) :Indigo:R4000 x4 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 x2 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4400SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 x3 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...

User avatar
55cancri
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby 55cancri » Tue Sep 15, 2015 9:32 am

miod wrote:
55cancri wrote:The HIL Keyboard was delivered this morning and since I still have no output on the screen, I had to stop the boot process, navigate through the menu and chance the console output blindly!

Didn't you know you could press the tab key repeatedly during PROM initialization to have it cycle through video modes, until you'd find one your screen would display? :mrgreen:


Hmm, the 715/50 only has a DIP-Switch for different resolutions and I also googled all these tricks to change the Outputdevice, but none of these tricks work on the 715/50 type. Like pressing the TOC-Button at boottime or removing the graphicscard, which isn't possible.

You can even totally mess the output up if you type somthing wrong into the outputvariable of the Bios. So, I think the Apollo 715/50 is a pretty nasty machine, but now I finally have serial output :-)

User avatar
55cancri
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby 55cancri » Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:24 am

Hmmm, the 715-Manual says nothing about 'restoration' or setting back to default variables : http://ftp.parisc-linux.org/docs/platfo ... ndbook.pdf

... and not even how to chance resolutions with the tab key, or a 'monitor' bootstrap command is mentioned there. It looks like the 712 is not so very similar to the 715. The 712 came two years later.

Check out openpa.net :-)

robespierre
Posts: 1555
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby robespierre » Wed Sep 23, 2015 8:14 am

The 712 is most similar to the second generation of 715 machines like the 715/100XC.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
55cancri
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby 55cancri » Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:24 am

ivelegacy wrote:I also remember the TOC button: if you hold if for 10 seconds after you hit power, then the HP715/50 should switch the console to the first serial


Sorry, but this also doesn't work ^^ I tried it myself after reading this ---> http://wiki.NetBSD.org/ports/hp700faq/

Man, this machine just throws every rock in your way it can ^^

User avatar
55cancri
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: HP Apollo 715/50 serial access

Unread postby 55cancri » Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:14 am

Wait! I will test this later ... now I have another Problem.

I installed NetBSD 5 over Network which worked fine so far. But when I try to boot this fscking 715 from disk, which costs two weeks of sweat and tears, it just stops at single user mode and I don't see why. No error messages, rc.conf and fstab are configured.

fstab :
/dev/sd0a / ffs rw 1 1
/dev/sd0b none swap sw,dp 0 0
/dev/sd0d /usr ffs rw 1 2
kernfs /kern kernfs rw
ptyfs /dev/pts ptyfs rw
procfs /proc procfs rw

'rc_configured=YES' is enabled in rc.conf


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests