SAIC Galaxy 1100

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2071
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

SAIC Galaxy 1100

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue May 26, 2015 7:54 pm

Made a deal on one which doesn't show a screen, but does appear to power up and "do stuff." I strongly suspect the machine is actually in working order, and it does have an external video out.

These are basically HP 9000/712 systems in a portable MIL-SPEC case. Quite unusual. Pics when it arrives.

http://www.openpa.net/systems/saic_galaxy_1100.html
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

robespierre
Posts: 1551
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: SAIC Galaxy 1100

Unread postby robespierre » Wed May 27, 2015 3:35 am

there were several HP-PA SBCs on VME (or even something newer like TCA??) boards. ISTR they used wacky micro-D-sub connectors to fit on the narrow panel.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2071
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: SAIC Galaxy 1100

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sat May 30, 2015 6:08 pm

So it came today, a bit banged up (the seller did mention this -- I don't think this was shipping damage). Unfortunately, it starts rapidly blinking the front LED, which the 9000/712 service manual implies is a bad CPU or CPU board. (There is no battery on the board. That wouldn't cause this, I should think?)

However, the mainboard looks like a regular 9000/712 (/60 or /80, not /100), so it should be possible to just transplant one in. Anyone getting rid of one? The external video out puts out a perfectly good signal, so I suspect that once the CPU board is replaced, it will "just work."

Here's a picture.
http://www.floodgap.com/iv/2580
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: SAIC Galaxy 1100

Unread postby vishnu » Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:53 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:Here's a picture.
http://www.floodgap.com/iv/2580

Hey a closeup of that nameplate would be interesting! I've worked with SAIC on many projects over the years. The easiest way to describe them is to say they're basically the human equivalent of the Borg. Any technology you have that they don't, even if it's completely unrelated to what you're working on with them, they will assimilate it... :shock:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2071
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: SAIC Galaxy 1100

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:39 am

I'll post one tonight. I used to have a login to plash.saic.com back in the day. We ran a MUD off it. :P
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2071
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: SAIC Galaxy 1100

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:40 pm

Here's the badge, just for vishy.

IMG_20150530_151339.jpg
WE DON'T NEED NO STINKING BADGES AT SAIC
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2071
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: SAIC Galaxy 1100

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:26 am

So, a postscript. I got a 712/60 and gutted it. Turns out that the Galaxy board is reworked slightly to add an auxiliary connector to what looks like some of the PS/2 pins on the back, presumably for the internal keyboard and trackball, so I clipped the connector off the 712/60, soldered on leads to the same points and soldered them to the connector, then carefully wormed it into the guts of the laptop. It does now give a display on an external monitor, but it won't see any keyboard, even an external one. I'm not sure if there's a difference between the boards that meant I should have connected the leads elsewhere, and there is some difference in labeling on the two boards even though the solder points seem to be the same in that area, but the internal display doesn't work either, so I'm concluding the beating this thing took probably broke something else.

Anyway, in case anyone else runs across one of these and tries to fix it.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: SAIC Galaxy 1100

Unread postby vishnu » Sun Nov 15, 2015 4:56 pm

That sucks, those things were designed specifically for the purpose of being used on the battlefield and taking untoward beatings. Yet another SAIC product that failed to hit the mark. :|
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2071
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: SAIC Galaxy 1100

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:42 am

Yeah, this looked like someone took the wrong end of a hammer to the hinge.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest