Help with Tru64 and DNS

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
logix
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:57 am

Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby logix » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:00 pm

Hi!

I have installed Tru64 with patch kit 4 on a Alpha DS10L and so far so good, but i can't get DNS to work properly. I can ping adresses with the IP number but not use DNS. I have tried to set DNS in nsswitch.conf and svc.conf but with no luck, and i have nameserver x.x.x.x in resolv.conf

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby foetz » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:07 pm

please tell us how you set the network up on the alpha. e.g. local ip, gateway ip, dns ip ...

logix
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:57 am

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby logix » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:13 pm

i took a easy way with the network setup, did IFCONFIG_0="DYNAMIC" in rc.config and that seemed to work with dhcp. But i have tried to setup with sysman but i have no clue how to fix the dns problem i have.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby foetz » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:21 pm

first assign a static ip. then make sure you have the right default route and then try again

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby uunix » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:38 pm

There must also be a resolve.conf (or similar) so it knows how to resolve name to IP.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1661
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby smj » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:40 pm

Also make sure your netmask and broadcast address are being set correctly, whether your interface is being configured statically or via DHCP. For instance I use network 10 internally (e.g. hostA = 10.10.10.132) with a 24-bit netmask. Naive software, or a not-quite-right DHCP agent, might use the pre-CIDR* default netmask of 8-bits, which would cause all kinds of problems...




* Edit: Not using the class-based default netmask doesn't necessarily imply CIDR. We certainly used longer netmasks ("subnetting") on class A/B networks in the late 80s / early 90s...
Last edited by smj on Mon Jan 05, 2015 9:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby foetz » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:56 pm

uunix wrote:There must also be a resolve.conf

there is

logix
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:57 am

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby logix » Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:27 pm

ok i have setup the ip static now and redone all the network settings, and finally it can ping www.google.com :) thank you guys!
Time to dig in to the Tru64 world once again!

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby foetz » Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:27 pm

good to hear, have fun :D

logix
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:57 am

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby logix » Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:43 pm

By the way is it possible to get the latest/last patch kit 6? well it does not improve that much either way from patch kit 4 i'm using now.

tingo
Donor
Donor
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby tingo » Thu Jan 08, 2015 6:40 am

Since I've never had my fingers on a True64 machine: is the actual name resolve.conf? Or is it resolv.conf like in many other unixes?
Torfinn

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby uunix » Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:12 pm

my bad, it's normally resolv.conf
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Alver
Posts: 773
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Wetteren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Help with Tru64 and DNS

Unread postby Alver » Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:33 am

logix wrote:By the way is it possible to get the latest/last patch kit 6? well it does not improve that much either way from patch kit 4 i'm using now.

It is definitely possible to find it... but you'd have to ask the right people on the right IRC channel :) unless you have a 5.1b4 kit from the (now deceased) Tru64 Hobbyist program, you still need a valid support contract to get it via the official channels.
while (!asleep()) sheep++;


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest