booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:46 am

I didn't get much traction on cctalk, so maybe someone here knows. I got an external SCSI cable for my VAXstation 3100 M76 and connected it to my old Apple SCSI CD-ROM that boots pretty much anything in my collection (Apple, SGI, you name it). I popped in OpenVMS 7.3, turned on the VAXsta, and at the chevron prompt,

Code: Select all

>>> b/r5:10000000 dkb500:

-DKB500
[...]
   OpenVMS (TM) VAX Version X7G7 Major version id = 1 Minor version id = 0
[...]
PLEASE ENTER DATE AND TIME (DD-MM-YYYY  HH:MM): 13-JAN-2013 16:14
[...]
%SYSTEM-I-MOUNTVER, DKB500: is offline. Mount verification in progress.

It just sits there. So I tried it without the /r5 bit:

Code: Select all

>>> b dkb500:

-DKB500
[...]
   OpenVMS (TM) VAX Version X7G7 Major version id = 1 Minor version id = 0
[...]
PLEASE ENTER DATE AND TIME (DD-MM-YYYY  HH:MM): 13-JAN-2013 16:20

Configuring devices . . .

Available device: DKB500:                         device type SONY CD-ROM CDU-8

Available device: DKA0:                           device type RZ26
%BACKUP-I-IDENT, Stand-alone BACKUP V7.2; the date is 13-JAN-2013 16:21:06.64
$


So far so good.

Code: Select all

$ BACKUP/IMAGE/VERIFY DKB500:VMS073.B/SAVE_SET DKA0:
%SYSTEM-I-MOUNTVER, SABKUP$DKB500: is offline. Mount verification in progress.

And it just sits there, again.

I'd rather use an external drive than pop the top off the VAX, but I'm quite sure the CD-ROM is acceptable to it; why would it boot from it, but not restore from it? I tried a 7.2 CD and got the same thing.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby smj » Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:49 pm

I'm afraid I'm posting mostly to offer moral support - I don't recall an issue with the Apple CD-ROM drives, but I was probably using them with DECstations rather than VAXstations. I was just gifted with a VAXstation 3100/m76 (gave a bunch away, but this came with a NeXTstation), but I'm not sure how quickly I can get to trying to set it up.

One question, which media are you using? By any chance, a CD-R that you burned? Just prompted to ask by the reminder about CD-R compatibility in commodorejohn's VS4000/m60 thread... I realize it's booting, but you never know.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
commodorejohn
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby commodorejohn » Sat Feb 02, 2013 1:30 pm

I've used old Apple SCSI CD-ROM drives with CD-Rs before and never had an issue, myself...not on the VAX, tho.
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/HS-80/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/M1, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Emax HD/Proteus-2, Casio CZ-5000, Moog Satellite, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sat Feb 02, 2013 7:43 pm

It's a CD-R, but like I say, why would it *boot* from it (which you would think would be stickier), but won't restore from it?

I suppose I'll have to drag it on the workbench but it's going to be a pain in the butt since I found it a nice corner and I'll have to move everything around.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby SAQ » Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:39 pm

Can't recall specifics, but I'm looking at an old Apple CD-ROM here that I marked "No VAX" on. Can't say why, but it must not have worked. I use an XM-4101 for DASD VAX installs.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:43 am

Hmm, okay. I'll drag it onto the bench and try it with the Plextor I got with it.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

zuluchas
Donor
Donor
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 10:41 am
Location: Washington, DC, USA

Re: booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby zuluchas » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:01 pm

You can also mopboot it off of simh. Then mount the CD from across the cluster and install to the local dusk.
:A350R: :Onyx2: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :O3x0: :Indy:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:14 am

Ooh. Is there a step by step guide for that? I do have SIMH on my G5.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Thu Feb 20, 2014 4:44 pm

As a late followup to this, the original reason why I was trying to reinstall OpenVMS was because it kept panicking the kernel when I would try to get into DCL. I asked the person I bought it from and they said it had been working fine for them, so I figured software must be to blame.

A couple weeks ago I managed to get it hooked up on the bench to a Toshiba drive that claimed to be bootable by the VS and that, indeed, did boot OpenVMS and I was able to install 7.3 and then rebooted for the final time and ... it panicked.

TEST 50 shows that the Ethernet controller seems to be faulty and that, I guess, is enough to whack OpenVMS. I didn't bother seeing if I could disable it because the machine is not much good without a working NIC. I was very fortunate to land another, fully loaded, VAXsta M76 which should be on its way to me as we speak.

Anyway, it just looks like it's very picky about the CD-ROMs it uses. The Apple drive was detected as a Sony (it is), but the Toshiba XM-5301B was detected as a real DEC RRD-xx series drive, which makes sense since I think Toshiba was the DEC OEM.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: booting a sick VAXsta 3100/M76

Unread postby SAQ » Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:11 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:As a late followup to this, the original reason why I was trying to reinstall OpenVMS was because it kept panicking the kernel when I would try to get into DCL. I asked the person I bought it from and they said it had been working fine for them, so I figured software must be to blame.

A couple weeks ago I managed to get it hooked up on the bench to a Toshiba drive that claimed to be bootable by the VS and that, indeed, did boot OpenVMS and I was able to install 7.3 and then rebooted for the final time and ... it panicked.

TEST 50 shows that the Ethernet controller seems to be faulty and that, I guess, is enough to whack OpenVMS. I didn't bother seeing if I could disable it because the machine is not much good without a working NIC. I was very fortunate to land another, fully loaded, VAXsta M76 which should be on its way to me as we speak.

Anyway, it just looks like it's very picky about the CD-ROMs it uses. The Apple drive was detected as a Sony (it is), but the Toshiba XM-5301B was detected as a real DEC RRD-xx series drive, which makes sense since I think Toshiba was the DEC OEM.


I've got one of the old Toshibas with the "0" and "1" pads to select firmware for many systems (SGI, DEC, Sun, etc.) Wired up to some switches it's a great setup for misc. old boxes.

XM-4101 (Sun SL-CD is one of these) seems to be the most durable of the Toshiba line. I've had 3101s fail, but never 4101s.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest