Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
edikat
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby edikat » Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:37 am

I'll post the link until I can get image inline :)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HP-Proliant-DL560-G1-4x-Intel-Xeon-2-0Ghz-4GB-Server-2-/330583240810?pt=UK_Computing_Networking_SM&hash=item4cf84bf06a#ht_5395wt_1045

So.. Quad 2GHZ CPU in a 2U package with 4GB and a PCI-X RAID card... for £40+postage = total less than a hundred bucks

I guess it be loud... even under my Bed where it's gonna hide :( :(

But I urgently needed cheap CPU power (and plenty of it) for a lot of computation I need to do with XML (on an UltraSPARC IIIi 1.06GHZ Blade 1500 it's taking 4.5 hours to process one command line XML program written in php).

I want to get that 4.5 hours down to under 30 minutes :)

I have optimised the program as much as I can (can't do anything about the crap slow XML lib...)

My question guys is....

php is single threaded so the task is going to be bound to one thread execution unit on one CPU (out of the 4 units available on 4 Xeons).

So does that mean the other 7 units are wasted? Well I know OS and stuff (MySQL) will use some but they are low demand tasks...

I think may be 1 x 3GHZ Pentium 4 would have been faster!?

Advice needed :)
Last edited by edikat on Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Scud" East
Sun Blade 2500 'Silver' Workstation - Dual 1.6 USIIIi, 4GB, 146GB SCSI, Solaris 10U9
Sun V210, 2x1.33 USIIIi, 8GB, 73GB 15K, Solaris 10U9
Sun V100, USIIi 550, 1.5GB, 40GB, Debian Lenny 5.X

mmk
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:13 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby mmk » Tue Sep 20, 2011 10:21 am

A single or perhaps a dual CPU box would indeed have been more 'correct' for that job of yours but can't beat of the cool factor of having those additional processors :)

Perhaps once you've actually seen what's in the box you might be able to source a cheap faster replacement CPU to use for this particular purpose. Whatever you do with the hardware it sounds unlikely that 270 minutes will drop to 30. At least not for this kind of money :P
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :O200: :O3x0: :Onyx2R:

User avatar
edikat
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby edikat » Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:33 pm

It's actually the smallest and least power consuming Quad CPU box out there.. at least amongst the old stuff (this is a 2002/2003 model).

Max CPU option is 3GHZ (x4=12GHZ) compared to my 2GHZ (x4=8GHZ) so 33% faster - but also larger L3 cache (4MB) vs the 1GB L3 on the 2GHZ I have.

Still as you say mmk - it is uber cool! **** the correctness!!!

But.. it was purchased for a task... and it was also the most powerful box available for under £50 (it was either that or a Dual 3GHZ machine). I am concerned though that the Dual 3GHZ were probably HT processors = 2 thread units = 2 CPU x 2 thread units = effectively 4 CPU = what I purchased anyhow.

I checked the DL560 specs and the Xeons were single thread units... (not HT)... damn I thought all P4 class Xeons were HT!!!

I will post a video of the grand "opening" in the next few days on youtube so we can all see how loud it's gonna be.
"Scud" East
Sun Blade 2500 'Silver' Workstation - Dual 1.6 USIIIi, 4GB, 146GB SCSI, Solaris 10U9
Sun V210, 2x1.33 USIIIi, 8GB, 73GB 15K, Solaris 10U9
Sun V100, USIIi 550, 1.5GB, 40GB, Debian Lenny 5.X

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby SAQ » Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:28 pm

edikat wrote:... 3GHZ (x4=12GHZ) compared to my 2GHZ (x4=8GHZ) so 33% faster...


Best not to think that way. Tempting, but it never works out quite like that.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
Alver
Posts: 773
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Wetteren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby Alver » Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:40 am

edikat wrote:But I urgently needed cheap CPU power (and plenty of it) for a lot of computation I need to do with XML (on an UltraSPARC IIIi 1.06GHZ Blade 1500 it's taking 4.5 hours to process one command line XML program written in php).


The real question is... why on earth do you do that in *PHP*? I can't think of any language I'd prefer *less* for doing that :)
while (!asleep()) sheep++;

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby porter » Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:10 pm

1. Move to a true compiled language, C, C++ even Pascal or COBOL.

2. Are you using SAX or DOM? Each has pros and cons. SAX means you don't have to load it all up first and processing may be done in parallel with reading, but you are dependent on the element orderings. DOM you have to read everything, but it's all there.

3. Split the XML parsing from the business logic, ideally with a sensibile intermediate so you can have the two in separate processes in a pipeline.

4. Did I mention use a decent language?
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
edikat
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby edikat » Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:18 am

The real question is... why on earth do you do that in *PHP*? I can't think of any language I'd prefer *less* for doing that
while (!asleep()) sheep++;

I know... but it was quick and easy and I had familiarity with the XML library...

1. Move to a true compiled language, C, C++ even Pascal or COBOL
.
I might move to Erlang or C... I'm doing some Erlang and it's pretty cool, but I know C reasonably well and can code fast...

2. Are you using SAX or DOM? Each has pros and cons. SAX means you don't have to load it all up first and processing may be done in parallel with reading, but you are dependent on the element orderings. DOM you have to read everything, but it's all there.

Not sure as the library methods are hidden...

3. Split the XML parsing from the business logic, ideally with a sensibile intermediate so you can have the two in separate processes in a pipeline.

Done this... and have split so that the php processes are bound to separate threads/processors... so I have four parallel php threads on the DL560.... has helped a little.. but some processes are inter-dependent and must be executed synchronously.

4. Did I mention use a decent language?

Yeh... :)

Thanks guys!

On another note can anybody ID the cards on the lower server for me? (I know what the NIC one is:))

Image
"Scud" East
Sun Blade 2500 'Silver' Workstation - Dual 1.6 USIIIi, 4GB, 146GB SCSI, Solaris 10U9
Sun V210, 2x1.33 USIIIi, 8GB, 73GB 15K, Solaris 10U9
Sun V100, USIIi 550, 1.5GB, 40GB, Debian Lenny 5.X

mmk
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:13 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby mmk » Sat Sep 24, 2011 7:32 am

Looks like two 2gbit Fibre Channel cards...If I had to guess, probably Qlogic 2340 based on some additional googling :)
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :O200: :O3x0: :Onyx2R:

User avatar
edikat
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby edikat » Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:17 am

thanks mmk
I just purchased these 2 servers (faulty) for spares... hope to get lots of stuff from them!
£25 + £15 for both
at least get some spare ram, processors, PSU and 36GB 15K U320 disks.... maybe a U320 card from the top server (to replace my U3 card)
Keep me in spares for some time :)

Just had a "pop" and smoke.. and one of my DL560 PSU went south only hours after starting the server! So spares are going to be useful!
"Scud" East
Sun Blade 2500 'Silver' Workstation - Dual 1.6 USIIIi, 4GB, 146GB SCSI, Solaris 10U9
Sun V210, 2x1.33 USIIIi, 8GB, 73GB 15K, Solaris 10U9
Sun V100, USIIi 550, 1.5GB, 40GB, Debian Lenny 5.X

User avatar
PiZzA EnGiNeEr
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:09 pm
Location: Cambridge, MA
Contact:

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby PiZzA EnGiNeEr » Fri Sep 30, 2011 9:31 am

Top SCSI board looks like a Smart array 6400 that someone removed the 2ch addon on. The other with the square connector are the Qlogic HBA boards for probably connecting to a SAN. Those are some nice servers. We have older Proliants and they just don't quit. You can grab the HP Firmware update CD/DVD off HP's site to get them up to date (BIOS, Smart array firmware,etc) and they have the Smart start CDs too if if you ever need to do an automated install for Windows/Linux.

User avatar
edikat
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby edikat » Sat Oct 01, 2011 1:29 pm

Thanks

Yes, received both "faulty" servers. After reseating PSU cage, PCI-X cage, and replugging in the cables, the "faults" seem to have cleared themselves and I have another two *working* DL560's (so three in total!). Initially they were showing amber faults on all 4 CPU's, one didn't come out of standby and the other indicated a red server fault light on the front panel.

The only issue I have is one of the boards indicates on bootup a CPU#4 failure. Swapping CPU/VRM's still gave the same #4 issue so I am puzzled as to why this occurs. Could the socket supporting circuitry be faulty?

As for the boards a strip revealed all. A 6400-192, 2xQLogic Boards, a Gigabit NIC and a LS1030 U320 controller. My inital machine had a 5312-128.

The machines are fantastic. With the HP RHEL5 hp-health software the fans purr along very quietly - well for a Quad CPU box... bearable to work with in the same room without issues.

So, Quad CPU 3GHZ Hyper-threaded machine from 2002.... still can handle todays stuff well.
"Scud" East
Sun Blade 2500 'Silver' Workstation - Dual 1.6 USIIIi, 4GB, 146GB SCSI, Solaris 10U9
Sun V210, 2x1.33 USIIIi, 8GB, 73GB 15K, Solaris 10U9
Sun V100, USIIi 550, 1.5GB, 40GB, Debian Lenny 5.X

User avatar
mattst88
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:54 am
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Contact:

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby mattst88 » Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:08 pm

I don't understand. These don't seem like interesting systems at all.
My computers (incomplete)

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:03 pm

mattst88 wrote:I don't understand. These don't seem like interesting systems at all.


Not interesting in the "I want to sit down and figure out how they did this" sort of way, but good for when you want to get stuff done quickly and cheaply. A KL10 is a neat machine, but when you just want an answer fast...
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
edikat
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby edikat » Sat Oct 08, 2011 3:57 pm

I don't understand. These don't seem like interesting systems at all.


I think for around $100-$200 (ebay pricing) you cannot buy a faster (= won't crack under load) general purpose computing platform. Utility value vs coolness (although QUAD is cool :))

Remember, 8 x 3GHZ threads, especially when you can make use of all the threads is still pretty neat today, and in a *quiet* (with appropriate drivers) 2U box with a RAID controller and 2 x 73GB U320 (can take I think 2x300GB) it is plenty powerful.

Is it sexy? Not as much as my Suns... but in its own way it's a rather neat box and I'm kinda growing to like them.

I'm running CentOS 5.6 with a GIS server (PostgresSQL), Apache, MySQL, PHP, python, and bash scripts, all pretty I/O and CPU intensive the way I am using them in parallel with 4-5 threads at 100% CPU and can still throw more stuff at it (such as running a few compilations..).

This 2003 box is still a mini powerhouse :)
"Scud" East
Sun Blade 2500 'Silver' Workstation - Dual 1.6 USIIIi, 4GB, 146GB SCSI, Solaris 10U9
Sun V210, 2x1.33 USIIIi, 8GB, 73GB 15K, Solaris 10U9
Sun V100, USIIi 550, 1.5GB, 40GB, Debian Lenny 5.X

User avatar
mattst88
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:54 am
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Contact:

Re: Just went mad and got a DL560 from eBay...

Unread postby mattst88 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 5:27 pm

edikat wrote:This 2003 box is still a mini powerhouse :)


And there's part of the problem. I'm guessing that these are these CPUs, in which case, they're terrible netburst P4s built at 130 nm.

They might have cost <$200 on eBay, but the reason is because of their cost to power and cool.

You'd have been better off getting something like a relatively modern Athlon 64 system.
My computers (incomplete)


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest