Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:14 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 496
Location: Laurel, MD USA
So I ended up getting a DS20 motherboard, 2 500mhz CPUs and 4gb of ram. Does any one have a DS20 that can take a picture of the wiring between the power supply, the cpu modules and the motherboard? Or is there a detailed guide out there?

I was going to use a spare 600w Antec ATX/EATX power supply I had, but now I am thinking that might have been wishful thinking. It's pretty clear where the 24pin goes and the 8pin towards the top right of the board, pretty standard pinouts. But the 16 pin connector below the CPU module for 5v power seems unique in addition to the 18 pin on the actual cpu modules.

Also for the life of me, I can't find the pins for the on switch. I found the power led, reset, scsi led, hdd led, the speaker and a bunch of fan pins, but no power switch pins.

I guess it might have been better to simply hold out for a DS20 in a chassis for a reasonable price, but I still haven't seen any.

_________________
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 538
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
I don't know about the DS20, but the AlphaPC:s don't have a soft power switch on the motherboard; you have to do something called an "engineering fix" and ground the soft power lead in order to use an ATX powersupply (however the connector is otherwise the same). This is sometimes done by soldering a bridge on the back of the connector or just cutting the green wire and sticking it to the ground next to it.

With my scant alpha knowedge I still suspect you might run into difficulties adapting an ATX supply for a DS20.

_________________
:Octane: halo, octane
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 496
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Yeah I am sensing that too, my search for a DS20 chassis continues...

Thanks though!

_________________
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 6:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 496
Location: Laurel, MD USA
So I got the board yesterday, realized there were several "proprietary" power connectors on the board itself. It has the standard 24pin and 8 pin found on most boards these days, but then on each CPU has a power connector.

I took pictures just now in case any one is curious:

Image

Image

Image

_________________
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
I have a pair of DS20s downstairs, not terribly accessible. I could give one up, but I believe cross-country shipping would be prohibitive. However if pictures would be helpful, I can put that on the To Do list...

_________________
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 496
Location: Laurel, MD USA
smj wrote:
I have a pair of DS20s downstairs, not terribly accessible. I could give one up, but I believe cross-country shipping would be prohibitive. However if pictures would be helpful, I can put that on the To Do list...


Yeah shipping on it would be expensive, I am actively looking for a C# Winform/WPF position out in San Jose/Santa Clara so maybe I could just pick it up from you if a gig comes through :)

_________________
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 496
Location: Laurel, MD USA
I found a cheap DS20e on eBay, I'll report back my findings after I swap in my parts. Am I reading the manual right in that Windows NT can't be run on the DS20E, only the DS20?

_________________
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group