What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
Contact:

What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:18 pm

I will post the config of my AlphaServer DS20e and AlphaServer 800 5/550, and J5600 if there responses in this thread.

R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby porter » Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:34 pm

Is that a threat or promise?

HP-9000 D370 and DEC AS-400. Plus various HP PCs.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
GL1zdA
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:18 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby GL1zdA » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:03 am

If a custom Alpha PC counts as DEC than this is mine:
:arrow: Alpha 21164 533 MHz
:arrow: AlphaPC 164LX motherboard
:arrow: 4x256 MB ECC RAM
:arrow: ELSA GLoria Synergy (Permedia 2 + 8 MB RAM)
:arrow: Symbios Logic 53C875 SCSI
:arrow: Plextor Ultraplex 40 max
:arrow: A ATAPI DVD and a SCSI HDD
:arrow: digital DE500-BA NIC
:arrow: ATX Tower
:arrow: dual booting NT 4.0 and Debian Lenny.
Both OSs run well, I managed to find a nice collection of AlphaNT software including most versions of Visual C++ and Office 97. Still looking for some 3D software.

I also have a HP Apollo 715/50, hopefully I will install NextSTEP there some time in the future.
Last edited by GL1zdA on Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Fuel: :540: Image

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:21 am

porter wrote:Is that a threat or promise?


Did I sound like that...? I've been trying to deal with difficult people all day, fortunately I have management support all the up the chain to the regional level.

R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.

ramq
Posts: 771
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:06 am
Location: Sweden

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby ramq » Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:37 am

I've got an nicely configured AlphaServer DS15 collecting dust.
Other than that I'm running low on non-SGI stuff, if you don't calculate the Mac- and PC-stuff.
:O3200: :Fuel: :Indy: :O3x02L:

Pontus
Posts: 604
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby Pontus » Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:24 am

Does things branded d|i|g|i|t|a|l count or are we only talking about later DEC stuff?

I have (what I remember now)

DEC AXP 5000 (model 400 or 500)
AlphaStation 200
AlphaStation 255
AlphaStation XP900
AlphaServer DS10
AlphaServer ES45

EDIT: I see we are doing digital stuff as well:

PDP-8/e (with TU56, PC04)
PDP-11/23, 11/34, 11/44 (with RL01, RL02, RX02)
VAX-11/750 (with RA81, RA72)
MicroVAX 3300, 3500, 3800 (With R215f disk expansions)
Vaxstation 2000, 3100, 4000/vlc, 4000/90 (with storage expansions)
DECsystem5500
DECstation 5000/150, 5000/120

People seem to have quite a bit of gear, perhaps we should setup a DECchan :) (or just keep it here)

Edit: Ah, people also list terminals, I will too :)

vt125
vt220
vt320
vt420
vt510
DECserver 100
Last edited by Pontus on Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:17 am, edited 3 times in total.
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se

User avatar
theinonen
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Finland

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby theinonen » Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:08 am

I currently have at least these:

AS2100
AS4100
XP1000
ES40

User avatar
mila
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:20 am
Location: Bålsta, Sweden

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby mila » Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:47 am

I had PDP11/23, 11/35 11/40 with pleanty of disks and alot of DEC VT100 in my apartment before I got married some 15 years ago now I have a wife and kids in a big house and no PDP :) :)
--
No Microsoft product was used in any way to write or send this text.
If you use a Microsoft product to read it, you're doing so at your own
risk.

SAQ
Posts: 5758
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby SAQ » Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:46 pm

VAX 4000 model 200 with 32MB and HSD05. OpenVMS

VAXstation 3100 model 76 32MB/1.0whatever-is-the-max-for-ovms GB. OpenVMS

VAXstation 4000 model 60 92MB/4GB. OpenVMS.

Personal DECstation 5000/25. Nothing permanent yet.

DEC3000 model 300X, 192MB, 4GB (considering trying to hack in a DECchip 21064A/275 for speed boost) OpenVMS.

DIGITAL Multia VX42. 128MB, no drive (uses SCSI laptop drives, so external drive is the way to go).

AlphaServer 1000A 5/333, 384MB/many drives. Permedia3 graphics OpenVMS, Tru64, Digital UNIX, Alpha Linux (should be BSD, working on changing that).

AlphaPC 164 with 500MHz 21164 and 256MB RAM. No OS yet.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:32 pm

Been wanting to run Win2k3 on my RX just for giggles but finding it is rather difficult...

Anyway my PA-RISC/HPPA boxes:
712/60
C200
J5600 x2
C8000

Itanium/Itanium2:
RX2600 w/AGP riser

x86-64
XW8400
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby kjaer » Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:46 am

Hoo boy.

Nothing special:
Compaq Portable, Portable II, Deskpro 286, Deskpro 590/XL (two, why?), Proliant 1850R, Vectra XU 6/200

Otherwise:
Deskpro 386 (the 16 MHz first-generation one that beat IBM to market)
Proliant 5000 (rackmount, quad 200 MHz PPro/1M, 1GB RAM, I used this as a build host for a LFS dev project about eight years ago)

VT100, VT101
MicroPDP 11/73

VAXstation 3100 m38, m76 SPX
VAXstation 4000/90 (2x)

Ultimate Workstation 533au2 (AS1200)
AlphaServer 4100 (4x 600 MHz), DS20e

OmniGo 120 (whoopee)

Integral Personal Computer

HP3000 917LX, 928LX
HP9000 310, 345, 360, 380, 712/100, 715/50 (2x), 715/75, 715/80 (2x), 715/100, 720/50, 735/99, 735/125, B160 (2x), C110, C180, C240, C360

HP zx2000
Last edited by kjaer on Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

emgaron
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:18 am
Location: Lansingerland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby emgaron » Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:53 am

Hm - does a lowly Digital Multia VX40 count? Still waiting for some TLC (battery dead), though, since I pulled it out of a dumpster (the same one I got my two I2 from...) about a year ago.

Other than that I only have the two HP Kayak PCs (XM600/XU800)... 8-)
Hooked up: :Octane: [R12k/400, V6] :Indigo2IMP: [R10k/195, HI] :Indy: [R5k/180, XL24] :Indy: [R5k/150, -];
Sun U60/2x450, U10/440, U2/2x200, AXi/440; some PCs
In storage: :O2: [R10k/195] :O2: [R10k/150] :Indigo2IMP: [R4k4/250, SI]; DEC VX40;
Sun SS1/1+/2/4/5/10/20/ELC/IPC/IPX/Classic/LX/Classic X/Xterminal 1, U1/1E/5/30, JS1/NC;
DTK Station U-2/2x360; Apple iMac DV G3/400; Toshiba Libretto 110CT + even more PCs

User avatar
jan-jaap
Posts: 4065
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby jan-jaap » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:35 am

kjaer wrote:Nothing special:
Compaq Portable, Portable II

First PC I ever saw was when my father brought home a Compaq Portable. Green CRT, dual 5.25" floppy drives, some ancient Compaq DOS version, and Lotus 1-2-3. Very heavy, trunk like.

Later on we got a different Compaq "portable", with an amber flat screen (not a TFT, I think it was plasma?). It still had an XT CPU, so that was probably the Portable-II. IIRC, that one had a 20MB harddisk...

I don't have any HP/DEC/Compaq systems anymore. I used to have a HP 712/60 (?), gave it away. I sold my last Alphas last year. Now I only have SGIs. Lots of them :)
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)

User avatar
tgc99
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:21 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby tgc99 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 5:41 am

I aquired a bunch of VAX machines some 10 years ago now.

DEC:
VAXstation 3100m30 (x4)
VAXstation 3100m38 SPX (SPX board came from the broken m76)
VAXstation 3100m76 (broken)
VAXstation 4000m60
VAXstation 4000m90 (80Mb RAM)
VAXserver 3100m??
VXT2000+

Associated hardware like VR299 monitor (x3), VRT19 monitor, VT520, VT420, VT240 (x2), a couple of expansion boxes, DECserver 200MC (x8) and a ton of LK201s.

Most of the stuff is in storage only the two VS4Ks and m38 are setup since I can then do with just the VT520 on my desk.

And my Alpha:
Personal Workstation 433a (original 433mhz cpu, 2Mb cache board, Powerstorm 4D40T gfx)
I have no copy of Tru64 to go with it so it's been running Linux with a Radeon 7000 PCI card for gfx.

HP:
HP Visualize C160 (512Mb RAM)

Compaq (PCs):
Deskpro ENS/500
Deskpro ENS/933 (mostly retired Solaris 8 buildhost)
Evo D5S (1.5Ghz P4, WinXP)
Evo D51S (2.53Ghz P4, runs Vista)

These days the Evo D51S is actually the one I use most out of the lot.

-tgc
:PI: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane:

Pontus
Posts: 604
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby Pontus » Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:24 am

tgc99 wrote:Associated hardware like VR299 monitor (x3), VRT19 monitor, VT520, VT420, VT240 (x2), a couple of expansion boxes, DECserver 200MC (x8) and a ton of LK201s.


That is a bunch of DECservers! Would you consider parting with one or two?
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest