What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
GL1zdA
Donor
Donor
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:18 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby GL1zdA » Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:28 am

kjaer wrote: Deskpro 590/XL (two, why?)

Actually, these are very nice PCs, very well built (not as good as PS/2s though). I have a Deskpro XL 560 and all parts for a Deskpro XL 133 (except the metal case). They have this Compaq Triflex architecture, with both PCI and EISA slots. Integrated SCSI, NIC make it a really nice workstation (for its time). Personally I use it to run Windows NT 3.1 (but I had to use an Adaptec 2490 SCSI controller, there are no NT 3.1 drivers for the integrated one).
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Fuel: :540:

ramq
Posts: 771
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:06 am
Location: Sweden

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby ramq » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:13 am

Pontus wrote:That is a bunch of DECservers! Would you consider parting with one or two?

You kidding? I've thrown stacks of them several years ago...

At some time I adored Annex serial servers cause of their ability to boot either through TCP/IP or flash card.
:O3200: :Fuel: :Indy: :O3x02L:

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:52 am

Forgot the non-DEC stuff:

HP 9000 C180
HP 9000 B1000L
HP 9000 G70 SMP


HP 9000/425 (last series of the true Apollos, this one runs DOMAIN/os SR10.4.1)

Compaq Deskpro 386/25 (with original drive, still working).

one or two modernish HP PCs not worth digging up the info on. P-4 era type stuff.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

Pontus
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby Pontus » Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:47 am

ramq wrote:
Pontus wrote:That is a bunch of DECservers! Would you consider parting with one or two?

You kidding? I've thrown stacks of them several years ago...

At some time I adored Annex serial servers cause of their ability to boot either through TCP/IP or flash card.


Nope, nice to have when playing with a lot of DEC gear. Or any gear with a serial console.
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Crimson: :4D310: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :320: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se

User avatar
tgc99
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:21 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby tgc99 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:19 am

Pontus wrote:
tgc99 wrote:Associated hardware like VR299 monitor (x3), VRT19 monitor, VT520, VT420, VT240 (x2), a couple of expansion boxes, DECserver 200MC (x8) and a ton of LK201s.

That is a bunch of DECservers! Would you consider parting with one or two?

Well they're completely untested so not sure what their state is.
I will have to go through them at some point to find a few working ones to keep before throwing them out, I'll keep you in mind.

You're aware that this is the model with DB25 connectors instead of MMJ, right?
Also they only speak LAT so their usefulness is a bit limited.

-tgc
:PI: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane:

Pontus
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby Pontus » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:21 am

tgc99 wrote:
Pontus wrote:
tgc99 wrote:Associated hardware like VR299 monitor (x3), VRT19 monitor, VT520, VT420, VT240 (x2), a couple of expansion boxes, DECserver 200MC (x8) and a ton of LK201s.

That is a bunch of DECservers! Would you consider parting with one or two?

Well they're completely untested so not sure what their state is.
I will have to go through them at some point to find a few working ones to keep before throwing them out, I'll keep you in mind.

You're aware that this is the model with DB25 connectors instead of MMJ, right?
Also they only speak LAT so their usefulness is a bit limited.

-tgc


Thanks! I know exactly which model it is, I used one at the computer club just a week or two ago.
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Crimson: :4D310: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :320: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1661
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby smj » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:26 pm

All right, why not? Working from memory as most of this is in storage...

DEC Terminals
VT100
VT220 (several)
VT420
VT510

DEC Micros
VT180 "Robin" w/ 4 disk drives
Rainbow, w/ HDD & RX50
Pro 350
"VAX Console" badged Pro 380

PDP-11
VT103 w/ Qbus & external disk/tape system
PDT-11/150, 2 x RX01 & 6(?) serial ports
MicroPDP-11/73 in BA123 (all the parts, not assembled)
PDP-11/44 w/ RA60 & RL02

VAX
VAX-11/730, was a RL02+R80 config, but I ditched the R80 due to bad sectors.
MicroVAX 2000
MicroVAX 3400
VAXstation 3100s (30, 76)
MicroVAX 3100 model 30? (the ~5 VUPS SoC model)
VAXstation 4000 model 60
VAX 4000 model 500
KA650 and KA655 (MV 3 and MV3800) boardsets

MIPS
DECstation 3100s
DECstation 5000/200
DECstation 5000/240
DECstation 5000/260

Alpha
DECstation 3000 model 300LX (couple)
Multia UDB (not working)
Personal Workstation (pair)
Alphastation 1200 (not working)
Aspen server, 21164 @ 600MHz in a 4U box
AlphaServer DS20E (pair) - 2 x 667MHz
Compaq XP1000

HP Workstations
HP 9000/375
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby guardian452 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:30 pm

A dual 290 xw9300 and a turion ml-32 dv8000. as well as a couple odd deskpros in the basement.
DSC02888.JPG

DSC02891.JPG

and...
DSC08356_small.JPG

a pimpin alphastation 600 5/333 complete with 128meg of ram and 8 plane framebuffer card. !
Last edited by guardian452 on Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1661
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby smj » Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:27 pm

@sybrfreq: That's one awesome Alphastation! I wonder how I could apply that to the side panels of a "low boy" corporate cabinet. 'Coz, you know, an 11/730 really needs all the help it can get...

@eMGee: Yeah, well, it sortof sneaks up on you over the years when you spend your money unwisely. I really need to consolidate the two storage locations and reduce monthly payments...
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:33 pm

eMGee wrote:
D-EJ915 wrote:Been wanting to run Win2k3 on my RX just for giggles but finding it is rather difficult...

There's also Windows 2008 R2, strangely enough even supported on the current Itanium 9300 systems. I installed it once, I never saw Windows install so fast. It was literally done, from the begin (partitioning, EFI boot preparation, etc.) to the end, in three or five minutes at most!

I tried to install that once but I had to unpack about a million drivers to do so then it wanted a bigger disk than I was willing to give it, don't know why it only "requires" 10GB or whatever but won't let you install on an 18GB disk...
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:10 pm

eMGee wrote:
D-EJ915 wrote:I tried to install that once but I had to unpack about a million drivers to do so then it wanted a bigger disk than I was willing to give it, don't know why it only "requires" 10GB or whatever but won't let you install on an 18GB disk...

Oh wait, I think I remember you told me about this in the IRC channel once.

I wouldn't be surprised. I'm still confused why they couldn't manage to fit all the required drivers for all IA64 systems onto the DVD...
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:

Pontus
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby Pontus » Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:42 am

Ah, so we are listing terminals as well :) I've gone back an updated my post with some extra information.

I've added a link to my homepage in my signature, there you can see pictures of my stuff.
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Crimson: :4D310: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :320: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby SAQ » Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:50 am

D-EJ915 wrote:
eMGee wrote:
D-EJ915 wrote:I tried to install that once but I had to unpack about a million drivers to do so then it wanted a bigger disk than I was willing to give it, don't know why it only "requires" 10GB or whatever but won't let you install on an 18GB disk...

Oh wait, I think I remember you told me about this in the IRC channel once.

I wouldn't be surprised. I'm still confused why they couldn't manage to fit all the required drivers for all IA64 systems onto the DVD...


Because they didn't care about it?
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
skywriter
Posts: 3290
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:22 am
Location: Trump-proof bunker
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby skywriter » Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:12 am

I used to have an 11/750, ra81, tu80, and a microvax 2000.
Can't find decsystem-1020 gear anymore, which is what I really loved. The emulator isn't the same thing, although it's nice to run tops-20 now and again.
:Skywriter:

DECUS Member 368596

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby SAQ » Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:46 am

skywriter wrote:I used to have an 11/750, ra81, tu80, and a microvax 2000.
Can't find decsystem-1020 gear anymore, which is what I really loved. The emulator isn't the same thing, although it's nice to run tops-20 now and again.


If it weren't for the size, power use and rarity/price/difficulty to maintain a KL10 or KS10 would certainly be fun.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests