What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
grog_
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:37 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby grog_ » Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:42 pm

HP Visualize C3600 with HP-UX 11.0 and some scsi accessories
Attachments
156036_1599763367063_1625400763_1369771_3218534_n.jpg
155865_1599749846725_1625400763_1369754_838786_n.jpg
155274_1599760606994_1625400763_1369770_3416131_n.jpg
:Octane2: pearl 2xR12K @ 400Mhz, 2GB RAM, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
Ebbi
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:20 am
Location: South of Germany

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby Ebbi » Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:43 pm

Pontus wrote:
paulfred wrote:Just got a HP C8000 :D

There are a handful of those going on a Swedish auction site for about 400$, is that a decent price?

Definitely not!
Here in Germany there are currently loads of them, which sell between 20 and 50€ plus shipping, depending on the configuration.

User avatar
duck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby duck » Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:11 pm

I'll toss mine in here too...

AlphaPC164, the case is not original (did these even have those?) and it currently lives in a 4U PC rackmount case as my shell/web/mail server. CPU is 500MHz 21164A-2, 256MB RAM, ISP1040 to a LTO-1 tape drive and a disk to boot off, and ISP1080 connected to a HP MSA30 disk array (some 9 and 18GB disks for scratch and a raid5 of 6x36GB). 21143 farallon-branded NIC.

I also have a vt420, gray unfortunately, not the amber.

User avatar
urbancamo
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: Windermere, UK
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby urbancamo » Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:24 pm

Uh, I seem to have accumulated a few machines over the past few years:

2 x VAXstation 4000/90, 1 x VAXstation 4000/60
VAXstation 4000/VLC
DEC 3000/600 AXP
AlphaServer 1000A
AlphaServer DS10L
AlphaServer 300 4/266
ZX6000 IA64

All of these have been run (apart from the 3000/600 which is about to make an appearance again) within the last six months.
I have a remote control power unit and everything is plumbed into a DECserver 90M. One of the VS4000/90s runs most of the time, it has a BA356 plugged in and was setup by an ex dec VMS sys admin, so it's all very organised and unlike most of my other systems ;)

I have a working VT320, one with a bad picture. I had a VT330 (graphics capable) up to a few days ago when it let out magic smoke from the flyback transformer. I'm hoping to effect a repair - I've got a new one on order.

I also have VT510 and VT520, but I really like the DEC LK201 keyboards, so tend to stick to the older terminals/boxes where I can...

Mark.
Image, VAXstation 4000/90 x2, VAXstation 4000/VLC x2, AlphaServer 1000A, DEC AXP 3000/600 (desktop), DEC AXP 3000/600 x2 (rackmount), DEC AXP 3000/800 (rackmount), AlphaServer 300 4/266, Sun Ultra 5, LA75, PP404, Juki 6100, Brother HR10

alexott
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:59 am

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby alexott » Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:09 pm

[...]
Last edited by alexott on Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:29 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 424
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby kjaer » Sat Jan 15, 2011 2:27 am

You're obviously not a font nerd, so I'll go easy on you this time. That's definitely not a German fraktur typeface. In fact it's based primarily on the English take on blackletter type design (as a family, textualis). In either case the typestyles were largely designed in the 12th and 13th centuries, though the Germans did continue using the fraktur type for standard print much longer than anybody else. Most places, blackletter type fell out of common use around the 18th century.

Interestingly the use of fraktur type in Germany apparently fell out of favor in 1941 when an officious Nazi needlenose issued a formal proclamation declaring it to be somehow Jewish in nature (which I don't get at all). Later when that stopped mattering, Germany was more keen to appear internationally modern so the common use of fraktur type stayed dead. So apparently the association with Nazism isn't entirely accurate! I didn't know that before, and I'm assuming Wikipedia is trustworthy on this issue (shame on me, I know).
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

alexott
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:59 am

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby alexott » Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:39 am

kjaer wrote:You're obviously not a font nerd, so I'll go easy on you this time. That's definitely not a German fraktur typeface.
...


Oh, kjaer, you cleared things for me. Thanks for explicative post!

leaknoil
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby leaknoil » Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:38 pm

This is my new HP box I just picked up. PA-RISC 1.0. Unfortunately not the ttl one. Its really cool looking and because it was used in a tea factory it doubles as an air freshener when it runs. Its a HP 9000/822S with a screaming 25Mhz cpu and a whole 40mb of ram. It does have really cool lights and stuff. The giant drive doesn't appear to work unfortunately. Gives a servo error code and makes lots of reading noises. I'd like to fix it but, I need something called a CS-80 External Exerciser to even find out what is wrong with it. It has a couple drives in the cpu case though that boots 8.0. I'd really like to find 10.10 for it which is ironic since I threw away about five original 10.10 cd's a month ago when I was cleaning. I had no idea that 10.10 was the last pa-risc 1.0 release and pretty hard to find. I just thought it was a small change on the way to 10.20 from 10.0. Oh well.

IMG_6736.jpg


Here's the cpu board.

IMG_6732.jpg

User avatar
miod
Posts: 508
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Clermont-Ferrand (France)
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby miod » Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:41 pm

leaknoil wrote:This is my new HP box I just picked up. PA-RISC 1.0. Unfortunately not the ttl one. Its really cool looking and because it was used in a tea factory it doubles as an air freshener when it runs. Its a HP 9000/822S with a screaming 25Mhz cpu and a whole 40mb of ram. It does have really cool lights and stuff. The giant drive doesn't appear to work unfortunately. Gives a servo error code and makes lots of reading noises. I'd like to fix it but, I need something called a CS-80 External Exerciser to even find out what is wrong with it.


Wow. That's a nice find!

If the disk is not _too_ old, chances are this is actually an ESDI disk behind a HPIB-ESDI adaptor board, answering to the CS/80 command set over HPIB. In that case, you may replace the disk with any other ESDI disk of the same geometry (the disk geometry being hardwired in the adaptor board's ROM).

Come to think of it, those days, the odd of finding an exact match for a replacement disk are as bad as the odss of getting the CS/80 diagnostics tape :(

I have also seen HPIB disks failures at the controller level, caused by the disk itself not spinning up fast enough. If your drive has a motor spin control jumper, you might want to try forcing a motor spin upon poweron, power on the disk unit, and wait a few ten seconds before powering on the cpu (or wait a bit in the PROM before attempting to IPL from the disk).
:Indigo:R3000 (alas, dead) :Indigo:R4000 x4 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 x2 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4400SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 x3 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...

leaknoil
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby leaknoil » Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:50 am

Its actually one big giant 100 lb drive in there called a HP 7937 . I think its 327mb or something.

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 424
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby kjaer » Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:38 pm

Nice find! Somewhere I have a copy of 10.01 for S800.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
miod
Posts: 508
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Clermont-Ferrand (France)
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby miod » Sat Jan 22, 2011 3:28 am

leaknoil wrote:Its actually one big giant 100 lb drive in there called a HP 7937 . I think its 327mb or something.

According to my docs, the 7937H is roughly 570MB; but yours might have a different suffix letter.

Edit: according to http://www.hpmuseum.net/display_item.php?hw=394 there was only one 7937 model, capacitywise.
:Indigo:R3000 (alas, dead) :Indigo:R4000 x4 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 x2 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4400SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 x3 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...

leaknoil
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby leaknoil » Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:33 pm

miod wrote:
leaknoil wrote:Its actually one big giant 100 lb drive in there called a HP 7937 . I think its 327mb or something.

According to my docs, the 7937H is roughly 570MB; but yours might have a different suffix letter.

Edit: according to http://www.hpmuseum.net/display_item.php?hw=394 there was only one 7937 model, capacitywise.


I read that but, nowhere on my drive is there a letter after the model. It actually says 7937/7936 as the model name on the plate. I was thinking maybe it was just a difference in how it was formatted.

When I boot the 882s with it attached it tries and reads it but, errors out and says it can't id the drive.

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 424
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby kjaer » Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:18 pm

leaknoil wrote:I read that but, nowhere on my drive is there a letter after the model. It actually says 7937/7936 as the model name on the plate. I was thinking maybe it was just a difference in how it was formatted.


There's no plate or sticker on the back with the full model including suffix?
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

leaknoil
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: What HP/DEC/Compaq do we have.

Unread postby leaknoil » Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:41 am

Just a metal plate on the rear that says "Model 7937/7936" and the electrical requirements.

kjaer wrote:
leaknoil wrote:I read that but, nowhere on my drive is there a letter after the model. It actually says 7937/7936 as the model name on the plate. I was thinking maybe it was just a difference in how it was formatted.


There's no plate or sticker on the back with the full model including suffix?


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest