Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:32 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 9:05 am
Posts: 222
Location: Somewhere in Hungary
Can somebody provide me a list of supported gfx cards on this machine on Tru64? Are there any PC cards which working in this box?

Thanks in advance,
Indyboy

_________________
Sun Ultra 20 || Sun SparcStation IPX || INMOS B004 Transputer board


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:06 am
Posts: 767
Location: Sweden
I suggest you start looking here:

http://www.tru64.org/pages.php?page=Hardware

_________________
:O3200: :Fuel: :Indy: :O3x02L:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 9:05 am
Posts: 222
Location: Somewhere in Hungary
The URL is very helpful, thanks a lot!!! :)

_________________
Sun Ultra 20 || Sun SparcStation IPX || INMOS B004 Transputer board


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5735
Location: Renton, WA
Off the top of my head for non-DEC cards I can recommend S3 Trio64V+ (works in every PCI Alpha I've tried them in) and almost any Permedia2 card (Elsa GLoria, some Creative Graphics Blasters). Permedia3 cards are supposed to work OK, too, but they're harder to come by.

Note that your system is a EV56 so the Radeon 7ks won't work in it :( . I have the same problem, and fortunately discovered this before spending money on a PCI Radeon.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:36 pm
Posts: 1837
Location: Nor Cal
I have used a vanilla PCI Radeon 7500 sans any issues with both OpenVMS and Tru64 on an Alpha DS20

_________________
"Was it a dream where you see yourself standing in sort of sun-god robes on a
pyramid with thousand naked women screaming and throwing little pickles at you?"


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 9:21 am
Posts: 118
Location: Denmark
SAQ wrote:
Note that your system is a EV56 so the Radeon 7ks won't work in it :(

While some EV56 platforms may have problems due to their SRM being too old atleast the PWS (Miata) is known to have an SRM that works with many (most?) generic Radeon 7x00 PCI boards.

I've had a Sapphire Radeon 7000 in my PWS433a for years and it works just fine.

-tgc

_________________
:PI: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 346
Location: Finland
tgc99 wrote:
SAQ wrote:
Note that your system is a EV56 so the Radeon 7ks won't work in it :(

While some EV56 platforms may have problems due to their SRM being too old atleast the PWS (Miata) is known to have an SRM that works with many (most?) generic Radeon 7x00 PCI boards.

I've had a Sapphire Radeon 7000 in my PWS433a for years and it works just fine.

-tgc


I can confirm that. I use Radeon 7500 on my AlphaPC 164LX, but on Alphastation 500 the same card will not work.

Matrox Millenium cards should also work well.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5735
Location: Renton, WA
Matrox cards aren't supported under DEC OSes as anything other than a dumb 640x480x4 framebuffer. I'm pretty sure that they work with SRM, but once the system boots they're not too good (I've got one of those on the pile of cards I've tried with the AlphaServer).

They work well with Linux Alpha, though.

What's the SRM date in your machine? I wonder if a Radeon will work in a 1000A 5/333.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 9:05 am
Posts: 222
Location: Somewhere in Hungary
I don't have any Alpha atm but was offered a PWS500au with 500MHz CPU, 256MiB memory, 9GiB with non-working gfx card. What do you think how much is it worth?

_________________
Sun Ultra 20 || Sun SparcStation IPX || INMOS B004 Transputer board


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:06 am
Posts: 767
Location: Sweden
PWS500au are 'OK' models, but what you really want is the last iteration of those boxes which were the XP1000 workstation.
Other options are the more modern XP900/DS10 models which sport EV6/EV67-class CPUs.

If it wasn't so much trouble with taking machines home from work (paper-issues), cleaning/testing, packing and shipping them, I could offload *several* XP900's we have in storage at work.
Heck, we've got atleast 40 of them which looks like they're going for the recycler some day or another...

_________________
:O3200: :Fuel: :Indy: :O3x02L:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 9:05 am
Posts: 222
Location: Somewhere in Hungary
Damn, it'd be great to have one of them ;) So what is your guess for the pws500au price?

Thanks a lot.

_________________
Sun Ultra 20 || Sun SparcStation IPX || INMOS B004 Transputer board


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3772
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
I have a PWS433 with 768MB RAM, a Radeon 7x00, and the biggest L3 cache option (2MB or 4MB, dunno).

I don't know what these things fetch these days, but I'm open to offers.

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 915
Location: IRL
Indyboy wrote:
Damn, it'd be great to have one of them ;) So what is your guess for the pws500au price?

Thanks a lot.

The last 500au I saw on eBay.de (in the last week or so) went for about 80€. XP1000's (again on eBay.de) go for much more. Typically €250-€500+ depending on configuration and bidding competition.

@ramq
:o Is it not possible to save any of those 40 machines from going to the recycler? In terms of RISC boxes, Alphas are quite rare in Europe. This ranks up there with that mass SGI slaughter in America that Ian once mentioned.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:06 am
Posts: 767
Location: Sweden
kramlq wrote:
:o Is it not possible to save any of those 40 machines from going to the recycler? In terms of RISC boxes, Alphas are quite rare in Europe. This ranks up there with that mass SGI slaughter in America that Ian once mentioned.

Well, I guess it is. I'll really have to think about this a couple of times, but maybe it's doable.

I didn't know they were that rare in Europe? And we hade about 150+ of'em at some point in time...

_________________
:O3200: :Fuel: :Indy: :O3x02L:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 915
Location: IRL
ramq wrote:
I didn't know they were that rare in Europe? And we hade about 150+ of'em at some point in time...

I am not really referring to how many were sold originally. More that the number of Alphas appearing on european eBay sites has always seemed far fewer than the number of SGIs or Suns or RS6000s. I've no idea why. Even over here, DEC/Compaq was very popular brand, yet they just don't seem to appear on the 2nd hand market locally - I've currently only got a rackmount server, and I had to get that from the US.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group