Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
theinonen
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Finland

Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby theinonen » Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:09 am

I was using my AS4100, and browsing nekochan forums, when suddenly there was a loud swoosh and the room was full of smoke. At first it seemed like one of the PSU`s, but when I looked at the back there was one CPU board in flames.

Luckily it was the last CPU board, so other boards were undamaged. Only the side of the case was burned and black inside.

If anyone in Europe has a spare 400 MHz CPU board for Alphaserver 4100 5/400, then make me an offer.

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8042
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby nekonoko » Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:09 am

Wow. To quote GhostBusters: "Generally, you don't see that kind of behavior in a major appliance."

Hopefully that's not something that occurs often - it could have been disastrous if the machine was left unattended.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
guardian452
Posts: 3044
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby guardian452 » Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:10 am

theinonen wrote:At first it seemed like one of the PSU`s, but when I looked at the back there was one CPU board in flames.

Luckily it was the last CPU board, so other boards were undamaged. Only the side of the case was burned and black inside.


any pics?

User avatar
theinonen
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Finland

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby theinonen » Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:33 pm

nekonoko wrote:Hopefully that's not something that occurs often - it could have been disastrous if the machine was left unattended.


The system had some stability problems that seemed like there was some kind of hardware error, since it would randomly crash with "machine check while in PAL mode" error, which is usually hardware related. But it would then pass all the diagnostics and work normally for hours.

I guess that fault in the CPU board was responsible for the crashes.

Funny thing is that I was just going to go out to buy something to eat, and was checking forums before that when this happened.

sybrfreq wrote: any pics?


I have no working camera, so no pictures this time.

ramq
Posts: 771
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:06 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby ramq » Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:20 am

I have quite possibly three 466MHz CPU-modules to spare, plus some 1GB mem board.
Interested in a trade for some nifty stuff, or green stuff if you don't have anything of interest. ;)

Drop me a PM...
:O3200: :Fuel: :Indy: :O3x02L:

kramlq
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 5:10 pm
Location: IRL

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby kramlq » Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:55 am

:shock:

I didn't know the Alphas implemented the HCF instruction.

On a more serious note, is it really worth the risk to keep running this Alpha?

User avatar
The Keeper
Posts: 1632
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 9:23 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby The Keeper » Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:05 am

Sorry to hear about that!

Normally I'd say something about DEC engineering that would allow the system to function normally after the one CPU burst into flames, but then again, the CPU shouldn't have burst into flames in the first place...

Chris
:O2000R: (<-EMXI/IO6G) :O200: :O200: :O200: (<- quad R12k O200 w/GIGAchannel and ESI+Tex) plus a bunch of assorted standalone workstations...

hamei
Posts: 10185
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby hamei » Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:47 am

So did you get this error message ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lp0_on_fire

User avatar
guardian452
Posts: 3044
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: Kentucky, United States
Contact:

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby guardian452 » Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:35 pm

my alpha went up in flames too...
DSC08356.JPG

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:41 pm

nicely done :D that looks sick
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:

User avatar
The Keeper
Posts: 1632
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 9:23 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby The Keeper » Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:27 am

Kudos!
:O2000R: (<-EMXI/IO6G) :O200: :O200: :O200: (<- quad R12k O200 w/GIGAchannel and ESI+Tex) plus a bunch of assorted standalone workstations...

User avatar
theinonen
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Finland

Re: Alphaserver 4100 in flames....

Unread postby theinonen » Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:48 pm

sybrfreq wrote:my alpha went up in flames too...


Your flames are bigger than mine.

That looks good.


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests