Got me a Compaq U-SCSI 3 rack... clueless

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
MisterDNA
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 2:23 am
Location: Brigham City, UT

Got me a Compaq U-SCSI 3 rack... clueless

Unread postby MisterDNA » Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:35 pm

Okay so I picked up a Compaq ProLiant Storage System UE rack with ten 18.2GB disks for $65 from a secondhand shop and I have it connected to a Dell PowerEdge 2400 I picked up from university surplus. The system can see it just fine and all that. In addition to the five disks in the server itself.

I'm making a ten disk RAID5 right now and I"m wondering why the hell it's taking so long. It's been well over an hour and I'm only at 4%. My SATA RAID5 didn't take near this long to build the volume.

I've never run hardware like this before so I'm kind of clueless.

All I know is it's loud and I'm a guy who built a system in an Antec P180 case with a Seasonic PSU so it would be quiet and then put it in my closet to make it more silent, thereby hiding the beauty of the P180 case.

But I do like blinkenlights (otherwise I wouldn't have my O2K).

The VHDCI connector on my Adaptec 2100S scares me. It looks fragile.
-- I'm a PeeCee and I can kick your ass. --
Slow PeeCee - i7 940 OC 4.1GHz, 20GB DDR3 OC 1.8GHz, 2x1TB WD RAID0, ATI 5870 1GB, 3008WFP
Dev PeeCee - IBM Intellistation A Pro - Dual Opteron 290 2.8GHz, 8GB ECC DDR, 500GB SATA, 8400GS, 2x1800FP
Slow PeeCee Cluster - 30x Opteron 275, 60.5GB RAM, 2.2TB, 2x1.5TB
Octane 2xR12K-300, 1.5GB, 36GB 10K, 73GB 10K, V8
Indigo2 195MHz, 1GB, 36GB, SI

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand Ternary. Those who don't. Those who could give a shit less.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5440
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Unread postby recondas » Sat Sep 23, 2006 4:18 pm

Lots of room for what-ifs in there. Could I ask:

OS?

Software or Hardware RAID?

If it's a hardware RAID, which one, and what configuration tool?

Cabling / termination?

User avatar
MisterDNA
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 2:23 am
Location: Brigham City, UT

Unread postby MisterDNA » Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:15 pm

Presumably Windows Server 2003 but running WinXP right now to test it all

hardware RAID with Adaptec 2100S PCI card / 32MB cache DIMM and VHDCI connector, config tool in ROM is what I'm using to build the array.

Cabling is Sun 530-2453 U-SCSI 3 VHDCI to HD68 cable

termination is automatic as far as the controller. The rack only has one HD68 port.

13% complete at the moment.

I hope this is a fast array when all this is done with.
-- I'm a PeeCee and I can kick your ass. --
Slow PeeCee - i7 940 OC 4.1GHz, 20GB DDR3 OC 1.8GHz, 2x1TB WD RAID0, ATI 5870 1GB, 3008WFP
Dev PeeCee - IBM Intellistation A Pro - Dual Opteron 290 2.8GHz, 8GB ECC DDR, 500GB SATA, 8400GS, 2x1800FP
Slow PeeCee Cluster - 30x Opteron 275, 60.5GB RAM, 2.2TB, 2x1.5TB
Octane 2xR12K-300, 1.5GB, 36GB 10K, 73GB 10K, V8
Indigo2 195MHz, 1GB, 36GB, SI

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand Ternary. Those who don't. Those who could give a shit less.

User avatar
jakari
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:12 pm
Location: Troy, New York
Contact:

Unread postby jakari » Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:03 pm

Well, now it's a month later... and you probably found that array isn't that fast.

I have the same storage box with 10x 18.2GB, 10K RPM drives in it on an AMI/LSI Megaraid... RAID5 across that many disks on a single SCSI bus is sloooow. But it's been reliable for 3 or 4 years now.

I'm going to scrap it relatively soon for (S)ATA RAID on four or six 200GB+ disks, mostly because I need more space, but also because of the noise and power.

Oh and yes, VHDCI connectors can be fragile, be careful not to bend them.

User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:37 pm

I actually just finished rebuilding a Proliant 1600 deskside, and it has an internal 6-drive SCSI bay. The Proliant came originally with one of the "Compaq Smart Array 3200" controllers, and I have to say it was super-uber-easy to set up, and 'built' the arrays instantaneously (though it did the parity building for the Raid5 partition in the background). I'm not certain how fast it is when running, but the box sure boots fast (dual P3-600's).

Anyways, I see tons of these sorts of RAID controllers on eBay cheap, worth a look at, and looks like bog-stock PCI so I'd imagine they'd work in anything. The 3200 has 57MB of battery-backed cache memory on board, and does write back caching when the batterys are charged up. GUI tool for configuration - when I was building the arrays and exploring the setup screens, my only thought was "Just what the hell do they teach MCSE's?"

Don't need speed, have fibre-channel for that, but this is going to be a business server so redundancy/RAID is good. The storage partition, btw, is 3 36GB 10k Seagates with 16MB cache, ended up with about 68GB in the whole partition. The system partition is a Raid 1, across 2 9GB 10k disks so I'd imagine the system partition should be faster than the Raid 5.

I have a Promise SX4000 PATA-133 RAID-5 controller coming along sometime shortly, will see how long it takes to format a Raid 5 array across 3 200 GB 7200RPM PATA disks.
:O3000: <> :O3000: :O2000: :Tezro: :Fuel: x2+ :Octane2: :Octane: x3 :1600SW: x2 :O2: x2+ :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: x2 :Indigo: x3 :Indy: x2+

Once you step up to the big iron, you learn all about physics, electrical standards, and first aid - usually all in the same day


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest