Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 5:53 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:12 pm
Posts: 911
Location: Sunny So Cal
Picked up a C8000 for a nice price which arrived yesterday. Dual-core 1.1GHz PA-8900, DVD, FireGL-UX graphics and a gig of RAM. Case required little restoration, just some cleaning and a bit of touch-up paint. Beautiful, included the pedestal even. Stuck it under the desk next to my daily-driver quad G5 and my Mac OS 9 MDD G4.

Only trouble is, it doesn't like my USB KVM and the HP-UX install on the hard disk had pieces moved to an NFS server that, of course, no longer exists. So I need to get a mechanical switchbox and then sit down with my stack of 11i v1 MCOE CDs sometime (I have the GTCE also, so that should get something close enough to the TCOE for it to work). I'm not getting rid of the KVM, because it wasn't cheap and it's the only one I own that makes Mac OS 9 happy with a USB scroll wheel.

I have a soft spot for PA-RISC, because I liked the instruction set and I had root to a HP 9000/K250 and a Visualize C3750 back in the day when I was a full-time programmer/DBA. It should go nicely with the HP 9000/350 I already have and recently restored, and works delightfully well.

_________________
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT (full hinv pending)
probably posted from Image bruce, 2x2x2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 8GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
I don't have a FireGL, but for Visualize-FX pretty much everything you need is on the MCOE.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:31 pm
Posts: 297
Location: Southwestern Ontario, Canada
ClassicHasClass wrote:
Picked up a C8000 for a nice price which arrived yesterday. Dual-core 1.1GHz PA-8900, DVD, FireGL-UX graphics and a gig of RAM.

Are you sure it's a FireGL-UX? That seems odd for the C8000. With the 1.1GHz CPU model, I'd expect it to be a FireGL T2 or X3 (according to this link). The FireGL X1 was also used on earlier C8000s with slower CPUs, so you might have one of those. Those are all AGP (Pro) cards. The FireGL-UX is a generation older (at least) and 64bit/66MHz PCI instead, and would seem unlikely (if it's even supported) in a C8000.

Not that it really matters.... But you might have much newer/better graphics than you think! :D

_________________
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Indigo: :O3x0:
Sun SPARCstation 20, Blade 2500
HP C8000


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:12 pm
Posts: 911
Location: Sunny So Cal
It said just FireGL-UX on the PROM monitor, but you got me thinking -- it certainly should be an AGP card (the card is in the AGP slot) and I don't know why that didn't dawn on me. So I pulled out the card and lo and behold you are correct; it is a FireGL T2. Nice!

I also managed to coax it to boot up to CDE off the b0rk3d HP-UX install, just to see what's on there, and it comes up in 1920x1080 and the KVM *does* work with the mouse. It just wants a console keyboard all to itself, but I have a mechanical solution to that on the way. I'll browse the filesystem this weekend.

FireGL support I'm pretty sure is only on TCOE/MTOE, not basic MCOE (it will work, but it will complain about "unoptimized graphics" or some such). But the GTCE has those drivers.

_________________
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT (full hinv pending)
probably posted from Image bruce, 2x2x2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 8GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:46 pm
Posts: 725
Location: Overmere, Belgium
ClassicHasClass wrote:
FireGL support I'm pretty sure is only on TCOE/MTOE, not basic MCOE (it will work, but it will complain about "unoptimized graphics" or some such). But the GTCE has those drivers.

I have the same T2 card in the same C8000, and it works just fine with MCOE. Just make sure you install the Graphical bundles. :)

_________________
while (!asleep()) sheep++;


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:12 pm
Posts: 911
Location: Sunny So Cal
I didn't think the Graphical bundles were in MCOE. What release did you install? Does graphinfo properly identify the card?

_________________
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT (full hinv pending)
probably posted from Image bruce, 2x2x2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 8GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 7:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm
Posts: 976
I'm not familiar with these workstations, what were they primarily used for, pro/E, catia and similar? or more generally, development work?

_________________
:Onyx2:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:12 pm
Posts: 911
Location: Sunny So Cal
The C3750 I used to administer was used by the biology department for (what else?) scientific visualization, I think X-ray crystallography if memory serves.

They were also used in CAD sectors -- for a period of time someone on eBay had an inventory dump of rather thrashed C8000s from General Motors. They even had Cadillac emblems stuck on them.

But HP was ultimately unable to displace the usual suspects (IBM, Sun, SGI, Apple) from their traditional market segments and shut down the line when the classic Un*x workstation market in general faded.

_________________
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT (full hinv pending)
probably posted from Image bruce, 2x2x2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 8GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
ClassicHasClass wrote:
But HP was ultimately unable to displace the usual suspects (IBM, Sun, SGI, Apple) from their traditional market segments and shut down the line when the classic Un*x workstation market in general faded.


They didn't spend the time building up the backend that SGI did - the Visualize-FX hardware was OK, but HP didn't spend the money and time putting the support stuff in HP-UX that SGI put in IRIX.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:12 pm
Posts: 911
Location: Sunny So Cal
So I reset the root password on it and went through the filesystem. It has a more up-to-date version of HP-UX than my 11i v1 2005 CDs, and a CAD/CAM package I haven't figured out yet. It is TCOE with all the fixins', apparently. After I forcibly removed it from NIS, disabled the NFS mounts, fixed the missing parts of /usr and added a new LV for /home, it is now nearly perfect. I'm going to get gcc and Firefox on it next.

The only thing it's missing is an updated tztab. This is ostensibly PHCO 34668, but I can't download this. Does anyone have an updated tztab with the 2007 DST changes?

_________________
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT (full hinv pending)
probably posted from Image bruce, 2x2x2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 8GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP Visualize C8000
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:12 pm
Posts: 911
Location: Sunny So Cal
Following up to myself, managed to make the needed changes to tztab manually.

Solved the KVM problem by inserting a mechanical USB switch between the keyboard and, on A), the keyboard port of the KVM and on B), the USB port of the C8000. CDE is just fine with the mouse on the KVM. So, I switch the keyboard to B) and the KVM to the C8000, boot the C8000 and wait for it to get into CDE. Once it's there, I can "disconnect" the keyboard when I want to switch to another computer by switching to A), and then switching the KVM. The C8000 seems to recognize the keyboard when I go back to it (press B and switch the KVM), just as long as it was the same keyboard in the same port, even if it was "transiently disconnected;" it only needs it to be there continuously for the PROM and boot sequence, which don't support hotplugging. For this the HP-UX 11i USB hotplugging patch was required, which of course it had.

Now to figure out how to get CATIA to start. Anyone messed with this?

_________________
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT (full hinv pending)
probably posted from Image bruce, 2x2x2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 8GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group