Do older HP 9000s need HP-specific firmware in the CD-ROM?

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
SAQ
Posts: 5789
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Do older HP 9000s need HP-specific firmware in the CD-ROM?

Unread postby SAQ » Mon May 28, 2012 9:03 pm

Just going through my collection of way too many slow SCSI CD-ROM and came across a HP-labelled Toshiba that still identifies as a Toshiba. Do early HP9000 machines need special firmware bits to boot successfully off of CD-ROMS (talking HP 9000/887-G70 era and HP9000/400s), or will any CD-ROM work? The Usual Suspects seem to be silent on the issue - other than any CD-ROM will work for DOMAIN/os (which doesn't support booting off CD-ROM anyway).
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
lunatic
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 3:07 am
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Do older HP 9000s need HP-specific firmware in the CD-RO

Unread postby lunatic » Fri Jun 01, 2012 12:04 pm

There is no special firmware needed. third party cdroms will work fine. For PA-RISC this is true for all the boxes as long as they have SCSI and the necessary boot proms to boot from SCSI devices. For 68k, I'm sure 9000/400s are fine, but I wouldn't bet on all the ancient 9000/300s.
I think the same block size issue like with Suns and SGIs also applies here.
Don't suffer from insanity...
Enjoy every minute of it.

kramlq
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 5:10 pm
Location: IRL

Re: Do older HP 9000s need HP-specific firmware in the CD-RO

Unread postby kramlq » Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:34 pm

Yeah, I've only ever read of problems with CDROM booting of NeXTstep on hppa, but I expect those were due to block size issues. I've used various CDROMs with my PA-RISC systems and never had any issues with NeXTstep or HP-UX.

SAQ
Posts: 5789
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Do older HP 9000s need HP-specific firmware in the CD-RO

Unread postby SAQ » Fri Jun 01, 2012 8:11 pm

Ah, good - then I don't have to worry about keeping around a couple spare ancient HP drives for the 9ks.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
Alver
Posts: 762
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Zele, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Do older HP 9000s need HP-specific firmware in the CD-RO

Unread postby Alver » Sat Jun 02, 2012 3:39 am

There's plenty HP9000s that use IDE for cd/dvd too - and those will also take just about anything. But those may not suit your idea of "older" HP9000 then. :)
while (!asleep()) sheep++;

SAQ
Posts: 5789
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Do older HP 9000s need HP-specific firmware in the CD-RO

Unread postby SAQ » Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:08 am

Alver wrote:There's plenty HP9000s that use IDE for cd/dvd too - and those will also take just about anything. But those may not suit your idea of "older" HP9000 then. :)


They'd suit my idea of HP-9000, but none of my machines have IDE interfaces.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest