Would you like some Java with your JavaStation?

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1602
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:09 am

Looks like a standard mini-DIN-8, same as an old Macintois serial cable.

In order to find the pins here is what I would suggest. Open the unit up down to the board. Find a ground and use a continuity tester to find the ground pins. Map those out. Then find the traces going to voltage regulators, and use a continuity tester to map them out. If you're lucky, Sun will have written the voltages on the board.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Tezro: Quad R16000 700MHz V12 8GB RAM murasaki
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.cc

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby spiroyster » Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:22 am

The number of pins looks the same, but the layout looks different to me? I have a boxed Qube3 at home, can look through the docs later see what it says if you want. Might be some PSU diagrams?

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby Irinikus » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:42 am

Raion-Fox wrote:Looks like a standard mini-DIN-8, same as an old Macintois serial cable.

In order to find the pins here is what I would suggest. Open the unit up down to the board. Find a ground and use a continuity tester to find the ground pins. Map those out. Then find the traces going to voltage regulators, and use a continuity tester to map them out. If you're lucky, Sun will have written the voltages on the board.



Thanks very much, your right, it looks like it's a mini-DIN-8 connector for the JavaStation. The Cube uses a standard DIN-8 connector.
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
miod
Posts: 540
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Clermont-Ferrand (France)
Contact:

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby miod » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:14 am

Irinikus wrote:Does anyone here have any idea as to what the pinouts on the JavaStation's Power Supply brick are and what type of plug is used?

I will have a look at my JS PSU once I'm back home. Currently travelling for ${DAYJOB} for a few days.
:Indigo:R3000 (alas, dead) :Indigo:R4000 x4 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 x2 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4400SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 x3 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby Irinikus » Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:23 pm

miod wrote:I will have a look at my JS PSU once I'm back home. Currently travelling for ${DAYJOB} for a few days.


Thanks very much, I really appreciate it.
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

astouffer
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby astouffer » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:00 am

Yeah you could use the javastation as a serial terminal. Without the network it boots to some JavaOS demo built in the flash. You'll need a boot server and NFS to export the filesystem. I always wondered if it was possible to flash another OS image instead.

User avatar
miod
Posts: 540
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Clermont-Ferrand (France)
Contact:

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby miod » Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:37 am

No need to guess anymore, everything is conveniently written on the PSU block:
krups.jpg
PSU rear view
:Indigo:R3000 (alas, dead) :Indigo:R4000 x4 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 x2 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4400SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 x3 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby Irinikus » Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:49 am

Thanks very much for the info! :)
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:05 am

I've finally managed to buy a power supply for my JavaStation! :D

It's on its way from Germany via the postal service, so it will take quite a while to get here, as our local postal service sucks!

I can't wait to fire one of these units up to see how it operates!

I will probably end up by using one as a serial console for my V880z. It will take up more space than a serial laptop (with it's keyboard, mouse and monitor), but it sure will be interesting. :D
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

shutitalldown
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:28 am

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby shutitalldown » Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:40 am

is it vt100? vt220? compliant?

edit:
typo
Last edited by shutitalldown on Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pointless reminders of the human ego:
  • arguing that you don't care about the right to privacy
  • because you have nothing to hide
  • is no different than saying you don't care about free speech
  • because you have nothing to say

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:47 am

The AC input is rated between 110V and 240V 50/60Hz, so it's compatible with our 220V AC Power Supply. Like most other modern computer equipment.
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

robespierre
Posts: 1672
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby robespierre » Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:32 pm

I believe the question was what terminal emulation is supported, and the answer just depends on software. Many terminals report "vt100" (or other common defaults like "xterm" or "ansi") even if they do not support the full DEC VT100 command set. VT220 was mostly the same, with the addition of downloadable fonts (which, again, are commonly not supported by software emulators).
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Would you like some Java with that JavaStation?

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:07 pm

Sorry about that! My Bad. :oops:

I don't now, I will only find that out once I'm able to power one up.

The only person here who would know is moid, as he has a JavaStation with a power supply.

The second unit that I bought came with a manual, but the machine as well as it's manual is in Cape Town and I am currently in Pretoria, so I will only be able to read the manual when I'm next in Cape Town. (which might only be in a few months time.)
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Would you like some Java with your JavaStation?

Unread postby Irinikus » Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:42 am

I have managed to buy a JavaStation power supply form Germany, so I will be able to fire one of these machines up soon, but for now I just took a picture of the two machines in formation, as I will be leaving one of them in Cape Town when I return to my home in Pretoria.

IMG_3342.JPG

IMG_3343.JPG

IMG_3345.JPG
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
xiri
Donor
Donor
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:40 am
Location: Norway

Re: Would you like some Java with your JavaStation?

Unread postby xiri » Fri Mar 16, 2018 10:11 am

Irinkus wrote:
I have managed to buy a JavaStation power supply form Germany, so I will be able to fire one of these machines up soon.

Fine,
then I suggest you start to prepare the fs on a remote machine and set up the services required (rarpd, dhcpd and tftpd)
in order to netboot Netbsd (v7.1.1 boots fine) just as halfmanhalftaco has mentioned earlier in this thread.
I had to remove the flash-module otherwise the Krups would not boot over the network. (Be careful opening the device since
the plastics are very brittle just as on any of your SGIs).
:Indigo: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :O2: :O2+: :Octane: :Octane2: :Fuel: :O3x04R: :A3503L: :PrismDT: :Tezro:


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests