Possible clone Sparc Station 5 hdd?

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Dalplex
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:25 pm

Possible clone Sparc Station 5 hdd?

Unread postby Dalplex » Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:42 pm

Hi,

The hdd on Sparc Station 5 is very loud and I am thinking about clone the hdd with a modern and quieter hdd if feasible.

The machine boot and work normally without any issue. Have root access as well.

Please advise.

Thanks
Last edited by Dalplex on Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:32 am, edited 2 times in total.
:Indigo: :O2: :Octane: :Octane:

pilot345
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:24 pm
Location: Upstate, NY

Re: Possible clone Sparcultra 5 hdd?

Unread postby pilot345 » Mon Jul 24, 2017 4:38 pm

Sure, unfortunately, unlike the ultra 1 and 2, and earlier sparc's, that ultra 5 actually has an IDE bus onboard. So yes, you can get the most modern EIDE disk you can find and install it. Or I believe you could install a SCSI adapter in a PCI slot, and possibly use an external SCSI disk that would be much faster.

The Ultra 1, 2, and earlier Plus Ultras besides 5/10 utilize an onboard SCSI bus for disks, and have 80pin SCA connectors which are forward compatible all the way up to Ultra320 SCSI. Of course it will negotiate down to the actual bus width/transfer rate, but you can use a very modern, high speed, quiet disk in a very old system with no issues this way. SGI's also use the SCA connectors like this, and have the same ability to drop in a wide range of hard drives.

User avatar
Dalplex
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: Possible clone Sparcultra 5 hdd?

Unread postby Dalplex » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:47 am

My bad. It is Station 5.
:Indigo: :O2: :Octane: :Octane:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2072
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Possible clone Sparcultra 5 hdd?

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Jul 25, 2017 7:36 am

I just came here to post I read the thread title as "Sparcula 5."

I'll get my coat.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: Possible clone Sparcultra 5 hdd?

Unread postby dexter1 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 7:49 am

Looking from the pictures, the SparcStation 5 has room for a single SCA 80-pin SCSI disk. (correct me if i'm wrong)

If you shop around you can purchase very quiet modern SCA SCSI disks which, if jumpered for Single Ended operation, can replace your original disk.
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Dalplex
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: Possible clone Sparc Station 5 hdd?

Unread postby Dalplex » Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:30 pm

But how to clone the disk without re-install everything?
:Indigo: :O2: :Octane: :Octane:

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: Possible clone Sparcultra 5 hdd?

Unread postby dexter1 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:22 am

One possible way is to check if there is another internal SCSI connector which you can hook up the new disk. Because the SS5 can carry an optional CDROM, chances are that there is a 50 pin internal SCSI connector. You can buy an adapter 50 pin SCSI<->80 pin SCA and hook up the second disk.

If this is not the case, you have to find an external enclosure which carry SCA disks and hook it up externally.
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Dalplex
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: Possible clone Sparc Station 5 hdd?

Unread postby Dalplex » Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:36 am

The internal sled almost broke in pieces and yes, it does has a CD-ROM.
I have Sun 711. The trouble is I only have a cable with 50 c and 68 hd on each end. It would not work on SS5 as it requires 50 hd.
:Indigo: :O2: :Octane: :Octane:

pilot345
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:24 pm
Location: Upstate, NY

Re: Possible clone Sparc Station 5 hdd?

Unread postby pilot345 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:14 am

You can attach two SCA disks internally in the SS5 actually, it has a dual port backplane. If you do not have a second disk carrier/tray, you can just push the disk into place on the SCA connector for enough time to clone the system disk. You just need to support it with something that will keep it level and in plane with the SCA connector, and not bent up or down.


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest