Real T1000/T2000 power consumption figures

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
mia
Posts: 1055
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm

Real T1000/T2000 power consumption figures

Unread postby mia » Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:30 pm

Could someone please provide me with Sun's T1000 and T2000 real, measured (kill-a-watt or the like), power consumption metrics (preferably in Watts from an AC, not DC feed); and please include the voltage used, as I've noticed 208/220V is somewhat (10% or so) more efficient than 110V (here in the US). Don't forget to include the number of cores and memory used; along with number of drives if possible; please provide me with idle and peak if possible.

Thanks for reading, double thanks for participating.
:Onyx2:

astouffer
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: Real T1000/T2000 power consumption figures

Unread postby astouffer » Fri Jan 29, 2016 11:39 am

Well my Sunfire V245 with dual cpus and 16Gb of memory used around 300 watts on 120VAC. That was with two 73Gb drives and recording video from my surveillance camera. I think that was with only one power supply running so its probably more with the second one installed.

cesare
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:25 am

Re: Real T1000/T2000 power consumption figures

Unread postby cesare » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:40 am

I can give you idle figures for my machine here. It's a T2000 with 4 core/1Ghz T1, 16Gb, 4 * 146Gb drives

On 240V supplies, it takes 115W per power supply when running with both, and 205W when running with just one.

Actually, when I say it's a 4 core/ 1Ghz, it's actually an 8 core 1.2Ghz but only 4 cores show up, which suggests to me that the machine uses firmware to enable/disable CPU features? (cores, clock rate etc). I'm also not sure if that was common when these machines were released, whether they 'unlocked' capabilities like this. Anyone know?

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: Real T1000/T2000 power consumption figures

Unread postby johnnym » Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:29 am

cesare wrote:[...]
Actually, when I say it's a 4 core/ 1Ghz, it's actually an 8 core 1.2Ghz but only 4 cores show up, which suggests to me that the machine uses firmware to enable/disable CPU features? (cores, clock rate etc). I'm also not sure if that was common when these machines were released, whether they 'unlocked' capabilities like this. Anyone know?

I actually don't know if Sun did similar things like IBM (capacity on demand) for the UltraSPARC T1 based systems - well at least not for my T1000 - but I know that one can disable components on specific Sun machines. I.e. on a Sun Enterprise 250 you can disable processors, memory, etc. (I believe via OBP) and also for the T2000 this can be done (via SC and possibly also from OBP). But as your clock rate also seems limited I wonder if your machine maybe has another issue. Maybe you give it a try with the showcomponent command first, to see what's available on your machine.
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

cesare
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:25 am

Re: Real T1000/T2000 power consumption figures

Unread postby cesare » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:58 am

I've had a fair dig about and not found anything obvious. From SC I can see the hardware, and it also sees the 16 threads (so 4 cores), which at least means i've not messed up the virtualisation stuff and limited what the OS sees. Saying that, Solaris 11 doesn't play nicely with LDOM with this machine, and I had to back out the default version for an older install to make that work from the host OS.

For me, it's just a toy box to run some continuous integration tests on a big endian architecture, so it does the job. I would like to get the rest of the cores up and running though just from a satisfaction sense. Sun stuff is fun - I first used sun 3 workstations when I was at university.

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: Real T1000/T2000 power consumption figures

Unread postby johnnym » Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:13 am

cesare wrote:I've had a fair dig about and not found anything obvious. From SC I can see the hardware, and it also sees the 16 threads (so 4 cores)

But if the SC does only show 16 virtual CPUs when using showcomponent, how do you know you really have 32 virtual CPUs (8 cores)?

cesare wrote:, which at least means i've not messed up the virtualisation stuff and limited what the OS sees. Saying that, Solaris 11 doesn't play nicely with LDOM with this machine, and I had to back out the default version for an older install to make that work from the host OS.

OpenBSD should also be able to "host" LDOMs, you could give that a try and stay away from Solaris 11 as host OS.
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest