Sun Blade 1000 Disabled CPU faulted / how to clear nvram ?

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Sun Blade 1000 Disabled CPU faulted / how to clear nvram ?

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:25 am

Need to clear Open Boot logs etc to re-enable cpu 01

What commands do i require?
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1440
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Sun Blade 1000 Disabled CPU faulted / how to clear nvram

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:59 am

OpenBoot uses the following command to reset nvram to factory:

> set-defaults
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Sun Blade 1000 Disabled CPU faulted / how to clear nvram

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:08 am

TeamBlackFox wrote:OpenBoot uses the following command to reset nvram to factory:

> set-defaults


No luck and tried that before, a few times. What is strange is that it was fine while testing openindiana and BSD,
but failed after I reverted back to solaris 10 during the installation process. Ran all diag tests and both CPUs passed...
very strange...

I recall there was a way to clear all errors stored in the PROM
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1440
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Sun Blade 1000 Disabled CPU faulted / how to clear nvram

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:31 am

:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Sun Blade 1000 Disabled CPU faulted / how to clear nvram

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Sun Jul 20, 2014 11:33 pm

Thanks TBF :) but it worked for a short while and reverted back..... upon further investigation I discovered that the second cpu had cache errors.. so replaced both 900' with 1200's
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1440
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Sun Blade 1000 Disabled CPU faulted / how to clear nvram

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Mon Jul 21, 2014 6:19 am

Perfect. Glad to help, sorry it happened.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Sun Blade 1000 Disabled CPU faulted / how to clear nvram

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:40 am

TeamBlackFox wrote:Perfect. Glad to help, sorry it happened.


Ah well the hardware is quite old and these things sadly happen. I have SGi hardware far more valuable that
I occasionally start up and and run for a few hours, may it be for some nostalgic work in maya or just fooling around :)
At least i can cart those Onyx2 desksides around... I feel sorry for folks trying to move racks around :P But I think someday I will have to upgrade my study and make room for old macs, sgi and sun gear
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests