SPARCstation 5 headless?

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
pilot345
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:24 pm
Location: Upstate, NY

Re: SPARCstation 5 headless?

Unread postby pilot345 » Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:44 pm

I used to run my SS5 as a router. I never changed anything in the PROM to run headless I dont think, I didnt need a serial console though. It booted up fine without a keyboard and monitor, it just would beep and complain, then keep booting I think. Then, like you want, I would just login over the network. So I guess give it a shot headless, but still set to keyboard and screen? Its been a while, I could be wrong....

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: SPARCstation 5 headless?

Unread postby zmttoxics » Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:58 pm

So just to run down the list for the fun of it...

-You disconnected the keyboard / mouse.
-You rebooted the machine (sans keyboard/ mouse).
-You are using a null modem cable and not a straight serial cable.
-You are using the standard 9600 / 8 / N / 1 / HW serial settings.

Right?

Try a 'set-defaults' with the keyboard and mouse hooked up in OBP then power down the machine, remove the gear and try again... Out side of that I am not sure what would be causing it. Good luck!
Stuff.

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: SPARCstation 5 headless?

Unread postby kjaer » Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:57 am

eMGee wrote:I'll try that, see if it can detect it, thanks for the advice.


I certainly would. Somebody messing with, for example, the sbus-probe-order list without knowing what he was doing could easily cause this kind of problem.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

tingo
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: SPARCstation 5 headless?

Unread postby tingo » Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:22 am

FWIW, on my SS2 (as in SparcStation 2) I had to take out the graphics card in order for it to run headless. YMMV.
Torfinn

User avatar
miod
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Orgerus (France)
Contact:

Re: SPARCstation 5 headless?

Unread postby miod » Thu Aug 05, 2010 3:28 pm

tingo wrote:FWIW, on my SS2 (as in SparcStation 2) I had to take out the graphics card in order for it to run headless. YMMV.

This was caused by a bug in early OpenPROM 2.x versions (IIRC from 2.0 up to 2.3 inclusive).

SPARCstation 5 ought to have OpenPROM >= 2.9 and default to serial if no keyboard is connected, even with a framebuffer installed.

Now, if this machine is actually a Cycle 5 upgrade of an SS2 into an SS5, keeping the SS2 chassis, the serial ports are actually an SS20-like multiplexed port connected to the enclosure `B' port (the `A' port being the parallel port).
:Indigo:R4000 :Indigo:R4000 :Indigo:R4000 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests