Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
IndyFred
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby IndyFred » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:25 pm

I was wondering how easy/hard it is to install Solaris 10 for SPARC on an E450. I have never installed Solaris before, so this will be a new learning experience for me.

Any help or install guides would be most helpful.

Thanks!

Fred

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby porter » Tue Aug 04, 2009 4:52 pm

IndyFred wrote:Any help or install guides would be most helpful.


1. Put CD one in the CDROM drive.
2. From the prom type "boot cdrom".
3. Follow on screen instructions.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6590
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby foetz » Tue Aug 04, 2009 5:03 pm

hehe, nice to the point.

it's really not harder than any other os installation.

User avatar
IndyFred
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby IndyFred » Tue Aug 04, 2009 5:11 pm

Okay I inserted the DVD and am installing it now.

Thanks everyone!

User avatar
IndyFred
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby IndyFred » Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:24 am

Okay the systems is reinstalled and on the internet.

What I do not understand is that I have eight hard drives for a total of 156GB. When I do the df -hk in terminal, all I see is the first hard drive. How do I see the other drives? Still new to Solaris and trying to learn as much as I can before my UNIX book arrives.

Thanks!

Fred

User avatar
wolflord
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 11:31 am
Location: Maryland
Contact:

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby wolflord » Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:46 am

You probably need to run fdisk and make sure the other disks are labled and partitioned right. Also does you E450 have the full drive backplane or just the base 4 drive one? All your disks should atleast show up in /dev/dsk as cXtXd0sX where cX = controller # X, tX = target # X, d0 = lun 0, and sX = slice # X. From there you still need to make a filesystem on them and mount them.
WolfLord - :4D70G: :Octane2:

"Two Minus Three Equals Negative Fun" - Troy McClure

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:12 am

Put the drives in a ZFS pool - it will make your life much easier.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
IndyFred
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby IndyFred » Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:36 am

wolflord wrote:You probably need to run fdisk and make sure the other disks are labled and partitioned right. Also does you E450 have the full drive backplane or just the base 4 drive one? All your disks should atleast show up in /dev/dsk as cXtXd0sX where cX = controller # X, tX = target # X, d0 = lun 0, and sX = slice # X. From there you still need to make a filesystem on them and mount them.



Thanks Wolflord, When I do a STOP-A, it shows all eight drives. I also have lights on all eight drives when I open the case. I think I have all the backplanes as the server did come with 18 drives but ten of them were bad. :-(
Last edited by IndyFred on Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
IndyFred
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby IndyFred » Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:37 am

SAQ wrote:Put the drives in a ZFS pool - it will make your life much easier.



SAQ, how do I go about doing this? Should I do a custom Solaris 10 install?

Thanks again!

User avatar
IndyFred
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby IndyFred » Wed Aug 05, 2009 1:52 pm

Okay I have been scouring the internet for a guide on how to install Solaris 10 05/09 to make sure I am installing everything and it seems that some of the options offered I do not see. One option in particular is the disks section. On the internet, it shows which disk to install Solaris on. I never get that option.

Should I be using standard or Flash?

Thanks!

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby porter » Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:03 pm

IndyFred wrote:Should I be using standard or Flash?!


Standard interactive.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
IndyFred
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby IndyFred » Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:44 pm

Okay this is new. When I boot up (to reinstall Solaris 19) I now get this:

Configuring Devices.
WARNING: /pci@1f, 4000/scsi@3/sd@3, 0 (sd48):
corrupt label - bad geometry

Label says 35379200 blocks; Drive says 35378533 blocks
Using RPC Bootparams for network configuration information.
Attempting to configure interface hme0...
Skipped Interface hme0

What does this mean and how can I correct it under the EEPROM screen?

Thanks!

Fred

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby porter » Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:16 pm

Are the disks from foreign systems? You may want to run format on the disks, and reinstall again.

http://www.sun.com/bigadmin/content/submitted/format_utility.jsp
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
IndyFred
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby IndyFred » Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:35 am

Thanks Porter. I will try this when I get home. The E450 does not have Solaris loaded on it yet.

Thanks!

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Installing Solaris 10 on E450

Unread postby SAQ » Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:06 am

If you do a text console install you can put the root/boot on ZFS as well, and you can't do that under interactive (GUI).

I think that it might be easiest to label the disks (format program) from the GUI though - just bring up the root menu (right click on the desktop) and select "terminal"
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest