Adding a processor...

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Adding a processor...

Unread postby porter » Thu May 29, 2008 8:51 pm

I am adding a 2nd processor to an E250 running sol10. Do I just plug it in or do I need to do any reconfiguring for the OS to use it properly?
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
SupremeCmdr
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:38 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Adding a processor...

Unread postby SupremeCmdr » Fri May 30, 2008 5:34 am

Not sure about when adding a processor, but try a 'boot -r' at the OpenBoot Prompt.
Apple Unibody MBP 2.66Ghz, 8Gb OSX 10.6
Apple MacMini 1.83Ghz, 1Gb OSX 10.5
Apple Power Mac Cube 450Mhz, 256Mb, OSX 10.3 Sweet!
Sun Ultra10 440Mhz 1Gb, SunOS 5.10

http://gothmog.homeunix.net/blog

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Adding a processor...

Unread postby SAQ » Fri May 30, 2008 7:01 am

I think it's just plug-in. Since the Sun4m, all multiprocessing-capable architectures (Sun4m, Sun4d, Sun4u) have included multiprocessing support by default and as a required component.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

mgtremaine
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: San Diego, Ca
Contact:

Re: Adding a processor...

Unread postby mgtremaine » Sun Jun 01, 2008 7:09 pm

I second the it will just work. You can also use "touch /reconfigure" before you shut down to install the cpu so that at boot up it will reconfigure the /dev and /device trees.

-Mike

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Adding a processor...

Unread postby porter » Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:23 am

Cool. I'll report when I've done it.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

noisetonepause
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark

Re: Adding a processor...

Unread postby noisetonepause » Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:39 am

Can I just two different processors in dual socket Sun machines, or do they have to be the same?

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Adding a processor...

Unread postby porter » Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:49 am

My understanding is they have to be the same model exactly. Same speed, same CPU type, same cache types and sizes.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Adding a processor...

Unread postby SAQ » Mon Jun 02, 2008 8:22 am

noisetonepause wrote:Can I just two different processors in dual socket Sun machines, or do they have to be the same?


Depends on the arch. Sun4m they need to have the same MXCC revision, same processor type (SPARC vs SuperSPARC vs HyperSPARC) and the same MBUS speed (and you can't mix cache and non-cache modules), but they can be different speeds as long as those rules are followed.

Ultra-class machines require the same clockspeed, and Ex000 machines require the same clockspeed across the Gigaplane (has to do with the clocking: MBus modules have the clock generator onboard, Ultras have the clock generator on the mainboard or the clock board and it is common across the system). I believe that mixed-speed modules will run at the slowest valid speed, but have not tested this.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

noisetonepause
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark

Re: Adding a processor...

Unread postby noisetonepause » Mon Jun 02, 2008 3:26 pm

I see. Thank you.

I'm thinking about SPARCStation 20s, in particular.

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Adding a processor...

Unread postby porter » Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:04 am

Code: Select all

Sun (TM) Enterprise 250 (2 X UltraSPARC-II 400MHz), No Keyboard
OpenBoot 3.30, 768 MB memory installed, Serial #....


I also rebooted with "reboot -- -rv" just to be sure.

"top" happily refers to "cpu/0" and "cpu/1".
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests