Need 6 channels of 1280x1024 on Onyx2

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Jodeman
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 10:14 am
Location: Balconville, Canada

Need 6 channels of 1280x1024 on Onyx2

Unread postby Jodeman » Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:03 pm

Hey there,

Searching for info on older IR2 and IR3 graphics on the 'net is making my head spin. :?

System
Onyx2 Rack w/DG5-8

Goal
6 channels displaying 1280x1024
5 channels displaying 1280x1024 on another pipe.

--
Even possible using one rack?

I read thru most of the Onyx2 Technical Report. It's a bit old to even mention RM10-256.

Will 4 RM9-64's (totalling 256 Texture) do the trick? RM10-256 's?
Tech Report says 1 RM can handle 2 x 1280x1024. 2 RM can do 3 x 1280x1024. No mention of what 4 can do in terms of this resolution.

Any graphics gurus out there can offer anything on this? :-)

Thanks...
Jodeman's SGI & Stuff
--
Unofficial unauthorized mirror sites
http://www.siliconbunny.com/mirrors/www ... m/jodeman/
http://www.oocities.com/hinv.geo/index.html (Backup of the Geocities site.)
http://www.reocities.com/SiliconValley/hills/3730/ (Another backup of my Geocities site.)
http://www.geocities.ws/hinv.geo/ (Another backup of my Geocities site.)

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6594
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Unread postby foetz » Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:43 pm

depends on what you wanna do.
the rm is a 2-part component. it has the tram and the framebuffer.
the framebuffer is responsible for your display. one rm9-64 has 80mb framebuffer beside the
64mb tram so i guess it's enough to feed several screens.

if you want it to feed projectors for a cave or similar you might want to go with several
rm10 to increase the fillrate.

User avatar
Jodeman
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 10:14 am
Location: Balconville, Canada

Unread postby Jodeman » Fri Mar 11, 2005 1:23 pm

depends on what you wanna do.
the rm is a 2-part component. it has the tram and the framebuffer.
the framebuffer is responsible for your display. one rm9-64 has 80mb framebuffer beside the
64mb tram so i guess it's enough to feed several screens.

if you want it to feed projectors for a cave or similar you might want to go with several
rm10 to increase the fillrate.


I found this on some old obscure document:

IR
Framebuffer (*) 80MB - 320MB
Tex. Mem. (**) 64 MB
TFill, Pixel/s (*) 156M - 642M


IR2
Framebuffer (*) 80MB - 320MB
Tex. Mem. (**) 64 MB
TFill, Pixel/s (*) 192M - 768M


IR3
Framebuffer (*) 80MB - 320MB
Tex. Mem. (**) 256 MB
TFill, Pixel/s (*) 192M - 768M


IR4
Framebuffer (*) 160MB - 640MB
Tex. Mem. (**) 1024MB
TFill, Pixel/s (*) 322M - 1290M


The goal is to have 6 channels with a display of 1280x1024 on one pipe and another 5 channels with the same resolution on an 2nd pipe. Would like to know if RM9-64s will be sufficient for my needs.

Any idea if there's a way to calculate how many screens at what resolution is available with the different options?
Jodeman's SGI & Stuff
--
Unofficial unauthorized mirror sites
http://www.siliconbunny.com/mirrors/www ... m/jodeman/
http://www.oocities.com/hinv.geo/index.html (Backup of the Geocities site.)
http://www.reocities.com/SiliconValley/hills/3730/ (Another backup of my Geocities site.)
http://www.geocities.ws/hinv.geo/ (Another backup of my Geocities site.)

Brombear
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Rhein-Main Area) / Germany
Contact:

Unread postby Brombear » Fri Mar 11, 2005 10:09 pm

The more channel on one pipe the slower your graphics output will be. The research institute I was working some years ago was using a 3pipe onyx to power a 3 sided cave with active stereo. It was a major pita to see performance dropping after upgrading the cave to 5 sides. I don't know how many channels can be made of a single pipe, but for performance reasons I would strongly suggest against it.

Matthias
Life is what happens while we are making other plans

User avatar
artherd
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 11:45 pm
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Unread postby artherd » Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:20 pm

Fill rate will be your limiting factor. I am not sure if you will get there at 72Hz. What refresh do you need?

Note that while the onyx2 Graphics Module is dual pipe capable, the second pipe can have only TWO RMs. The first pipe can be fitted with 4.

So, you'll need two graphics modules and two ktown boards.
My first Indy is still my favourite SGI.
CDglobal Networks: http://www.cdglobal.net/


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests