Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:07 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 939
Location: great empire in the distant past
I have read on google groups that a guy was able to play the Nintendo GAMECUBE on his O2 display, that sounds nice, I had tried it with no luck some months ago :oops:

Here goes the text:

"Last weekend I managed to connect a Nintendo GameCube (European,
PAL) to an O2 with the AV1 option and display the output on a
computer monitor. In general it works well:
the 44 Hz audio is quite nice and without distortion, the image
quality is passably good, and as a bonus the Cube fits exactly on
top of an O2 (placed on a foam mat to protect from scratching, SGIs
have skins more sensitive than a baby's).


Some remarks:

- The process is CPU bound. With an R5K@300MHZ the load is about 0.25

- The 60 Hz (progressive scan?) PAL games don't work, unfortunately.
However, the (60 Hz) NTSC input is able to catch the (luma?) signal
but not the chroma which results in a grayscale image. Better than
nothing, of course.

- The O2 input signal settings are vaguely documented, but these
produce a nice image:

Auto Gain Control: on
VTR Mode: on
Disable Chroma Comb Filter: off
Prefilter: off
Filter Bypass: on/off

Aperture: 0.25
Bandpass Freq.: 4.1 MHz
Chroma Bandwith: 920 kHz
Luma Delay: -74 ns

Brightness: 163.000
Contrast: 1.171
Saturation: 1.062


Games tested:
Zelda: The Windwaker, Rayman 3, Sonic Adventure 2 Battle, Zelda
Collectors Edition (@60 Hz: Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask in
grayscale, Zelda 1 and Zelda 2 are unplayable (black screen))


My conclusion is that a Japanese/American NTSC GameCube plus the
FreeLoader Disc would be the ideal combination.

Happy gaming!"

So if someone feel the need to play with the O2 and a Nintendo or similar... :wink:

The O2 is no more here and my Octane2 has no video input device.

_________________
We are here on Earth to do good to others. What the others are here for, I don't know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 2:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 1:51 am
Posts: 18
Location: Yateley, Uk
Sorry to dig up an old thread, but I thought it might be of some use to someone. I have my Xbox wired up to an Indy using an S-Video connector, works great in both PAL and NTSC, I haven't tried the GC yet but I would image it would give the same results. In all honesty it looks superb, all I need to find now is a decent spec SGI machine with video input :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 8:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 263
Location: Atlanta, GA
I have thought about running the PS2 through the EVO card. I haven't tried ti yet but I hope it works. Would be a nice way to watch dvds or play Rally 2005. :lol:

_________________
Always act incompetent, so they expect less of you and your job will be much easier.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 939
Location: great empire in the distant past
Rev.Bubba wrote:
I have thought about running the PS2 through the EVO card. I haven't tried ti yet but I hope it works. Would be a nice way to watch dvds or play Rally 2005. :lol:


hide your PS2 and then tell to your buddies it is in fact an awesome emulator and you can even use the PS2 gamepad because... well, after all SGIs use PS/2 ports :lol:

_________________
We are here on Earth to do good to others. What the others are here for, I don't know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:54 pm
Posts: 402
Location: Germany/NRW/Bonn
I will try my AMIGA CD32 with OCTANE/EVO.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:14 am
Posts: 104
Location: London, UK
What program od you use to show the image and play the sound?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 1:51 am
Posts: 18
Location: Yateley, Uk
videoin. Does the job quite well on mine, can also play with the settings in videopanel.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 1:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:34 am
Posts: 706
I played through about half of Zelda: The Wind Waker on my O2 (NTSC Gamecube) before moving from San Diego. I never had any issues with color etc. Only problem I had was that in trying to do fullscreen video, the lag between the gamecube drawing, and the O2 displaying was bad enough to make the game harder to play, so I just used videoin, and left it in a window.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 4:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 12:08 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Detroit Metro area
I output from an Xbox to my O2 and then out to a video production monitor a few years ago.

Not a problem doing that at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 8:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 3:00 pm
Posts: 21
I redirect the output of the Ultra64 development board to the Indy VINO Video S-Video in and it works great!
I can develop in a window and see the program running in the VINO preview window :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 pm
Posts: 528
Location: City 17
I used to use my Mac TV's video in to play Dreamcast. It actually worked suprisingly well considering it was using a 32mhz cpu. Image quality wasn't the best, but it was pretty cool nonetheless.

_________________
Wake up, Mr. Freeman
Wake up, and smell
the ashes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 1:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 161
Location: TX
I had my PS2 hooked up to my av mod in my old R5k O2 and it worked great.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 10:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 222
Location: Caulifawnia
Any ideas as to why my GameCube works plug-n-play composite video and my N64 doesn't? I even used the same video cable to isolate the problem. My system is an O2 running 6.5.

Are there special settings -for some strange reason, for the N64 to run on the O2 using the videoin software? Like I mentioned, the GameCube works plug-n-play using the video in software.

thanks,

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Posts: 772
Location: Germany -> UK -> Germany...
my ps2 (slim version) and gamecube both worked flawlessly without forcing
me to dig through the vcp settings. used 'em for testing the o2's video capture quality (which is very good imo).

mnorton: were you maybe using a pal and ntsc console for your tests but left the vcp settings on whatever default it might have benn set to? other than that i could not imagine what the nintendos might do different.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 222
Location: Caulifawnia
hi,

I have my x-box plugged into my O2. The videoin is teeney. Is there an application with resizeable windowing to use? Or just get used to teeney windows for playing console games?

thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group