Page 1 of 1

Battery in Octane PVO card?

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:46 am
by Intuition
Was probably going to buy this Personal Video Option card from China in the next week or so.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/100-test-SGI-O ... Sw2hNZt1KO

Says he has two.

Only thing is that he says he can't ship batteries. But, does that apply to this card? I imagine that is just a general message for mobo or other chips.

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:19 pm
by robespierre
There are international regulations that limit the capacity of batteries on passenger airlines, which are the reason the MacBook batteries (for example) have had the same capacity for years: they are at the limit. The PVO card does not use a battery.

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:08 pm
by GIJoe
one thing to look for is that these boards might not be compatible with Vpro equipped octanes - in case you have one of these. I recall I had an octane compression board that caused kernel panics in such a system and it turned out that it did not play well at all with the Vpro board.

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:32 am
by hamei
GIJoe wrote:one thing to look for is that these boards might not be compatible with Vpro equipped octanes - in case you have one of these. I recall I had an octane compression board that caused kernel panics in such a system and it turned out that it did not play well at all with the Vpro board.

Octane compression is the only entry-level video board that does play well with vpro. But you've got to have 2gb or less of ram, that the secret sauce.

Why SGI didn't even fix its own stuff is pretty appalling. Too busy partying, I guess :(

Sky is convinced they failed because of Inventor's Dilemna. I think it's more likely because they became assholes.

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:04 pm
by Intuition
I have the EMXI so it should hook right up. I see the three slots on the back of the card that the PVO has connectors for.

But, honestly at the moment I am wondering if I should just figure out how to remote desktop from windows to see the Irix desktop there and then just use camtasia to record the tutorials, etc. Mainly because I've had some feedback saying that compressing a long file even with ntsc or pal takes forever such that it may seem like it has crashed or does freeze and never finish. Might be better to just use camtasia on the win7 machine recording a remote desktop session where I just do what I do on the SGI box and the windows remote desktop will be recorded on camtasia.

Just an idea since I have done camtasia many times before.

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:21 am
by hamei
Intuition wrote: I've had some feedback saying that compressing a long file even with ntsc or pal takes forever such that it may seem like it has crashed or does freeze and never finish.

In that case, you need Octane Compression !!