Battery in Octane PVO card?

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby Intuition » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:46 am

Was probably going to buy this Personal Video Option card from China in the next week or so.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/100-test-SGI-O ... Sw2hNZt1KO

Says he has two.

Only thing is that he says he can't ship batteries. But, does that apply to this card? I imagine that is just a general message for mobo or other chips.
Image O2 - 300mhz
Image O2 - 400mhz :1600SW: 1600sw
:Octane: 2x400mhz :O200: Origin 200 2x225mhz
aka Casey Christopher

robespierre
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby robespierre » Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:19 pm

There are international regulations that limit the capacity of batteries on passenger airlines, which are the reason the MacBook batteries (for example) have had the same capacity for years: they are at the limit. The PVO card does not use a battery.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

GIJoe
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Location: Germany

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby GIJoe » Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:08 pm

one thing to look for is that these boards might not be compatible with Vpro equipped octanes - in case you have one of these. I recall I had an octane compression board that caused kernel panics in such a system and it turned out that it did not play well at all with the Vpro board.

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10535
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby hamei » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:32 am

GIJoe wrote:one thing to look for is that these boards might not be compatible with Vpro equipped octanes - in case you have one of these. I recall I had an octane compression board that caused kernel panics in such a system and it turned out that it did not play well at all with the Vpro board.

Octane compression is the only entry-level video board that does play well with vpro. But you've got to have 2gb or less of ram, that the secret sauce.

Why SGI didn't even fix its own stuff is pretty appalling. Too busy partying, I guess :(

Sky is convinced they failed because of Inventor's Dilemna. I think it's more likely because they became assholes.
hey friendly ! come outta there ! you're a cheap lousy dirty stinkin' mug and I'm glad what I done !

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby Intuition » Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:04 pm

I have the EMXI so it should hook right up. I see the three slots on the back of the card that the PVO has connectors for.

But, honestly at the moment I am wondering if I should just figure out how to remote desktop from windows to see the Irix desktop there and then just use camtasia to record the tutorials, etc. Mainly because I've had some feedback saying that compressing a long file even with ntsc or pal takes forever such that it may seem like it has crashed or does freeze and never finish. Might be better to just use camtasia on the win7 machine recording a remote desktop session where I just do what I do on the SGI box and the windows remote desktop will be recorded on camtasia.

Just an idea since I have done camtasia many times before.
Image O2 - 300mhz
Image O2 - 400mhz :1600SW: 1600sw
:Octane: 2x400mhz :O200: Origin 200 2x225mhz
aka Casey Christopher

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10535
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby hamei » Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:21 am

Intuition wrote: I've had some feedback saying that compressing a long file even with ntsc or pal takes forever such that it may seem like it has crashed or does freeze and never finish.

In that case, you need Octane Compression !!
hey friendly ! come outta there ! you're a cheap lousy dirty stinkin' mug and I'm glad what I done !

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby Intuition » Sat Apr 28, 2018 10:07 am

Is that a card that captures on its own or is it to be used in combination with the Personal Video Option/Digital Video Option?
Image O2 - 300mhz
Image O2 - 400mhz :1600SW: 1600sw
:Octane: 2x400mhz :O200: Origin 200 2x225mhz
aka Casey Christopher

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2059
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby uunix » Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:04 am

Intuition wrote:Is that a card that captures on its own or is it to be used in combination with the Personal Video Option/Digital Video Option?
Not the same card that I have, but similar.
Mine connects to the EMXI and allows SD @ PAL & NTSC.

I use it with Flame 9.x and it works fine. Rendering is rather slow, but that's nothing to do with the card, just the fact that, that Octane only has 1280MB Ram.

It captures fine and does not drop frames which as you know is important.

The SD input comes from a SONY DV MiniDV player which gets it's feed via S-Video from a SONY DCR CamCorder.

It's currently monitoring a bird feeder cage in the garden, so I can gather proof the squirrel is steeling the food.

Code: Select all

Graphics board: EMXI
Digital Video: unit 1, revision 5.2, TMI: revision 2, CSC: revision 1
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby Intuition » Sat Apr 28, 2018 7:22 pm

I mean, does the Octane compression card have its own vid/in/out solution or do you combine it with the PVO or DVO?
Image O2 - 300mhz
Image O2 - 400mhz :1600SW: 1600sw
:Octane: 2x400mhz :O200: Origin 200 2x225mhz
aka Casey Christopher

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2059
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby uunix » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:29 am

Intuition wrote:I mean, does the Octane compression card have its own vid/in/out solution or do you combine it with the PVO or DVO?

Sorry yes, it has it's own video in and outs, you can use it with PVO if I read that correctly, or on its own.

http://www.futuretech.blinkenlights.nl/depot/sgidm_options.pdf
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

Re: Battery in Octane PVO card?

Unread postby Intuition » Tue May 01, 2018 7:09 pm

Ok. I found a PVO card for $200. It was attached to a ssi card so I’ll have to take it off and attach it to the emxi in the Octane. Should be here May 9th. :)

Hopefully the delivery demons show me mercy this time.
Image O2 - 300mhz
Image O2 - 400mhz :1600SW: 1600sw
:Octane: 2x400mhz :O200: Origin 200 2x225mhz
aka Casey Christopher


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests