What kind of camera

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

What kind of camera

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:32 pm

So I have all this yummy SGI goodness chock full of blockbuster-making software, and want to know...

What camera should I get to make my first retro vaporwave YouTube hit?

I have an iPhone, but it only outputs to MP4, and AFAIK there is no IRIX software that reads that format. HD would be nice (it's gotta look good if you're smoking pot), but I realize that would be asking too much.

Ideas?
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:13 pm

I should think any kind of DV camera would work. My Fuel will play the output from my FireWire video boxes, which is just standard DV. Since those cameras are way out of fashion, they would probably be pretty cheap.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:16 pm

I'm a pretty big newb with video, but I think it would be a good use of my SGIs and a hobby on top of a hobby. Can you lead me in the direction of a DV camera?
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:25 pm

I personally use the Canon Vixia HV30, which is an HDV camera but has a DV mode. Prior to that I used a JVC DV camera, but I don't remember the model number or where it went. The Vixias seem to be pretty well regarded and mine works quite well, though I use it primarily with the Power Mac G5 for HD video. Either way you're likely looking for a used or refurbished unit. It shouldn't be especially costly for the camera these days.

These are all tape-based, by the way, though Mini DV tape is still pretty cheap as well. However, that also means you'll need some way to get the tape data to the SGI. Since it looks like all you have are O2s, you'll likely need an intermediate system (I just dump the .dv file on the Mac using Final Cut and FTP it to the Fuel). It is possible to use a FireWire DTE with most DV cameras (I use the Focus FS-CF Pro) to record to Compact Flash, too, but such devices are not cheap or common anymore.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:31 pm

My primary O2 has a video input card. Thanks. This leads me in the direction I need to look.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:34 pm

You could consider a simple composite camera in that case. Your O2 would do all the recording itself. Something even like an off-the-shelf security camera could work once you convert the BNC connector to RCA (most of them come with this part). However, see this thread: viewtopic.php?t=5319
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:52 pm

Hmm...I need to do some research then. There are a lot of options, and all of them are very good.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby uunix » Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:17 pm

What software do you plan to use?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:46 pm

Adobe Premiere for editing and maybe Flame for effects,
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

gocram
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:15 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby gocram » Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:28 pm

You can do editing in Flame, too, probably better than under Première (considering its limitations, including the way it was ported to UNIX platforms at the time). Then there's also the impressive SGO Jaleo, but that doesn't really run too smoothly on an O2, even on one with maximum specifications.

Flame is probably the way to go, else perhaps Shake (although it's not made for editing, but you can still do it the hard way), especially if you have a certain resolution in mind and are willing to stick with it.
Last edited by gocram on Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
:O2: 400/R12ᴋ, 1GB RAM, digvid (AV2), UW-SCSI PCI, 256GB SSD (int.) & 4×300GB 15ᴋ/U320 HDDs (ext.), DVD
:Indigo2IMP: 195/R10ᴋ, 1GB RAM, High IMPACT+TRAM, IMPACT Video, 72.8GB 10ᴋ/U320 HDD & 256GB SSD, CD
LOOKING FOR:
HIGH IMPACT-AA or MAXIMUM IMPACT graphics board set (for IP28)
ITEMS FOR SALE/TRADE

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby Dodoid » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:47 pm

I tried to use Jaleo once. It seemed interesting, but I couldn't figure out how to do the most basic of things with it. Gave up after a few hours of looking for docs.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby praetor242 » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:04 am

I didn't realize Flame was an editor too. I may give that a try on my Octane when I get it.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

gocram
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:15 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby gocram » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:03 am

The editing capabilities of Spark/Effect/Flint, Flame and Inferno are limited compared to Smoke and Fire, needless to say, but you can definitely edit.

In earlier versions editing is done on the Desktop and in the Play modules and in later versions of Flame and Fire you can also do more advanced editing in Batch, which eventually became similar to Smoke and Fire in features and functionality. Unfortunately it didn't fully see the day of light in the IFFFS suites for IRIX, only the latest releases of Flame and Inferno for IRIX did incorporate some extended editing functionality (as a matter of fact, also Linux missed some of the latest changes, which can be mostly or only found in the later macOS X releases).

It's a rather unique way of editing, not necessarily bad, although quite limiting if you're used to multi-track timeline-based editing. One of the things where Flame is very powerful in terms of editing is by processing effects, even for things like transitions and where you have a lot of control.
Last edited by gocram on Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
:O2: 400/R12ᴋ, 1GB RAM, digvid (AV2), UW-SCSI PCI, 256GB SSD (int.) & 4×300GB 15ᴋ/U320 HDDs (ext.), DVD
:Indigo2IMP: 195/R10ᴋ, 1GB RAM, High IMPACT+TRAM, IMPACT Video, 72.8GB 10ᴋ/U320 HDD & 256GB SSD, CD
LOOKING FOR:
HIGH IMPACT-AA or MAXIMUM IMPACT graphics board set (for IP28)
ITEMS FOR SALE/TRADE

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby praetor242 » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:16 am

This hasn't been a high priority. I've been doing other SGI-ish things. Plus I need a camera that can output to a supported format. I have my iPhone, and I could convert video files to MPEG or something, but that's kinda cheating.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

gocram
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:15 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: What kind of camera

Unread postby gocram » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:22 am

Using an iPhone is arguably ‘cheating’, too... or definitely less authentic, if that's the aim. To be fully authentic, you must acquire hardware that's simply too costly and big, not to mention fairly hard to come by used (or, again, affordably).

Your best bet would be to procure a second-hand camcorder-type of video camera with either S-video output or even HDMI output and then use the analog A/V (AV1) module or (SD-)SDI (with a camera that can output SD over HDMI, else with the use of a scaler device) with a digital A/V (AV2) module in an O2.
:O2: 400/R12ᴋ, 1GB RAM, digvid (AV2), UW-SCSI PCI, 256GB SSD (int.) & 4×300GB 15ᴋ/U320 HDDs (ext.), DVD
:Indigo2IMP: 195/R10ᴋ, 1GB RAM, High IMPACT+TRAM, IMPACT Video, 72.8GB 10ᴋ/U320 HDD & 256GB SSD, CD
LOOKING FOR:
HIGH IMPACT-AA or MAXIMUM IMPACT graphics board set (for IP28)
ITEMS FOR SALE/TRADE


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest