Output Video to AV2 default Out

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Output Video to AV2 default Out

Unread postby uunix » Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:09 pm

Apart from Video Panel - Utilities - Live Out, can I output say a movie (not worried about quality yet) through the default Out on the o2 AV2 Card?

At the moment, I'm outputting the screen to my VBOB and then to my Octane, but I'd like to pipe some video through it?

Chaaaaars!..
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

robespierre
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Output Video to AV2 default Out

Unread postby robespierre » Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:56 pm

you can display either Graphics or Memory buffers to the AV2 output. So any video that's playing on your screen in any application (like mplayer) can be output, or you can output directly from a file using an appropriate video tool.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Output Video to AV2 default Out

Unread postby uunix » Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:59 pm

So.. (and excuse the fact I haven't looked up the device names).. mplayer filmX | /dev/AV/out ? in principle?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

robespierre
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Output Video to AV2 default Out

Unread postby robespierre » Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:41 pm

No, you would just run mplayer like normal, but use videoout(1) to make it go over the SDI output.
Or you could use a program like avplayback(1) to play a file over the output; I don't know whether mplayer supports the VL....
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Output Video to AV2 default Out

Unread postby uunix » Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:21 am

Thanks Robespierre
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest