Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
strong_epoxy
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby strong_epoxy » Sun May 24, 2015 9:03 pm

Install Flame and it takes over the machine's environment. Toolchest is abreviated etc... Is there a way to install it like a normal piece of software?
:Cube: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indy: :320: :1600SW: :Fuel: :Onyx2:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6396
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby foetz » Sun May 24, 2015 11:00 pm

Code: Select all

chkconfig desktop on


after the installation should do the trick. however the (formerly) discreet programs do what they do for good reason so changing stuff that's set by the installer might cause problems

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia

Re: Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Mon May 25, 2015 9:56 am

Install Discreet products under separate users from your main account :)
:Fuel: R16000 900MHz 4GB V12 6.5.30 reimu
HP C8000 PA-8900 1.0GHz, 8GB, FireGL HP-UX 11iv1 rider
Thinkpad W530 i7 3740QM 2.7GHz, 32GB, K1000M FreeBSD 11/Windows 7 rin
Asus 5157 (headless) 4GB, FreeBSD 11 kuran
Collection of Azure Servers (Algo Star System) (FreeBSD 11)

http://projectkitsune.com

I develop FoxBSD, support the BSDs and UNIX scene in general.

Recovering Apple addict (2005-2014, $15k later), don't start - learn from my misery.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6396
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby foetz » Mon May 25, 2015 3:14 pm

TeamBlackFox wrote:Install Discreet products under separate users from your main account :)

that's not enough. the installer changes global settings

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2934
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue May 26, 2015 12:44 am

If all it's borking is the toolchest just grab the system.chestrc (or whatever it's called, don't have mine on at the mo to check for sure), copy it to your home directory as .chestrc and edit to your heart's content! :mrgreen:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest