Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
strong_epoxy
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby strong_epoxy » Sun May 24, 2015 9:03 pm

Install Flame and it takes over the machine's environment. Toolchest is abreviated etc... Is there a way to install it like a normal piece of software?
:Cube: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indy: :320: :1600SW: :Fuel: :Onyx2:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6314
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby foetz » Sun May 24, 2015 11:00 pm

Code: Select all

chkconfig desktop on


after the installation should do the trick. however the (formerly) discreet programs do what they do for good reason so changing stuff that's set by the installer might cause problems

User avatar
TeamBlackFox
Posts: 711
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Re: Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby TeamBlackFox » Mon May 25, 2015 9:56 am

Install Discreet products under separate users from your main account :)
:fuel: 900MHz 4GB

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6314
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby foetz » Mon May 25, 2015 3:14 pm

TeamBlackFox wrote:Install Discreet products under separate users from your main account :)

that's not enough. the installer changes global settings

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2804
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Install Flame Without Corrupting Users Environment?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue May 26, 2015 12:44 am

If all it's borking is the toolchest just grab the system.chestrc (or whatever it's called, don't have mine on at the mo to check for sure), copy it to your home directory as .chestrc and edit to your heart's content! :mrgreen:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest