I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby porter » Sat May 16, 2009 5:05 pm

But don't want have to buy QuickTime Pro to do so.

Back in the early days of QuickTime I'm sure you could make movie without the extra Pro package. When was that? How is/was it done?




Moderator Edit: Moved from the Apple Forum to the SGI: Video Forum since the solution involved IRIX. <recondas>
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4444
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby pentium » Sat May 16, 2009 5:24 pm

I'll have to double check but I think way, way back when Avid Videoshop was still being bundled with the Apple Video Kit you were able to do it.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5323
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby recondas » Sat May 16, 2009 8:43 pm

How about using IRIX?

makemovie(1)
makemovie - make a movie from movie, image, and audio files....

You can output the results in several QT formats:
Choices for the QuickTime movie format are "qt_anim" (QuickTime Animation), "qt_video" (QuickTime Video), "qt_cvid" (Compact Video), "jpeg", "huffyuv" (Huffman Lossless), and "none".
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby porter » Sun May 17, 2009 12:17 am

Excellent, just what I wanted, my little Indy struggled with the 124 jpegs but got there in the end!

Thanks alot, indeed!
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
tomo
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
Contact:

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby tomo » Sun May 17, 2009 12:26 am

Yeah, new usefull command :)

Another question - is there a command/ shell program witch creates video from multiple composition files? Like one file for background another for rendered contents?
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Sun May 17, 2009 4:10 am

tomo wrote:Yeah, new usefull command :)

Another question - is there a command/ shell program witch creates video from multiple composition files? Like one file for background another for rendered contents?


Its called shake.


Regan
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5323
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby recondas » Sun May 17, 2009 8:35 am

porter wrote:Thanks alot, indeed!

You're welcome!
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
tomo
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
Contact:

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby tomo » Sun May 17, 2009 9:16 am

PymbleSoftware wrote:
tomo wrote:Yeah, new usefull command :)

Another question - is there a command/ shell program witch creates video from multiple composition files? Like one file for background another for rendered contents?


Its called shake.


Regan


I'm using shake currently - but it is like killing flys with hammer. My tree in shake contents only these objects: 2xfile_in, layer and file out. Before shake I'v used gimp - but I must manually paste composited content to background image for every frame and then save to another file.
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby porter » Sun May 17, 2009 1:46 pm

recondas wrote:makemovie(1)


Just like Dire Straits. :)
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
tomo
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
Contact:

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby tomo » Sun May 17, 2009 9:40 pm

eMGee wrote:
tomo wrote:I'm using shake currently - but it is like killing flys with hammer. My tree in shake contents only these objects: 2xfile_in, layer and file out. Before shake I'v used gimp - but I must manually paste composited content to background image for every frame and then save to another file.

You mean in the regard that it only pays off going through the trouble of building a composite for more complex setups and operations? Because Shake itself sure is an extremely light-weight program for something as powerful as it. I don't know how well it runs on an O2, like yours, but it flies on my machine.


Yes shake is fine at O2 as mine is. But I work "only" with PAL resolutions. I'v mean that it could be far more faster (if sutch program exists) to do it like this:

Code: Select all

./composite frame_background.#.rgb frame_rendered_contents.#.rgb -o composited_output.#.rgb

it seems mutch more faster then running shake, add nodes and then render it out... Of course if I want color manipulation ower layers or add some effects, then Shake is really good choice.
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc

User avatar
bplaa.yai
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: Paris

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby bplaa.yai » Mon May 18, 2009 12:31 am

tomo wrote:Yes shake is fine at O2 as mine is. But I work "only" with PAL resolutions. I'v mean that it could be far more faster (if sutch program exists) to do it like this:

Code: Select all

./composite frame_background.#.rgb frame_rendered_contents.#.rgb -o composited_output.#.rgb

it seems mutch more faster then running shake, add nodes and then render it out... Of course if I want color manipulation ower layers or add some effects, then Shake is really good choice.

I'm pretty sure Image Magick would do a great job at it. Relevant examples here.
:Onyx2: :O2: :O3x0: :O3x0:

User avatar
tomo
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
Contact:

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEGs

Unread postby tomo » Mon May 18, 2009 7:50 am

bplaa.yai wrote:
tomo wrote:Yes shake is fine at O2 as mine is. But I work "only" with PAL resolutions. I'v mean that it could be far more faster (if sutch program exists) to do it like this:

Code: Select all

./composite frame_background.#.rgb frame_rendered_contents.#.rgb -o composited_output.#.rgb

it seems mutch more faster then running shake, add nodes and then render it out... Of course if I want color manipulation ower layers or add some effects, then Shake is really good choice.

I'm pretty sure Image Magick would do a great job at it. Relevant examples here.


Thanks! This is something what I'v mean.
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc

User avatar
hazelden
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEG

Unread postby hazelden » Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:43 am

Shake can be run from the terminal and used to perform image manipulation and format conversion. You can even make an image sequence into a QuickTime movie.

Here are a few examples of commands you could use from the terrminal:

Format conversion ( -t 1-5 means to load from frame 1 to frame 5):

Code: Select all

shake bg.@.iff -fileout frame.@.jpg -t 1-5


Format conversion with frame padding (leading zeros) on output:

Code: Select all

shake bg.@.iff -fileout frame.#.jpg -t 1-5


Shake Composite Over in Viewer:

Code: Select all

shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -t 1-25


Shake Composite Over Then Load Tree in GUI:

Code: Select all

shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -t 1-25 -gui


Composite Over Save Image Sequence: (-fileout can be written as -fo)

Code: Select all

shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -fileout comp.@.jpg -t 1-5

shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -fo comp.@.jpg -t 1-25


Comp Image Sequence and Save QuickTime Movie:

Code: Select all

shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -fo comp.mov -t 1-25
Andrew Hazelden, VFX Artist
Personal Blog: www.AndrewHazelden.com

:O2: SGI O2, 195 MHz R10K, 320 MB ram, AV1 Video i/o card, 36GB HD

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2932
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: I want to make a QuickTime video from a sequence of JPEG

Unread postby squeen » Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:02 am

A FLOSS option is ffmpeg. Its fast, supports a ton of codecs, has few dependencies and is even in Nekoware.


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest