Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:44 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 4:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 2913
Location: NZ
But don't want have to buy QuickTime Pro to do so.

Back in the early days of QuickTime I'm sure you could make movie without the extra Pro package. When was that? How is/was it done?




Moderator Edit: Moved from the Apple Forum to the SGI: Video Forum since the solution involved IRIX. <recondas>

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 4:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: Kamloops, BC
I'll have to double check but I think way, way back when Avid Videoshop was still being bundled with the Apple Video Kit you were able to do it.

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 7:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5155
Location: NC - USA
How about using IRIX?

makemovie(1)
Quote:
makemovie - make a movie from movie, image, and audio files....

You can output the results in several QT formats:
Quote:
Choices for the QuickTime movie format are "qt_anim" (QuickTime Animation), "qt_video" (QuickTime Video), "qt_cvid" (Compact Video), "jpeg", "huffyuv" (Huffman Lossless), and "none".

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 11:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 2913
Location: NZ
Excellent, just what I wanted, my little Indy struggled with the 124 jpegs but got there in the end!

Thanks alot, indeed!

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 11:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 224
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
Yeah, new usefull command :)

Another question - is there a command/ shell program witch creates video from multiple composition files? Like one file for background another for rendered contents?

_________________
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 3:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:48 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
tomo wrote:
Yeah, new usefull command :)

Another question - is there a command/ shell program witch creates video from multiple composition files? Like one file for background another for rendered contents?


Its called shake.


Regan

_________________
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Book ----> http://pymblesoftware.com/book/
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 7:35 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5155
Location: NC - USA
porter wrote:
Thanks alot, indeed!

You're welcome!

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 8:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 224
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
PymbleSoftware wrote:
tomo wrote:
Yeah, new usefull command :)

Another question - is there a command/ shell program witch creates video from multiple composition files? Like one file for background another for rendered contents?


Its called shake.


Regan


I'm using shake currently - but it is like killing flys with hammer. My tree in shake contents only these objects: 2xfile_in, layer and file out. Before shake I'v used gimp - but I must manually paste composited content to background image for every frame and then save to another file.

_________________
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 12:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 2913
Location: NZ
recondas wrote:


Just like Dire Straits. :)

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 8:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 224
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
eMGee wrote:
tomo wrote:
I'm using shake currently - but it is like killing flys with hammer. My tree in shake contents only these objects: 2xfile_in, layer and file out. Before shake I'v used gimp - but I must manually paste composited content to background image for every frame and then save to another file.

You mean in the regard that it only pays off going through the trouble of building a composite for more complex setups and operations? Because Shake itself sure is an extremely light-weight program for something as powerful as it. I don't know how well it runs on an O2, like yours, but it flies on my machine.


Yes shake is fine at O2 as mine is. But I work "only" with PAL resolutions. I'v mean that it could be far more faster (if sutch program exists) to do it like this:
Code:
./composite frame_background.#.rgb frame_rendered_contents.#.rgb -o composited_output.#.rgb

it seems mutch more faster then running shake, add nodes and then render it out... Of course if I want color manipulation ower layers or add some effects, then Shake is really good choice.

_________________
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 11:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:04 am
Posts: 307
Location: Paris
tomo wrote:
Yes shake is fine at O2 as mine is. But I work "only" with PAL resolutions. I'v mean that it could be far more faster (if sutch program exists) to do it like this:
Code:
./composite frame_background.#.rgb frame_rendered_contents.#.rgb -o composited_output.#.rgb

it seems mutch more faster then running shake, add nodes and then render it out... Of course if I want color manipulation ower layers or add some effects, then Shake is really good choice.

I'm pretty sure Image Magick would do a great job at it. Relevant examples here.

_________________
:Onyx2: :Fuel: :O2: :O3x0: :O3x0:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 6:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 224
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
bplaa.yai wrote:
tomo wrote:
Yes shake is fine at O2 as mine is. But I work "only" with PAL resolutions. I'v mean that it could be far more faster (if sutch program exists) to do it like this:
Code:
./composite frame_background.#.rgb frame_rendered_contents.#.rgb -o composited_output.#.rgb

it seems mutch more faster then running shake, add nodes and then render it out... Of course if I want color manipulation ower layers or add some effects, then Shake is really good choice.

I'm pretty sure Image Magick would do a great job at it. Relevant examples here.


Thanks! This is something what I'v mean.

_________________
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 4:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 11:09 am
Posts: 54
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Shake can be run from the terminal and used to perform image manipulation and format conversion. You can even make an image sequence into a QuickTime movie.

Here are a few examples of commands you could use from the terrminal:

Format conversion ( -t 1-5 means to load from frame 1 to frame 5):
Code:
shake bg.@.iff -fileout frame.@.jpg -t 1-5


Format conversion with frame padding (leading zeros) on output:
Code:
shake bg.@.iff -fileout frame.#.jpg -t 1-5


Shake Composite Over in Viewer:
Code:
shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -t 1-25


Shake Composite Over Then Load Tree in GUI:
Code:
shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -t 1-25 -gui


Composite Over Save Image Sequence: (-fileout can be written as -fo)
Code:
shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -fileout comp.@.jpg -t 1-5

shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -fo comp.@.jpg -t 1-25


Comp Image Sequence and Save QuickTime Movie:
Code:
shake fg.@.iff -over bg.@.iff -fo comp.mov -t 1-25

_________________
Andrew Hazelden, VFX Artist
Personal Blog: www.AndrewHazelden.com

:O2: SGI O2, 195 MHz R10K, 320 MB ram, AV1 Video i/o card, 36GB HD


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:02 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 5:10 am
Posts: 2931
Location: Maryland, USA
A FLOSS option is ffmpeg. Its fast, supports a ton of codecs, has few dependencies and is even in Nekoware.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group