Does Effect on O2 use M-JPEG compression?

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
colin
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 5:43 pm
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Contact:

Does Effect on O2 use M-JPEG compression?

Unread postby colin » Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:37 am

I have been thinking about getting an Effect* system, which uses O2 hardware, but I'm wondering... does effect use M-JPEG compression or would I be stuck having to rig together the bandwidth for uncompressed video? I'm pretty sure Jale02 uses M-JPEG.

jdboyd
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 11:47 am
Location: Southern PA

Re: Does Effect on O2 use M-JPEG compression?

Unread postby jdboyd » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:32 am

colin wrote:I have been thinking about getting an Effect* system, which uses O2 hardware, but I'm wondering... does effect use M-JPEG compression or would I be stuck having to rig together the bandwidth for uncompressed video? I'm pretty sure Jale02 uses M-JPEG.


Effect does not use MJPEG.

As to storage, you really are supposed to use the Discreet drive arrays anyway, so you don't really have to worry about rigging together a fast enough array.

If you were using a discreet array, there are plenty of single drives that can saturate UW scsi without an entire array. On my O2, I have 2 such 18 gig seagate drives on two buses striped for very fast performance.

User avatar
SiliconClassics
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Does Effect on O2 use M-JPEG compression?

Unread postby SiliconClassics » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:50 am

Just bear in mind that effect can be configured to use any drive attached to the system as a framestore, which includes non-discreet drive arrays and even the system drive. A single fast drive, as mentioned, would be enough to provide realtime playback of uncompressed NTSC/PAL video, which requires about 30MB/s of bandwidth.

User avatar
colin
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 5:43 pm
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Contact:

Re: Does Effect on O2 use M-JPEG compression?

Unread postby colin » Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:32 am

Hmm, not sure how I got it in my head that effect used mjpeg. Knowing this, though, I think I would rather seek out an Octane-based system, either Discreet or perhaps with IFX Piranha. Way less rendering time anyway.


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest