firewire video

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

firewire video

Unread postby hamei » Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:37 am

I remember that some people got this working but can't find the specifics for the life of me :( ....
Firewire is working fine for disks, sees the camera

Code: Select all

hinv -vm (abbreviated)
IIDC Video Camera: unit 0, revision 1.30, connected to DM10, unit 0

Code: Select all

fwprobe
Probing DM10 cards...
Number of cards: 1
Card Info
=========
Card #: 0
Name  : DM10
ID    : 0x0
Ports : 3
Speed : 400 / 400

4 devices attached
Device 0: 0x0
  Vendor: Silicon Graphics, Inc.
   Model: DMediaPro DM10
   Proto: HBA
Device 1: 0xD04B561107262B
  Vendor: LA CIE GROUP S.A.
   Model: LaCie Hard Drive FireWire+
   Proto: SBP2
Device 2: 0x800286000018B3E
  Vendor: Texas Instruments
   Model: TI
   Proto: IIDC
Device 3: 0xD016010000182F
  Vendor: SCM MICROSYSTEMS, INC.
   Model: FireWire CameraMate
   Proto: SBP2

have a camera icon showing on the desktop, chkconfig videod on, go to the media recorder options, nothing but 'record from screen' under source options, hit the options -> video panel button, popup saying "This machine has no video daemon. The Video Panel cannot operate."

Try /usr/etc/videod in various forms, every time get

Code: Select all

/usr/etc/videod

Fatal server error:
no devices found


I can see the camera, fwprobe and hinv can see the camera but the video daemon apparently cannot ...

What dumbass thing am I doing wrong ? (Yes, I think the video subsystem is installed. The parts seem to be there and the system is listed in versions or the software manager ... )
.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: firewire video

Unread postby recondas » Sun Dec 07, 2008 9:19 am

hamei wrote:Yes, I think the video subsystem is installed. The parts seem to be there and the system is listed in versions or the software manager ...
I'm probably not reading between the lines sufficiently, but what does

Code: Select all

# versions dmedia_eoe
show you?
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: firewire video

Unread postby hamei » Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:43 pm

recondas wrote: ... but what does

Code: Select all

# versions dmedia_eoe
show you?

Code: Select all

fool 1% versions dmedia_eoe                                           
I = Installed, R = Removed

   Name                 Date        Description

I  dmedia_eoe           04/17/2007  Digital Media Execution Environment, 6.5.30
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64      04/17/2007  Digital Media 64-bit Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64.lib  04/17/2007  Digital Media 64-bit Execution Libraries

I  dmedia_eoe           04/17/2007  Digital Media Execution Environment, 6.5.30
I  dmedia_eoe.books     04/17/2007  Digital Media Books
I  dmedia_eoe.books.FXbuilder_Help  04/17/2007  FXBuilder Help
I  dmedia_eoe.books.MediaTls_UG  04/17/2007  Media Tools User's Guide, Help and
                                    Book
I  dmedia_eoe.books.SynthEditor_UG  04/17/2007  Using Synthesizer Editor
I  dmedia_eoe.data      02/19/2005  Digital Media Data Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.moremovies  02/19/2005  More Sample Movie Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.movies  02/19/2005  Sample Movie Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.music  02/19/2005  Sample Standard MIDI Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.soundscheme  02/19/2005  Desktop Sound Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.synth  02/19/2005  MIDI Synthesizer Data Files
I  dmedia_eoe.man       04/17/2007  Digital Media Documentation
I  dmedia_eoe.man.pages 04/17/2007  Digital Media Manual Pages
I  dmedia_eoe.man.relnotes  04/17/2007  Digital Media Release Notes
I  dmedia_eoe.sw        04/17/2007  Digital Media Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.audio  04/17/2007  Audio System Components
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.base   04/17/2007  Digital Media System Components
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.lib    04/17/2007  Digital Media Execution Libraries
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.plugins  04/17/2007  Digital Media Plug-ins
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.synth  04/17/2007  MIDI Synthesizer
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.tools  04/17/2007  Digital Media Tools


Se any clues ?

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: firewire video

Unread postby recondas » Mon Dec 08, 2008 9:08 am

hamei wrote:I remember that some people got this working but can't find the specifics for the life of me :( .....

You've probably BTDT, but here's some of the more interesting references I found for fuel+firewire+camera+IIDC:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5774&p=43806&#p43806

Same topic <but a little farther downstream>:
viewtopic.php?t=5774&start=74

Looks like you aren't the only one:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13870&

So might it be possible that the specific IIDC camera or SGI's implimentation/revision of IIDC <via libdc1394> isn't compliant with the cameras that won't work?

Not to worry, ;) there's lots of IIDC cameras to choose from.

If you'd like a rough starting point, neko mentions using an older iRez StealthFire IIDC camera. If you scroll down the list of firewire cameras <linked above>, the iRez StealthFire was compliant with IIDC 1.04 a fairly early revision. Could it be possible that IIDC 1.04 roughly dates to the same period IRIX development began to lose momentum, and IRIX has a hard time with IIDC cameras compliant with later revisions of the standard?

The only libdc1394 reference I could find on TechPubs was in the linux library: http://techpubs.sgi.com/library/tpl/cgi ... HOWTO.html
Which indirectly brought up the ARToolKit <link 1 - link2>, and this nekochan topic.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: firewire video

Unread postby hamei » Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:50 pm

recondas wrote:... here's some of the more interesting references I found ...

If I'm ever in a tight spot with twelve minutes until the bomb goes off destroying humanity, I want recondas on my research team !

Found that I have no "video" directory under /usr/lib/dmedia. Maybe a good place to start the troubleshooting process ....

strandedinnz
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: firewire video

Unread postby strandedinnz » Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:59 am

Hi there,

Where are the tools "fwprobe" and what not located ?

I can't find them on my system :-( Any ideas what package they are in ?

Thanks!

Mark
:Fuel:

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: firewire video

Unread postby hamei » Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:46 am

strandedinnz wrote:Where are the tools "fwprobe" and what not located ?

I can't find them on my system :-( Any ideas what package they are in ?

dm10_1.0.1.tardist

It was a separate download from SGI, not sure where to find it these days. Supportfolio ?

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: firewire video

Unread postby recondas » Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:04 am

***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

strandedinnz
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: firewire video

Unread postby strandedinnz » Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:45 am

Ahh perfect! Thanks.

I suppose the next question is .... how do I capture video from a firewire device ? What programs do I have to run ? Are there any background processes ? Basically how do I set it all up ? :-)

Apologies for jumping the thread ... just was on the topic that was bothering me as well!

Regards

Mark
:Fuel:

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4940
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: firewire video

Unread postby jan-jaap » Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:50 am

strandedinnz wrote:I suppose the next question is .... how do I capture video from a firewire device ?

I'm afraid the short answer is 'you don't'.

I've tried with a variety of 1394 devices:
* IIDC (webcams): can't remember it worked
* AVC (digicam): recognized, but no video
* SBP2: can make a filesystem, but heavy disk I/O such as 'fsr' will crash the system. That was with the supported Lacie D2 drive, btw.

It depends a bit what system you use (O2, Fuel) and whether you use the released(1.0.1) version or some beta version that's floating around, but I never had much success with it.

Have a look here: http://www.sgi.com/products/remarketed/ ... l#video_io to see what's supported.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: firewire video

Unread postby hamei » Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:58 pm

eMGee wrote:No but, I don't understand why you'd need an `ADS PYRO A/V Link' if all you want to do is hook up a (Mini)DV camera.

Any IIDC camera should work. The Pyro and the Canopus just change analog video into iidc firewire input. Neko actually got an Irez to show up on the desktop ... backwards, true, but it did work. All we have to do is figure out how he did it :)

Since they have devices listed as "supported" all we have to do to get to the bottom of this is give a user who has a support contract all the goodies and have him call in a problem. Then at least we could find out the truth. All my hardware is "equivalent" rather than "the exact stuff" unfortunately, or it'd be on its way to Oskar45 right now ...

thorias
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 4:38 am

Re: firewire video

Unread postby thorias » Thu Dec 25, 2008 4:07 pm

Same for me here, I have an ADS PYRO A/V Link can see it with fwprobe but can't figure out how to use/capture video throught it.... :evil:
O2 R12000A 400Mhz, 1Gb, QLA2342, AV2

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: firewire video

Unread postby hamei » Thu Dec 25, 2008 5:21 pm

eMGee wrote:The situation is pretty bad at the moment with the DM10. Not only video-wise, but also using FW-storage is very hard, if not impossible (I have yet to hear someone having managed to get it to work).

Hunh ? I've been using a Lacie "Designed by Ferdinand the Bull" aluminum box for years. Literally. At least three, maybe four. Works great, nicely fast, with one caveat : xfs_fsr locks it up instantly.

I've also got a firewire Microtech Cameramate for reading CF and SD cards, that works fine too. Not very fast but what do you expect from a flash card ? Still want to try one of those miniature hard disks on that, just for fun. Could definitely use a userland fat32 file system driver, I'd like to be able to use the disk in the camera as well. Most cameras don't read xfs :)

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: firewire video

Unread postby hamei » Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:07 am

eMGee wrote:The biggest problem is: I can't initialize HDDs. I do manage to access them with fx, via "/dev/rdsk/1394/../" (via "/dev/dsk/1394/../" only if I connect it directly to the IO9 IDE connector). Preparing also works (partitioning, adding labels/headers and such). Regardless, via FW it always — oddly enough — precedes with an I/O error of some type. Even after I prepared a HDD, it won't be recognized as a mountable HDD in the (GUI-based) Disk Manager. It often hangs up. It also hangs up via a non-GUI mount command, or hangs up after you try to initialize..

There are specific directions around here that work. Zafunk may have been the first to get a firewire disk running so search his posts especially. I used a generic TI-chipset card for years, now an Adaptec DuoConnect (articles about that as well.) The mount command I use (as root) is :

mount /dev/dsk/1394/d04b561107262b/lun0vol/c1p0 /usr/people/username/mountpoint

Your device numbers etc will be different but you can get the address from a hinv command or by plowing thru the directories visually. You'll need a filesystem and all that on it beforehand, of course. More search :) But it's all right here, in several long threads.

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: firewire video

Unread postby hamei » Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:29 pm

eMGee wrote:As I said, doing that will often hang it up without prompting anything...

Oh, wait a minute ... you're not trying to use the gui, are you ? The disk manager / file manager ? "Initialize a disk" ? Even with a formatted running disk, the little pie-slices disk thingy shows up on my Desktop and makes all kinds of spurious claims. If you use the gui it will trash your disk. You have to do it all from a command line.


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest