Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 1:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 12:15 am
Posts: 341
Location: Netherlands
Hi Foetz,

Thanks for the update. very usefull to know that also Pirana needs uncompressed pictures instead of direct mpeg/jpeg stuff.

And that can be on either a Fuel or an Octane2, right?
Do you or anyone has experience running Pirana on a Fuel?

Reason is that I need to choose between a 'Fuel@600Mhz with V10 and 4GB' or an 'Octane2@400Mhz with V6 and 2GB'
Drive array will be 1Gbit Fibrechannel type.

I know an Octane can be upgraded to a dual 600 but that is too expensive (even dual 400) and I think there will be also little chance to upgrade the Fuel's CPU too.

Thanks in advance,


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 5:17 pm
Posts: 2236
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Get the Fuel. The bottleneck will often be the gfx. Also, you should get V12 if you want to work with HD. See:

http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/perfcomp_DISC ... Tests.html

Different app, but the same issues apply.

1Gbit FC is not enough for HD. You should be using at least 2Gbit, though I get better I/O results with SCSI
(nobody's beaten my results yet AFAIK, eg. 511MB/sec with Octane).

Ian.

PS. I've been told an earlier version of Pirahna on Indigo2 with 6.2 can utilise CosmoCompress, but haven't
tested this yet.

_________________
(05/Aug/2014) FREE! (collection only) 16x Sagitta 12-bay dual-channel U160 SCSI JBOD units.
Email, phone or PM for details, or see my forum post.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)131 476 0796


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 12:15 am
Posts: 341
Location: Netherlands
Hi Ian,

Thanks for the advise, this is very usefull indeed.
What surprises me is that you mention a Fuel being able to run Flame.
I never knew Fuels are capable of running discreet software at all.
Are you sure about this?

Or does anyone have experiense with Fuel and Flame or discreet?

Thanks in advance,


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 5:17 pm
Posts: 2236
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
If they weren't capable of running it, I wouldn't have been able to do the tests. All I did was move a Tezro
disk into a Fuel, with the /etc/ioconfig.conf file removed prior to the switch. The Spark test didn't work
though, probably because of how it's installed. A native install would likely fix that. No surprise here IMO,
both systems are the same arch, which is why a Fuel disk can boot a Tezro and vice-versa.

Whether or not it was a supported configuration is a different issue. What my tests show though is that,
overall, a Fuel 600/V12 is a better system for Flame than an Octane dual-600 V10. Why anyone was
using V10 systems is beyond me (really bad idea). Likewise, V12 for Tezro should have had 512MB RAM.

SD results coming later, and both SD/HD tests for Inferno, etc.

Ian.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Posts: 5297
loonvf wrote:
Hi Foetz,

Thanks for the update. very usefull to know that also Pirana needs uncompressed pictures instead of direct mpeg/jpeg stuff.

And that can be on either a Fuel or an Octane2, right?


you're welcome!
anyhow i did not say it MUST be uncompressed. i just never used anything else :D
and yes, octane2 is fine. onyx as well ...

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:27 am
Posts: 163
Location: Périgord, France
bri3d wrote:
I go 720p off my cheap camera kit to TIFF sequences, which is ghetto but works fine

mapesdhs wrote:
Not sure about TIFFs, but very likely loading RGBs is still faster

Easy to do if ffmpeg can decode video files from camera
Code:
ffmpeg -i camera_file.avi image%d.sgi

unfortunately neko_ffmpeg-SVN-r6775 is too outdated and does not have sgi image file format

_________________
:Indigo2IMP:extreme :Octane2:V8 :O200: :Onyx2:IR2e


Last edited by silicium on Sat May 22, 2010 2:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 11:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 8
What software would you use for the VINO inputs on an Indy? I was hoping to use my Indy for video editing, even if the quality is low. I've been searching the web but I can't figure out what software was used with it even when the Indy was brand new.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 11:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:08 am
Posts: 669
Location: Boulder, CO
loonvf wrote:
Hi Ian,

Thanks for the advise, this is very usefull indeed.
What surprises me is that you mention a Fuel being able to run Flame.
I never knew Fuels are capable of running discreet software at all.
Are you sure about this?

Or does anyone have experiense with Fuel and Flame or discreet?

Thanks in advance,


There's a FuelV10/FuelV12 licensing option coded into Flame 9 - whether or not they were ever sold is definitely a different story as I am fairly certain they were not.

If you don't need SDI I/Os a Fuel or modified Origin 350 with V12 makes an excellent Flame box, even for HD. If you do need SDI, you should probably get a Tezro as it has enough XIO slots to support both ODYSSEY graphics and SNOWBALL (the DMediaPro SDI I/O option). Two Origin 350s in NUMALink might also be able to achieve this configuration (V12 in one, SNOWBALL in the other), but I have not tested firsthand.
I just shovel uncompressed video imported and preprocessed elsewhere as frame sequences to and from my O350 Flame box, and this workflow works okay for me. I am not a professional user though - just a hobbyist having some fun. I'm using 3 internal disks across my 2 NUMALinked O350 chassis as Stone (via the Stone internal disk licensing method), and I get about 135MB/s which is decent enough for basic tasks. My quad 1Ghz R16Ks absolutely fly, especially compared to an Octane2.

The Fuel is definitely the most economical option (unless you can get lucky on some O350s) - you can generally get a mid-specced Fuel for less than a a comparable Octane2, and the Fuel is quieter and less power-hungry.

silicium wrote:
Easy to do if ffmpeg can decode video files from camera
Code:
ffmpeg -i camera_file.avi image%d.sgi

unfortunately neko_ffmpeg-SVN-r6775 is too outdated and does not have sgi image file format :(


I preprocess and convert on another (Linux) box, so it's not a worry :) I do wish we had better ffmpeg support for IRIX and MIPS, both in regards to support and optimization, but it doesn't look likely.

_________________
:0300: <> :0300: :Indy: :1600SW: :1600SW:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 1:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5228
Location: NC - USA
orbital_binary wrote:
What software would you use for the VINO inputs on an Indy? I was hoping to use my Indy for video editing, even if the quality is low. I've been searching the web but I can't figure out what software was used with it even when the Indy was brand new.
Media Recorder and Movie Maker should have been included with any reasonably complete IRIX install.

If they weren't installed, the release notes for VINO will run you through the process: http://techpubs.sgi.com/library/tpl/cgi ... notes/vino

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 4:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 5:17 pm
Posts: 2236
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Hi there! :)

> There's a FuelV10/FuelV12 licensing option coded into Flame 9 - whether or not they were ever sold is definitely a different
> story as I am fairly certain they were not.

I've recently come across what appear to be original Discreet lics that say HOSTID=ANY. The app regards Fuel &
Tezro to be the same thing, so there you go I guess.


> ... My quad 1Ghz R16Ks absolutely fly, especially compared to an Octane2.

My tests showed the speedups are not as good as one might expect though. CPU scaling is as expected, but other tasks
are badly bottlenecked by the V12. Compare my combo test for dual-400 Octane2 V12 vs. quad-1GHz Tezro V12.


> The Fuel is definitely the most economical option (unless you can get lucky on some O350s) - you can generally get
> a mid-specced Fuel for less than a a comparable Octane2, and the Fuel is quieter and less power-hungry.

I intend testing Fuel 700, 800 & 900MHz configs, when I can find the time.

Cheers! :)

Ian.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 9:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
orbital_binary wrote:
What software would you use for the VINO inputs on an Indy? I was hoping to use my Indy for video editing, even if the quality is low. I've been searching the web but I can't figure out what software was used with it even when the Indy was brand new.

Thanks


You'll need to either use low resolution or get a Cosmo board, as the Indy 10MB/s SCSI interface can't handle full NTSC resolution video.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 2:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:27 am
Posts: 163
Location: Périgord, France
silicium wrote:
unfortunately neko_ffmpeg-SVN-r6775 is too outdated and does not have sgi image file format

EDIT: I got errors when trying to run it on my SGI with the same syntax as a newer build on peecee, and compared the source codes later. This old ffmpeg can output sgi files with a different syntax.

_________________
:Indigo2IMP:extreme :Octane2:V8 :O200: :Onyx2:IR2e


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group