Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:26 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:24 pm
Posts: 149
Hi All!

I'm getting my Octanes up and running and wanted to get the current take on the best software for video editing for IRIX currently around. Looking through the forums there is some information, but things change quickly and wanted to know the current sitch.

I haven't had the great fortune of getting a new Octane or Onyx2 with such software already installed, so what's available? I notice in the galleries that some members have such machines with Jaleo or similar installed... did you buy a copy or you bought a machine with it installed? Are there dists floating around now that some of this software is discontinued?

I don't have the funds for a discreet setup, so what's my next second best? Hardware accelerated would be nice, in order to take advantage of all this graphics hardware.

Thanks for your insight!

-Jesse-

_________________
:Onyx2RE: :Octane2: :Octane:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:23 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Silicon Valley
All really depends on what you are trying to do, formats, etc...

Premiere 4.2 which can be found on eBay from time to time does a decent job when stable, from there the prices go up dramatically. You can always try Jahshaka which is free....

_________________
Indy R5K, Indigo High Impact R10K, Octane R12K, NeXT Station, NeXTCube, G5 PowerMac, MacBook Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 1:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5162
Location: NC - USA
Which video capture option do you have installed in your Octane <or are you planning to do software only editing>?

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 1:27 am
Posts: 158
Location: Périgord, France
A few high-end octane2's with DM2/VBOB and licensed software are sometimes showing on eBay, or it would cost more to max out a cheaper one to the same specs. Anyway, are dual CPU or V12 required for HD video editing (no effects) ?

As the DM/VBOB costs cannot be avoided, maybe a Fuel or gfx-hacked O350 could provide cheaper fast storage. On which system is money best spent ?

_________________
:Indigo2IMP:extreme :Octane2:V8 :O200: :Onyx2:IR2e


Last edited by silicium on Sun Sep 06, 2009 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 10:08 am
Posts: 669
Location: Boulder, CO
silicium wrote:
As the DM/VBOB costs cannot be avoided


Not *strictly* true - Flame will run fine without one. Then you just need a different capture/acquisition solution (I go 720p off my cheap camera kit to TIFF sequences, which is ghetto but works fine), which if you're using non-SDI kit you would need anyway.

The thing is finding a licensed system without one, if you want to stay on the licensing straight-and-narrow.

_________________
:0300: <> :0300: :Indy: :1600SW: :1600SW:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 2:32 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Posts: 2219
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Note that compared to loading Targas, Flame runs massively faster loading RGBs instead (6X quicker). Not sure
about TIFFs, but very likely loading RGBs is still faster (ie. avoid any heavy conversion path). And watchout for
doing a soft import by mistake! (bad idea)

Also, dual-600 is essential in an Octane2 for doing serious HD work. Playback, etc. will work ok, but start doing
anything remotely interesting (Sparks, etc.) and a dual-400 will crawl. Tezro is better for this (or Onyx350, etc.)

Disk I/O is not the issue (Octane can do 300MB/sec no problem), it's CPU power that matters.

Also, watchout for RAM usage. Working with Flame/HD can gobble up 4GB pretty quickly. 6GB is wise, 8GB best.

Ian.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5057
mapesdhs wrote:
Also, watchout for RAM usage. Working with Flame/HD can gobble up 4GB pretty quickly. 6GB is wise, 8GB best.

Ian.


you can lower that but using a 32bit ffi

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 5:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9315
claudio wrote:
Shake and Piraña also runs on Octanes I believe...

Yes. I am surprised at how fast Piranha runs.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 2:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5057
piranha is fast and the shake gui sucks :D
there're some tweaks for the shake gui to gain quite some speed. has been posted here some time ago i think ...

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 11:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:15 pm
Posts: 341
Location: Netherlands
Piranha is fast you say?
What version, machine and setup are you using?

And could you please post the link to the shake 'speed ticket' ?

Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:03 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5162
Location: NC - USA
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=9880&

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5057
loonvf wrote:
Piranha is fast you say?
What version, machine and setup are you using?


it's been a while but i used several versions (all 3.x) on an octane mxe, octane2 v6 and ir2e onyx2. all with dual r12k or higher.

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 6:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:15 pm
Posts: 341
Location: Netherlands
Thanks for the Shake hints and the additional Piranha info.

I still have some questions left:
Perhaps the dual CPU is the missing link for me.
And I assume you use it for SD footage only, not HD?
And uncompressed images or also MPEG video?

Best regards,


foetz wrote:
loonvf wrote:
Piranha is fast you say?
What version, machine and setup are you using?


it's been a while but i used several versions (all 3.x) on an octane mxe, octane2 v6 and ir2e onyx2. all with dual r12k or higher.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:15 pm
Posts: 341
Location: Netherlands
Does anyone have experience, running Piraña on a Fuel/Octane for 720P or even 1080P?

Please let me know more details about disk array, cpu speed, memory, picture format (RGB, TIFF...), etcetera.

Thanks in advance,


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5057
well, the picture format should be something uncompressed of course and the disk array should be able to deliver ~180mb/s for hd use

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group